We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Atlantic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Atlantic Hotel
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey U.K.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

Stayed recently for 5 nights - room was good and bed was very comfortable so slept very well. Breakfast was in a lovely room with absolutely fabulous views of the coast, served by staff who were very helpful and efficient especially the very happy and friendly Polish chef.

Small problem in that after the room was serviced, the room key didn't work, meaning a trip back down to reception to get it re-activated. Not a big problem for most but when travelling with someone disabled, they are left in some discomfort standing outside room while this is done. Should have been sorted out after it was mentioned on the first day but it happened two more times to us and also a couple of times to our friends.

Ate in Silks restaurant a couple of nights but thought the choice was limited and the food average, although the staff, as in all areas of the hotel, were very friendly.

Indoor swimming pool was a plus - but not having a shower with hot water or hair driers in the changing room meant getting dressed and going back up the room to use the facilities there (they do not want you to go through Hotel in costumes/robes). Also sauna did not get very hot even after being left more than the recommended time to heat up.

Comfortable sofas and chairs in bar area to sit in but sadly very dark and with no views, would have liked a lounge area with sea views like the breakfast room. (Weather was not good one day so didn't go out)

I would stay here again if I was in the area, but probably wouldn't bother with Silks or the pool & sauna.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic-Managment, Owner at The Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Susan H, thank you very much for taking the time to post your constructive comments. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your rooms, the views, our delicious breakfast and our lovely staff. Customer service is absolutely central to us so thank you for your comments about our staff which will be passed onto the team. I'm sorry that you had to have your key card re-charged a couple of times. Unfortunately, occasionally the key cards are affected by close proximity to mobile phones, however we are having this looked at and improved at the moment.
I'm sorry to hear you did not enjoy Silks Bistro to it's fullest. We offer a full A La Carte menu and a separate daily specials menu featuring fresh fish and locally reared meat dishes which adds more choices on a daily basis. We have recently been awarded a Rosette for our food so hopefully we can change your mind on your next visit to us. The Atlantic Hotel has exciting new plans to renovate our pool facilities into a full spa area over the next two years as part of our ongoing refurbishment program. The bar you have mentioned in your review is our function bar. The bar area in Silks Bistro is bright and airy and open to residents for drinks from 10.30 am until 12 midnight, however, in September we also plan to open up our Sea View Cafe Atlantic room into a coffee area with its stunning sea-view, which will be another fantastic lounge area for our guests. Once again, thank you for these comments which have been taken on board and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Warm regards, The Atlantic Hotel, Newquay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    223
    75
    46
    74
See reviews for
164
551
27
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for one night and really enjoyed it. The hotel has been refurbished since we last stayed there two years ago. Our room was lovely overlooking the bay and we really liked the upgraded bathroom. We had a very enjoyable breakfast on the terrace overlooking the sea, we found the staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vonbent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic-Managment, Owner at The Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Vonbent, Thank you for your Trip Advisor post and comments about The Atlantic Hotel. We are very proud of our newly refurbished rooms and bathrooms and are so happy to hear that you enjoyed everything that the Atlantic Hotel has to offer. Hopefully see you again soon where we will have made even more improvements to the hotel! Kind regards, The Atlantic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
221 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

We recently stayed here for a family wedding. Where to start!! The problems first started with incorrect information given at the time of booking about rooms and prices. The bride was receiving calls from hotel staff only days before the wedding asking about food and drinks when this had already been agreed months before with the wedding planner!! (worrying for the bride only days before her big day). Every time the bride and groom paid a visit to the hotel the lift was out of service but was promised this would be sorted only to have a call two hours before leaving to say it was broken!! Not good when two family members were disabled! They were offered alternative accommodation in another hotel after the receptionist asked if they were special guests!!! The hotel itself is beautiful and very clean with fab views. We also had a leaking bath as other reviews have stated. Well after a very very stressful build up to the wedding I have to say that on the day everything was perfect! The staff, food and everything was lovely and all went to plan. Special mention to the polish barman in Silks who was very friendly and the lovely man cooking the eggs at breakfast who could not do enough for you.
Not sure I would stay again only due to the stress of the booking process but is a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvette7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic-Managment, Owner at The Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments on The Atlantic Hotel which have been well received. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience at The Atlantic Hotel in the end and can only apologise about the confusion on room rates during booking. We work on a widely used 'dynamic pricing' system at the hotel which, although this allows us to give guests the best rates possible, it also means that prices can change automatically based on the availability of rooms within the hotel. We go out of our way to keep the pressure of organising large events to an absolute minimum and our longevity in the business means that we are always extremely confident that everything will always go smoothly to plan even if there are some last minute details that inevitably need tying up. We like to make sure everything is checked and checked again so we can assure perfection on the day.

Thank you for your comments about the cleanliness of the hotel and our floor staff. We have passed your lovely comments onto those member of staff and we are very proud of our housekeeping team who keep the hotel in tip top condition.

We hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards, The Atlantic Hotel, Newquay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

Stayed here for the second time for six nights. Since we have last been the hotel has been refurbished on the ground floor and looks fantastic. The staff here are lovely, and Sue made our holiday. She was lovely, and would come over for a chat in the mornings. She is a credit to the hotel.
We had a sea view classic room which was lovely on the first floor and had no complaints.We also had a roll top bath this time which was heaven.
Breakfasts were a highlight. Majic, the chef is also fantastic. He remembered us from a previous visit and made us omelettes to order ad on our last day pancakes. I wish I could have stayed longer just for those!
Will be back for a third stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic-Managment, Owner at The Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Rebecca,

How lovely to receive such great comments, thank you for taking the time to post your review about The Atlantic Hotel. We are constantly upgrading, refurbishing and improving the hotel for our guests, so that we can maintain a standard of quality that we and our guests are impressed with. We greatly value all of our customers and love seeing familiar faces return again and again.

Sue and Majic are both excellent long standing members of our team here at The Atlantic and so we welcome your lovely comments about them both. We are particularly proud of our team and their brilliant customer service.

We will look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards, The Atlantic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed for 1 Night at the Atlantic. A great Hotel with some charming flair. The entrance and Reception remind a bit to the 20th century. Lovely stonefloor and lots of wood. Rooms are big size with lots of space. Nice view to the bay of Newquay. Its on top on a Hill and just nearby are some walking path for a relaxing walk. Breakfast buffet is average but the service was lovely to us and very helpful as we travel with. Pricewise on the max Limit for the value! But a good stay at all.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scuba_Stevie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic-Managment, Owner at The Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Scuba_stevie78

Thank you kindly for your comments on our lovely decor and hospitality. We aim to make all of our guests feel as comfortable as possible during their stay with us and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our hotel, it's location and all it that the surrounding area has to offer. We hope to welcome you back on your future travels. Kind regards, The Atlantic Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

We drove a huge distance to get here (440miles) but wow was it worth it. We booked with a special deal and had a fabulous suite overlooking the ocean. The food in the Silks Resteraunt was sublime with fantastic fusion of flavours - the wine list was a little lacking in Grand Cru class wines but if you like champagne then there is every bottle size available all the way to £1500 for a very big bottle! Great Pool, jacuzzi and sauna and not a bad breakfast either so all in all an excellent hotel which was a surprise indeed!

Room Tip: Balcony suite overlooking the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AntsYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic-Managment, Manager at The Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Ants Yorkshire
We are so pleased to hear of your romantic break and thank you for such positive feedback. With regarding to your kind comment on our wine list, this will certainly be taken into consideration for future improvements.
We do hope to welcome you back to the Atlantic Hotel for yet another enjoyed stay.
Kindest Regards
The Atlantic Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

This is a great location in Newquay - far enough away to feel like you are more remote, but near enough to walk into Newquay.

Fantastic views, especially from restaurant, where the food is really good.

A clean,comfortable hotel with lots of history.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeremytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic-Managment, Manager at The Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Jeremytravel
Thank you for your kind comments. We are very proud to be one of the first purpose built hotels within Newquay and at 122 years old, we still a fabulous landmark hotel with so much history and plenty of stories to tell!
We do hope your travels bring you back to Newquay in the near future and look forward to welcoming you back to the Atlantic Hotel.
Best Wishes
The Atlantic Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.8 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atlantic Hotel

Property: The Atlantic Hotel
Address: Dane Road, Newquay TR7 1EN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#11 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#14 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Atlantic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning location, breathtaking views of the coast and a short walk from the Harbour and Town centre, The Atlantic Hotel provides the perfect base from which to explore Cornwall. Whether it is a family holiday or a romantic getaway you will not be disappointed with your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel Newquay
The Atlantic Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing