We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Atlantic Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$221
$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Pentire Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
$66
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$91
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$98
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Great Western Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,071)
Filter reviews
1,071 results
Traveler rating
602
253
86
52
78
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
602
253
86
52
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssilks restaurantchampagne barbalcony suitebreakfast chefsea viewroll top bathmodern bathroomlovely hotelfistral beachbreakfast roombreakfast was excellentwalk in showerlarge roomfantastic viewsindoor poollovely roomtown centre
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
630 - 635 of 1,071 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I've paid the ultimate price for not doing my homework and instead making a quick decision on a weekend stay. Too much to list and unfortunately here for 1 more night - maybe... A suite and a sea view room with intentions of working while the others play - no WiFi in either room!!! A £1000+ spent and I am resulting to my iPhone hotspot with no assistance from staff after 3 requests. Tired, tired old hotel that needs to see the working end of a wrecking ball. The bar has hope but unfortunately the remainder is doomed. Please have a look around before you regret this one. I'll post some unbelievable pics one I get somewhere with WiFi..

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
7  Thank cpa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic-Managment, General Manager at The Atlantic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear cpa1

Thank for taking the time to review the hotel. The hotel has complimentary Wi-Fi available for all guests, which is accessible in all public areas and the hotels bedrooms. Unfortunately over the few days that you stayed with ourselves we were experiencing some issues with guests not being able to access Wi-Fi from their room in certain areas which we can only apologise for. It was something we were working on rectifying as quickly and with as little inconvenience as possible, I am pleased to say that during this time we were still able to provide complimentary Wi-Fi access to all of our residents in our public areas and lounges.

I am extremely concerned about your comment of ‘Tired, tired old hotel that needs to see the working end of a wrecking ball.’ As mentioned in previous reviews we work extremely hard at the hotel to maintain our original features and carry out on-going refurbishment of the hotel all year round, with our dining room, function suite, lobby and reception all being newly refurbished at the beginning of this year and the work is continuing with our main stairs and landings to match our recently refurbished bedrooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This is a good hotel in a lovely position, we had fantastic sea views from the balcony of our room. The majority of the hotel is in a very plush decorative order however the swimming pool facilities were looking a little tired (the indoor pool and spa were lovely and warm though). The hotel staff were friendly, helpful and very pleasant. The full english buffet breakfast was fantastic, served hot and fresh with lots of choice.

Room Tip: for a good view of the sea and north Cornwall coast , a balcony room or suite on the east side would be a good choice.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic-Managment, General Manager at The Atlantic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Alison j
Thank for your review, I am so glad you were able to enjoy and make the most of our fantastic sea views from your balcony. We are hoping to start work on our new spa and gym facilities to match the rest of the décor within the hotel. I am pleased to read your kind comments with regards to staff and will be sure to pass these on, as they take great pride ensuring all of our guests receive the best service possible. We hope to welcome you back to the Atlantic Hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The Atlantic Hotel is situated in a lovely position right on the headland and we had fantastic sea views from our room. The hotel also overlooks Newquay town and several of its beaches. We stayed for two nights and had a fantastic stay. It's within a short walk of Fistral Beach and a ten minute stroll into town. The staff were very friendly and helpful and our room was clean and spacious even with the extra bed for our son. The inside of the hotel is decorated beautifully and has both an indoor and an outdoor swimming pool. The indoor pool was lovely and warm although it has seen better days. However, I understand a new pool/gym complex is being built for 2014 which will be an excellent addition to the hotel. We sat by the outdoor pool for a little while but didn't swim. It was quiet and a very relaxing place to relax with lovely views overlooking Newquay. Breakfast at the hotel was the best I have had for a long time. Excellent service, lovely views from our table and the food was excellent which comprised of a buffet breakfast with a chef always available to cook all hot food on request. We also ate at the hotel's restaurant Silks one night and had a lovely meal there too. Overall I'd definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Newquay. The views alone are worth it but the hotel also offers a touch of luxury for what we felt was a very reasonable price. We will look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeW30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic-Managment, General Manager at The Atlantic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear LeeW30
It is great to read you had such a fantastic stay with us recently. I would like to thank you for taking time to review the hotel for other potential guests to read . You are right in saying that we have got plans for a new pool and gym complex, we can’t wait for the new addition to the hotel, providing even more for our guests. I am glad that you enjoyed the tasty breakfast made fresh using local Cornish produce. We definitely agree that the views alone are worth it and an added touch of luxury you can’t beat it. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Hotel is located on top of a cliff overlooking the sea! Super sea view!
Location with a lot of wind, i.e. the coastline si a favorite for surfers.
Hotel is (in style) newly renovated.
The staff at the reception desk and in the restaurant very friendly.
Restaurant with excellent service and great cooking.
The best was the breakfast and the very, very, very friendly cook.
No matter what you desire, he prepares it.
The elevator is not always working, i.e. from the higher floors it is a long walk.
Overall a wonderful place.

One (minus) item to notice:
The prices mentioned in the booking systems are, especially for this hotel, phantasy prices.
So do not get carried away when looking at a crossed out price. It does not exist!

Room Tip: Not all rooms with sea view have a full sea view and at the lower floor the sea view is a view to the roof top of the lower floor. Go for full sea view! Do not forget the elevator, which might not be operational during your stay.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dewaalpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic-Managment, General Manager at The Atlantic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear paul404
It’s fantastic to read you had such a lovely stay and enjoyed many different aspects of our hotel. I will be sure to pass your kind comments onto our staff they will be so pleased to hear the helped make your stay such an enjoyable one. We did have a time where we had a few issues with our lift but this has now been fully resolved.
I am sorry to read that you feel our prices are phantasy prices, we have set rates for our accommodation but sometimes we are able to offer special rates if you book direct with ourselves, this is so we can constantly offer all of our guests competitive and the best rates possible, so at times price may differ on 3rd party booking sites.
We hope you can return to visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Had a lovely couple of nights here in July, really beautiful hotel set right out on the headland at Newquay. Views were amazing from our balcony.
REstaurant is excellent and the chef who works there is lovely. All the staff are good actually.
Outdoor pool is great, indoor pool is excellent too and we sneaked in there late with our son (it is not supposed to be used after 9pm) and had late night swim both nights! Naughty (but we were doing no harm and left it all tidy!)
There was a wedding party on the Saturday night and unfortunately it was in the ballroom under our room so it was noisy (very hot night otherwise we would have shut the windows but there is no air con in the room) and really bothered us as they had an awful DJ, it was like being in Butlins!
They offered us a discount for the trouble as my husband complained and they also gave us a discount voucher for our next visit and I think we will go again.

Room Tip: Room on the south will have sun all day. Try not to get one over the ballroom on a Saturday incase of Wedding party or suchlike!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimbow63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews