We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic view of sea and bay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Atlantic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Atlantic Hotel
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic view of sea and bay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

This is a great location in Newquay - far enough away to feel like you are more remote, but near enough to walk into Newquay.

Fantastic views, especially from restaurant, where the food is really good.

A clean,comfortable hotel with lots of history.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeremytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic-Managment, Manager at The Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Jeremytravel
Thank you for your kind comments. We are very proud to be one of the first purpose built hotels within Newquay and at 122 years old, we still a fabulous landmark hotel with so much history and plenty of stories to tell!
We do hope your travels bring you back to Newquay in the near future and look forward to welcoming you back to the Atlantic Hotel.
Best Wishes
The Atlantic Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    223
    75
    46
    74
See reviews for
164
551
27
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

Having just spent a number of days at the Atlantic hotel celebrating my daughter's wedding I just want to say that we couldn't have found a better venue or more attentive, welcoming staff that went out of their way to make sure that we had every thing we needed and ensure that the wedding and the reception all ran smoothly. From check in on the Friday, all through the wedding day and evening, to the departure of most of our guests on the Sunday, every body was made to feel welcome and nothing was too much trouble. From the porter who calmed me down and helped me find my miss placed hat, to the friendly kitchen, waiting and bar staff, to Lorraine and her team of wedding/event organisers, a huge thank you. Also a thank you to the cleaning staff who cleaned up the ton of confetti that our guests managed to spread all over the hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LBegley2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic-Managment, Manager at The Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear LBegley2014
We are so pleased to hear of your Daughters fantastic wedding day experience. We pride ourselves upon great customer service, not only in the planning stages for the big day, but throughout. It’s such a personal and emotional time for couples. That’s why a member of our team is always available to assist in any way possible and please don’t worry about confetti, as we believe it really makes a special day!
We hope to welcome you back to the Atlantic Hotel soon or if not your Daughter for one of our romantic honeymoon/anniversary packages.
We wish you and your family all the very best for the future.
The Atlantic Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel as a last minute decision and found an offer on their site.

We stayed for 3 nights in 2 different rooms, both of which were lovely.

First we had a sea view balcony suite, which was large, with a separate bedroom bit and large bathroom.

We also stayed in a sea view superior room which, although smaller was equally as clean and well decorated.


The hotel was in an amazing location, you can see it from pretty much everywhere! We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, lovely break.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jayelay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic-Managment, Manager at The Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Jayelay
Thank you for your review and wonderful last minute booking. We are so pleased to hear that you managed to experience two of our beautiful room types. Both different, however lovingly decorated throughout.
Yes! We all agree how fabulous our location is and the amazing views out to the Atlantic Ocean or even overlooking the coastline and Newquay town itself.
If you have any free time in the future, please do not hesitate to visit us again. We would very much like the opportunity to welcome you back for yet another enjoyable stay.
Kindest Regards
The Atlantic Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

Having stayed in many 4 or 5 stars hotels before, I have never before felt the need to warn others about a bad experience, but this is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at because they are so deceiful.
As the traffic had been good, our family of 4 arrived on Good Friday at around1pm. We knew that check in was at 3pm so we adised the hotel that we had arrived but did not press them to get our rooms, instead we went for a long lunch in the restaurant. By 2.30 whilst passing in front of the reception to get some leaflets about the area we were informed that our rooms were ready. We had booked a superior double for our children and a suite with sea view and balcony for us, both for 2 nights. We were coming from London and about to spend a fair amount of money, so I had specifically requested in writting prior to our arrival, a suite with a sea view, quiet and spacious.
We were shown 133, which in our opinion is not a sea view but an harbour/town view and is not particlarly nice. Having booked and required a sea view we asked to change straight away.
Being just after 2.30, almost nobody had checked in yet so it should have been easy. We were shown into B9, which is the smallest suite one could imagine, to the point that there is no space to put a TV on the wall opposite the bed. If we wanted to watch TV, we had to sit in the sofa by the window. Our kids had a bigger room than us. We asked if there was anything else they could show us but (according to housekeeping), everything else had already been allocated, so we were only shown an other couple of bedrooms which were not booked for the evening. Needless to say it was the worst of the pick, with views of flat roofs or town. We ended up settling for B9, at least we had a nice view. We went away for the rest of the day and came back at around 11pm. Our room was freezing cold, so we tried to adjust the radiators which are individually adjustable but nothing worked. So we rang reception and were told that due to "complaints that the hotel was too warm", the full system had been switched off (despite individually adjustable radiators???). Never the less they provided us with an electric heater within 5 minutes (obviously they had other requests). I have since discovered an other bad reviews with this problem!
Come the morning, our bath was leaking all over the bathroom floor, so we had to put towels to sponge up the water, and more dramatically, the bath filled up with BROWN WATER (also seen in other reviews since). So, we called reception again and were told we could move to 133 (our original bedroom that obviously nobody else had wanted) or be shown into 137 to get ready. We got ready in 137, but when emptying the bath, all the water drained into the shower tray with dirty bits all over.
We were assured that all problems would be fixed during the day. We left for the day asking that if any nice suite became available could we be moved. We were assured by Catherine the Duty Manager,that we would have priority, but nothing happened. I also forgot to say that this is the first hotel we visit where tables for breakfast are allocated, and not by the amount of money you are paying.
We came back at around 10pm, only to find that a wedding was taking place. B9 is just above the restaurant so it was like being above a night club with the floors vibrating and very loud music. We called reception again and were informed that they could transform 137 which is the twin overlooking the town with the bath water draining into the shower that we had used in the morning to get ready or alternativelly, everything will stop by midnight latest. In reflection, the time to prepare the other room plus the time and hassle to move our items for the night, we decided to put up with the incovenience. Whilst the musicwas playing, we also had kids whose parents were attending the wedding, running wilde in the corridors and shouting from one room to another. 12.15 came and the noise carried on. We called again and this time we were told that it would be 1.50 before the music stops. Then, the parents (full of joy) got back to their rooms. We did not get to sleep before 2 am and the kids next doors started their loud TV by 7am. So much for the sound proofing! Having hardly slept, we ran our bath and to our surprise, it was still leaking!
Having spent in excess of £200 per night for the priviledge of not sleeping, and having to get ready in an other room, we thought we were due a bit of compensation for all our troubles. We went to reception before breakfast and explained the situation again. We were told by Kim the other Duty Manger that she would have to investigate with Catherine when this one would be back and that they would see what compensation would be given. We were promised by Kim that nothing was going to be debited from our account until we came to an agreement on a price. They took our e-mails and had our tel numbers. We were asked to settle for the other room where our kids also complained of noise during the night. We did pay without even mentionning this complain and left for the restaurant for breakfast. My receipt shows that I paid at 8.48am. We left the hotel at around 10.30am and gave our keys back at reception then. We did not hear from the hotel fo 2 days so we got a bit concerned and checked our account. We had been debited the full amout. We tried to contact the hotel to express our anger at having been debited despite their promise that they would not do so before agreeing an amount with us. None of the Duty Manager were there to answer our call. Today, we received a letter in the post dated from the day we left and signed by Kim the Duty Manager telling us that they could not offer any reductions because they had spent time and effort to assist us and that "all issues reported where (with a mistake) resolved very smoothly and efficiently". As far as the noise is concerned, it is in their terms and conditions (which she kindly sent us a copy of).
Well, so much for the investigation and the deception. The receipt received in the post for the suite, shows that the amount was debited at 8.58 am, just 10 minutes after we had left reception, just the time to deal with the customer who was there when we left. We were in the restaurant and we went back to give our keys to reception at around 10.30 am, but nobody told us that they had already debited our account. I should have put the title, lies, lies and more lies to this review. We are now trying to get in touch with the MD to see what he has to say about the way his DM are intentionnally deceiptful to the customers.

Room Tip: not b9, 137, 133
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Nrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic-Managment, Manager at The Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Nrum
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Atlantic Hotel. We have several concerns when reading your review and very much look forward to you writing into our Hotel Director.
As previously stated we take great care to ensure all issues raised such as these, are managed in the correct ways and will continue to do so. With regards to the music, again we do our upmost to advertise to all potential guests that the Hotel has the facilities to cater for large functions and wedding.
We look forward to hearing from you in the near future.
Kindest Regards
The Atlantic Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

As expected the hotel exceeded expectation again, wonderful location, views, food, staff and service in all areas.
Staff could not have done more so well done to all and thank you for making our Easter break so enjoyable.
P.S.
Don't miss out on eating in the silks restaurant

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank outandaboutSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic-Managment, Owner at The Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Kind thanks for your comments about The Atlantic Hotel and Silks Bistro and Champagne Bar. We work hard to ensure that all our guests have a great time whilst staying with us and we agree, the staff are a credit to the hotel! We're so pleased you returned to stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind regards, from all at The Atlantic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Atlantic hotel. We were really impressed. The staff were very friendly and we were even able to check in early after a long journey. The rooms are very comfortable and the sea views are a must! Breakfast was great as there was plenty of choice. A short walk down the hill to the centre of Newquay or Fistral beach. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and we are looking forward to returning later in the year :-)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JBLP21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic-Managment, Owner at The Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you so much for posting your thoughts and comments on our lovely hotel. Customer care and experience is our main focus and so I'm very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Atlantic. We agree, the views are stunning! We will very much look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again later this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

This was our 3rd stay over the last 3 years and this time we stayed for 5 nights, we are so glad we did!
Everything again was beautiful, the food, the room, the staff and the view! Breakfast was our favourite part due to the wonderful food and very warm welcome from the chef and other staff in the breakfast room. We were very lucky to have such good weather and we certainly enjoyed afternoon and evening drinks in the bar! another brilliant stay and we can't wait to come again!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic-Managment, Owner at The Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
So pleased to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay! Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and lovely photos and we'll look forward to seeing you back with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.8 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atlantic Hotel

Property: The Atlantic Hotel
Address: Dane Road, Newquay TR7 1EN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#11 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#14 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Atlantic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning location, breathtaking views of the coast and a short walk from the Harbour and Town centre, The Atlantic Hotel provides the perfect base from which to explore Cornwall. Whether it is a family holiday or a romantic getaway you will not be disappointed with your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel Newquay
The Atlantic Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing