We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Atlantic hotel ,newquay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Atlantic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Atlantic Hotel
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Atlantic hotel ,newquay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

This is a good hotel in a lovely position, we had fantastic sea views from the balcony of our room. The majority of the hotel is in a very plush decorative order however the swimming pool facilities were looking a little tired (the indoor pool and spa were lovely and warm though). The hotel staff were friendly, helpful and very pleasant. The full english buffet breakfast was fantastic, served hot and fresh with lots of choice.

Room Tip: for a good view of the sea and north Cornwall coast , a balcony room or suite on the east side would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic-Managment, General Manager at The Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Alison j
Thank for your review, I am so glad you were able to enjoy and make the most of our fantastic sea views from your balcony. We are hoping to start work on our new spa and gym facilities to match the rest of the décor within the hotel. I am pleased to read your kind comments with regards to staff and will be sure to pass these on, as they take great pride ensuring all of our guests receive the best service possible. We hope to welcome you back to the Atlantic Hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    223
    75
    46
    74
See reviews for
164
551
27
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

The Atlantic Hotel is situated in a lovely position right on the headland and we had fantastic sea views from our room. The hotel also overlooks Newquay town and several of its beaches. We stayed for two nights and had a fantastic stay. It's within a short walk of Fistral Beach and a ten minute stroll into town. The staff were very friendly and helpful and our room was clean and spacious even with the extra bed for our son. The inside of the hotel is decorated beautifully and has both an indoor and an outdoor swimming pool. The indoor pool was lovely and warm although it has seen better days. However, I understand a new pool/gym complex is being built for 2014 which will be an excellent addition to the hotel. We sat by the outdoor pool for a little while but didn't swim. It was quiet and a very relaxing place to relax with lovely views overlooking Newquay. Breakfast at the hotel was the best I have had for a long time. Excellent service, lovely views from our table and the food was excellent which comprised of a buffet breakfast with a chef always available to cook all hot food on request. We also ate at the hotel's restaurant Silks one night and had a lovely meal there too. Overall I'd definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Newquay. The views alone are worth it but the hotel also offers a touch of luxury for what we felt was a very reasonable price. We will look forward to returning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeW30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic-Managment, General Manager at The Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear LeeW30
It is great to read you had such a fantastic stay with us recently. I would like to thank you for taking time to review the hotel for other potential guests to read . You are right in saying that we have got plans for a new pool and gym complex, we can’t wait for the new addition to the hotel, providing even more for our guests. I am glad that you enjoyed the tasty breakfast made fresh using local Cornish produce. We definitely agree that the views alone are worth it and an added touch of luxury you can’t beat it. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metzingen, Germany
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Hotel is located on top of a cliff overlooking the sea! Super sea view!
Location with a lot of wind, i.e. the coastline si a favorite for surfers.
Hotel is (in style) newly renovated.
The staff at the reception desk and in the restaurant very friendly.
Restaurant with excellent service and great cooking.
The best was the breakfast and the very, very, very friendly cook.
No matter what you desire, he prepares it.
The elevator is not always working, i.e. from the higher floors it is a long walk.
Overall a wonderful place.

One (minus) item to notice:
The prices mentioned in the booking systems are, especially for this hotel, phantasy prices.
So do not get carried away when looking at a crossed out price. It does not exist!

Room Tip: Not all rooms with sea view have a full sea view and at the lower floor the sea view is a view to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hanspaulpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic-Managment, General Manager at The Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear paul404
It’s fantastic to read you had such a lovely stay and enjoyed many different aspects of our hotel. I will be sure to pass your kind comments onto our staff they will be so pleased to hear the helped make your stay such an enjoyable one. We did have a time where we had a few issues with our lift but this has now been fully resolved.
I am sorry to read that you feel our prices are phantasy prices, we have set rates for our accommodation but sometimes we are able to offer special rates if you book direct with ourselves, this is so we can constantly offer all of our guests competitive and the best rates possible, so at times price may differ on 3rd party booking sites.
We hope you can return to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Had a lovely couple of nights here in July, really beautiful hotel set right out on the headland at Newquay. Views were amazing from our balcony.
REstaurant is excellent and the chef who works there is lovely. All the staff are good actually.
Outdoor pool is great, indoor pool is excellent too and we sneaked in there late with our son (it is not supposed to be used after 9pm) and had late night swim both nights! Naughty (but we were doing no harm and left it all tidy!)
There was a wedding party on the Saturday night and unfortunately it was in the ballroom under our room so it was noisy (very hot night otherwise we would have shut the windows but there is no air con in the room) and really bothered us as they had an awful DJ, it was like being in Butlins!
They offered us a discount for the trouble as my husband complained and they also gave us a discount voucher for our next visit and I think we will go again.

Room Tip: Room on the south will have sun all day. Try not to get one over the ballroom on a Saturday incase o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimbow63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Great location on the headland between Fistral Beach (for surfing) and Towan Beach (for rockpools and aquarium),both of which are a 5-10 minute walk downhill. Beautifully furnished, well-equipped bedrooms and gorgeous views. Plus points:1) Staff were so friendly and helpful. 2) the Head Chefs run a great kitchen with fantastic food (you can watch them cooking) and the Head Waitresses run a tight ship meaning good service at all times. Silks restaurant is very chic, has a great atmosphere and prices are very good for the quality of food served. The main restaurant used for breakfast and functions has beautiful views and is sunmptuously decorated. Negatives:1) Changing rooms for the indoor pool are up steep stairs and not next to showers so not convenient, especially for anyone with reduced mobility. 2) Some people commented on no air conditioning in rooms although this wasn't a problem for us - left the windows open for fresh sea air. 3) Beds were SO comfy but as with all hotels these days they have plastic sheets under the main sheets - horrible!

Room Tip: All rooms have sea view but if you want quiet, ask for a room away from the function room. If hot, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic-Managment, General Manager at The Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear VBrussels
Thank you for taking the time to recently review our hotel. It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed our idyllic location on 10 acres of our headland and spectacular views across the Atlantic Ocean. Thank you for your kind comments with regards to our staff, we pride ourselves on great customer service so it’s great to receive such positive feedback.
We can only apologise that you were unable to use the changing facilities in our indoor pool due to the being upstairs, we have taken your comment on board and this in mind for our new spa & pool facilities. With regards to the plastic sheet on your bed, these are in place to protect a brand new memory foam mattresses, however if this was causing you discomfort our housekeeping team would have been than happy to remove this for you as we all know how important a good night’s sleep.
We do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Atlantic Hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Me and my partner stayed here as we were attending a wedding reception here, the hotel room was gorgeous and very comfortable with stunning views.
The staff were very pleasant and helpful, my only issue with this hotel was the shower, it was absolutely horrendous, the worst shower I have ever had it was freezing cold then roasting hot therefore I couldn't wash properly other than that the hotel was lovely.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tarry07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic-Managment, General Manager at The Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Tarry07

Thank you for leaving a review on the hotel. It was lovely to read that you enjoyed our beautiful hotel and stunning views so much. After reporting the issue you had with your particular shower to us on check out I am pleased to say that the issue was rectified straight away.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the Atlantic Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We have stayed for a few years before with no issues,but this time we were put in a room over the function room were a wedding was taking place and didn't get any sleep until 1am in the morning due to the loud music ,I rang down to reception to complain but no one was concerned.
Because we come away for peice and quiet we shall not be visiting here again !!!!!

Room Tip: Don't get room near function room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gillian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic-Managment, General Manager at The Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Gillian L
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. It’s a shame to read that your stay was spoilt by a function taking place at the hotel. The hotel has a policy in place with music, to monitor sounds levels ensuring they are not too high. We do our utmost to advise everyone on our website in our terms and conditions and notices in the rooms that can be occasionally affected, that we do take functions and weddings at certain times of the year and very rarely some noise can be heard, and if you feel this will be a problem to contact the reception who will arrange alternative accommodation at any point. We do hope you will return to the Atlantic Hotel again to give us the opportunity to show what a quiet and relaxing break can be had.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.8 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atlantic Hotel

Property: The Atlantic Hotel
Address: Dane Road, Newquay TR7 1EN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#11 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#14 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Atlantic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning location, breathtaking views of the coast and a short walk from the Harbour and Town centre, The Atlantic Hotel provides the perfect base from which to explore Cornwall. Whether it is a family holiday or a romantic getaway you will not be disappointed with your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel Newquay
The Atlantic Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing