We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dated hotel”
Review of Kilbirnie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kilbirnie Hotel
Ranked #29 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Reviewed April 1, 2012

This hotel seems to be stuck in time with its decor, although room was clean, the service was very poor, which i put down to lack of staff, it was the same guy doing the reception, bar diningroom, having to wait to be served in the bar, people gave up and walked out.
Another disturbing find was fire exits that were padlocked, the patio doors in the bar and the fire exit outside our bedroom door on the 2nd floor. at the back of hotel, both padlocked, had there been a fire it would have been a very long walk back to the front of hotel to get out. The lift was also out of order.
Breakfast was very good though.

Room Tip: Check fire exits for padlocks.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilbirnierecp, Owner at Kilbirnie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2012

We are sorry you were not happy with certain items during your stay.
The fire exits have a glass breakable seal and hammer to allow exit and are not therefore locked.
We have just finished a full refurbishment of all rooms and are constantly updating public areas, having completed the dining and conference areas.
We aim to give good customer service and thank you for your imput.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
There are newer reviews for Kilbirnie Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 235 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2012

Me and girlfriend stayed here for 3 nights. Had a great time in Newquay, rooms were clean, good breakfast and overall a very pleasant experience. We've stayed in quite a few hotels in Newquay and would rate this the best so far

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dirk P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

What can you do for a change of scene at the start of Spring?
A journey travelled from bed and board, to the fulfilled promise of the feel good factor in abundance!
My favourite place to visit, is undoubtedly Cornwall, and in particular, ‘The Three Star Kilbirnie Hotel’.
No matter the weather, the sights and sounds of Cornwall, are stunning. From the wheeling gulls with their falsetto screams to the sheer beauty of the rugged coastline, with the golden beaches that travel into long distance in their sweeping curves.
Brave men surf in any weather, and yes there is sometimes rain, and sometimes wind.
And even when the sun hides behind the clouds, the many facets of Cornwall shine in their glory, from ‘The Eden Project‘, and the many attractions that are worth the visit, to the weathered smiles on the faces of the lucky local’s.
Combine this with a prominent sea front three Star Hotel, for service and comfort, with access to a Sauna, a Solarium, an Indoor and an Outdoor Pool, a Multi-Gym, and to a menu of top quality food cooked to your personal taste, by Chef’s with their focus on your wants and needs, and you have a proven formula for your enjoyment, and your relaxation.
Combined with low season prices, an excellent opportunity for the uninitiated to experience the Three Star standard of Leisure.

Room Tip: A small charge will give you a sea view.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We stayed here for new year and I must say, the hotel was fabulous. Friendly and helpful staff, excellent entertainment, lovely location, (2 minutes from the beach) clean and tidy, they even let our dog sleep here with no quibbles. The food was delicious and plentiful; I really cannot fault the place. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Surfstar1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Perfect hotel location 5mins walk from the beautiful beaches and coastal paths for walking. Rooms were very clean, cosy and comfortable with great decor. We booked DBB and enjoyed fantastic 3 course meals each evening, and a great full English to set us up for the day. After making the most out of the lovely town relaxing in the pool, spa bath and having a sauna was a great end to each day. And then enjoy a drink on the front watching the sun set and the world go by. Would definatley recommend this awesome family run hotel to everyone. A perfect get away for a great price!!

Room Tip: Ask for sea view a bit more expensive but worth it...waking up to the sea each morning is beautiful.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C0rn0nthec0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilbirnierecp, General Manager at Kilbirnie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2012

Thankyou for your kind reponse, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Kilbirnie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

we stayed here last weekend for one night b&b and for what we paid it was well worth it, we got a family room for two adults loads of room space. room decor wasn`t super modern but it was clean & very comfy bed & bathroom was modern.we were at the back of hotel as all sea view rooms were being refubished. indoor pool very nice all to ourselves.free car parking,walk into town 5 minutes.breakfast next morning nice and plenty of it.yes it was mostly pensioners but it is tinstle & turkey season. yes we would go back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

A beautiful local hotel, with lots of atmosphere, warmth and cosiness which we wanted from a Seaside hotel in Newquay. The Owner was so welcoming as were all the Staff who were like a family and the rooms were fairly basic but impeccable with lovely views over the Sea. The Dining Room with its chandeliers and the lounge and ballroom were very cosy. Selection for Breakfast was great and the roast dinner delicious! The indoor pool was perfect after a stroll into the town (with a fantastic Indian Restaurant) or along the beautiful surfing beaches. Plus easy access to other venues like the Eden Project which was very worthwhile visiting. All in all a lovely place to stay for the price we paid - clean and friendly and good food - what more do you want!

Room Tip: Seaview of course!
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chinese10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
1.1 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#11 of 37 in Newquay
491 reviews
0.7 mi away
Porth Lodge Hotel
Porth Lodge Hotel
#26 of 37 in Newquay
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,016 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#12 of 37 in Newquay
938 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cliffdene Hotel
Cliffdene Hotel
#28 of 37 in Newquay
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilbirnie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilbirnie Hotel

Address: Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2RS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: $73 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilbirnie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kilbirnie Hotel ***, is located overlooking Tolcalne and Lusty Glaze beaches just a short stroll down onto the golden sands or into the surf,The Hotel offers comfortable en Suite bedrooms, some with fantastic sea views, our leisure facilites inc indoor heated swimming pool, hydro Spa, Sauna, Fitness centre , and outdoor plunge pool, Bar Restaurant and snooker room, We take the time to care about your holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Kilbirnie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilbirnie Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing