We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic honeymoon”
Review of The Atlantic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Atlantic Hotel
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
stoke
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“fantastic honeymoon”
Reviewed August 31, 2008

Mrand my new husband stayed in a new Balcony suite for 5 days for our honeymoon, the suite is fabulous, apparantly our suite B7 is the most popular as it has double aspect views from both the balcony and windows and what a view!!!! fabulous. beautiful furnishings and plasma screen tv leather suite minibar, walk in wardrobe, and the bathroom was the tops, walk in shower with every spray option going gorgeous victorian style free style bath glass sinks. big white fluffy bathrobes and slippers, plenty of tea coffee hot choc. replenished daily. rooms cleaned daily if you wish, but the best for me and my husband was the gorgeous big bed!!!!!! what a dream bed... fantasticly comfortable. Breakfast was superb as well as you suit yourselves what you want, fresh fruit ,cereals.yogurts,delicious freshly squeezed orange juice, freshly prepared cooked breakfast of your choice,as much toast jams butters as you want,danish pastries,cooked meats, i know i coudent resist ! T he staff i found very pleasant ,both on the reception and the restaurant area ,even the cleaning staff had a smile for you here... I know that this hotel has had some bad reviews but our experience was the total opposite, we even had a dip in the hotel pool and the spa , mmmm. that was nice... the 5 days went so quickly and just cant wait to stay here again.

  • Liked — fabulous dreamy big bed
  • Disliked — NOTHING
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tillyStoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    228
    76
    47
    74
See reviews for
168
559
28
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
south west
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2008

Well i'm going to write this review with bullett points because otherwise i'll be here all day i payed £155 per night (double occ) for a superior room. I was staying as part of a large wedding party.
* couldn't see out of windows due to condensation
* beds were dirty, old itchy blankets used
* no valance on bed - dirty old base
* hole in bathroom door
* pool of water inside window
* windows screwed closed
* damp on ceiling
* mess up with payments - staff left debit card details on desk and lost them!

food was good though !! staff were very attentive, polite and funny. Well done to them !

  • Liked — No taxi after the wedding
  • Disliked — The accommodation
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank sm3715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2008

Our room was pricey at £160 - we had one of the refurbished rooms on the first floor. Here is the view from Room 129. A good view of the sea but the foreground was not quite what we expected for that money.

  • Liked — The bed
  • Disliked — The admonishing notices all around the place like a cheap guesthouse
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Leonora_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2008

We stayed here for a wedding that we were attending in the hotel for three nights. on arrival, the staff were very helpful and pleasant. This hotel is in need of a lot of cosmetic work, the outside of the hotel needs a repaint, there are tiles coming off the inside pool, paint work is peeling, the room that we were given was very shabby, un-welcoming, dirty, we couldnt see the wonderful ocean as the windows were misted in between the double glazing. The windows were broken, didnt shut properly. For the amount we paid i was expecting some kind of service (porter service, even the cooked breakfast you had to get your self) but all we got was somewhere to sleep.

The hotel seemed like a ghost town, it was only busy due to the amount of wedding guests, but as soon as these had gone, there seemd to be no one left.

definetly not worth the money, and will not be goin back i'm afraid.

This hotel needs a serious overhaul, and could be a fabulous hotel. It just needs the right owner/director who knows about service. i would love to get in that hotel and make it what it deserves, a 5 star victorian hotel.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank cat24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2008

The ground floor of this hotel is 5 star,the reception the resteraunt etc could not fault it. The reception staff were very polite and helpful. But then comes the room. We were on the 3rd floor,paying nearly 800 pounds for 6 nights b & b in a "premier double" room. The view from the window was great over the atlantic,but the window didnt open and was permanently semi misted up(between the 2 panes of double glazing)
How it can be called a premier room baffles me,it was small,paint peeling off wood and a very small bathroom that hadnt been updated in decades.
The plaster was falling off the walls in the area from the lift to the room.
The 1st floor rooms are apparently being renovated with the rest of the hotel to follow in the next 12 to 18mths.
Its about 20years to late.
Even the outside of the hotel looks shabby.
I was desperate for accomodation as id been let down on another property otherwise id of steered well clear of this hotel.
If you cant get a 1st floor room i woudnt bother.

  • Liked — silks restaurant
  • Disliked — very poor room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stokie71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2008

Stayed here for one night and had to check out early but there was no provision for an early breakfast or even a tray with fruit juice and yogurt. The rooms were okay but the phones didn't work for external calls and there was a charge of 50p if you wanted more coffee, tea or milk!

In contrast, the bistro was excellent: good food, good prices, lovely surroundings and friendly, attentive service.

  • Liked — The bistro
  • Disliked — The penny-pinching attitude
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MollyDaisy_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2008

We had arrived at a previously booked hotel and as it was very dirty we booked out immediately and came to the Atlantic at Newquay. We were given a balcony suite which was spotless and remained so throughout our 7 day stay. the staff were brilliant really worked as a team and the food was really good in the silks bistro. We had no complaints whatsoever and would reccommed it to anyone.

  • Liked — cleanliness and staff friendliness
  • Disliked — newquay itself
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CumbriaAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.8 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
831 reviews
0.6 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
1.1 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atlantic Hotel

Property: The Atlantic Hotel
Address: Dane Road, Newquay TR7 1EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newquay
#5 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#11 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#14 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Atlantic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning location, breathtaking views of the coast and a short walk from the Harbour and Town centre, The Atlantic Hotel provides the perfect base from which to explore Cornwall. Whether it is a family holiday or a romantic getaway you will not be disappointed with your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your The Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel Newquay
The Atlantic Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing