We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would go to Headland if in Newquay again”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Atlantic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Atlantic Hotel
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Noosaville, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Would go to Headland if in Newquay again”
Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

We were there for a couple of weeks and were disappointed. The place is still in the past and is more of a wedding venue than a top hotel. Parking is a major problem when there are wedding receptions there. The resturant food is good, but the venue is just missing ambience. Breakfast is in a different dining room where you are allocated a table. As the days go by you are upgraded to be nearer the windows, and if you are good you will eventually have a window table. Having said that, the buffet breakfast is very enjoyable.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    222
    75
    46
    73
See reviews for
163
549
27
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helston, Cornwall
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We booked the hotel for our daughters wedding and from the initail enquiry with Lorraine we felt that nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is a fantastic location for a wedding, and all our guests that stayed at the hotel had sea veiw rooms. The preparation from the hotel staff was of the highest standard, from laying out the ballroom for the ceremony and the seaveiw dining room for the wedding breakfast. A big thank you goes to Lorraine and her staff for making the day so special for my daughter and her new husband. From the moment you walk into the hotel you are made to feel special and all staff are helpful, friendly and proffessional. I would also like to thank Emily for making the wedding breakfast such a success, and also the breakfast chef for lovely breakfasts and his great "bad boy " poached eggs.
Overall I would reccommend this hotel to everyone thinking of planning a wedding. Once again my wife and I thank you so much for making our day very very special.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic-Managment, General Manager at The Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Adie B

Thank you for your review recently. We are very pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us for your daughters wedding. I will pass on your lovely comments too our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel and wish you all the best for the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall, england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

stayed at the hotel during the weekend for a friends wedding. all in all the wedding itself was great and if i had to think of a negative i really couldnt, it really was great!! however, we made our booking through booking.com sometime ago well in advance as wanted to be sure of a room in the hotel as we would have our 7 month old baby with us, at time of booking we requested a double room with a travel cot. we phoned the hotel the day before to confirmeverything was ok with our booking just to double check for peace of mind etc. the hotel hadnt received the request for the travel cot, but we easily forgave this as this things happen. however we were then told we could still have a travel cot and this wouldnt be a problem. When we went to check in on the day we were then told we would have to pay an extra £15 for the privilage of using the tarvel cot, which infact was an actual cot that was clearly quite old and in distress and I would not have wanted to put my baby into it anyway, We then thought to ourselves what kind of hotel in this day and age charges for use of a travel cot anyway?? really??? we declined the offer of the cot only then to be told we would still have to pay for the £15 for it as it could not be taken of the system. which after expressing our thoughts about this was then changed from cant be taken of the system to the £15 charge is for the child being in the room?? ok so now this hotel charges a seven month old baby to stay!! we then went up to our room, only to find we had two single beds!! being a couple we obviously did not require single beds., the room itself had a small balcony and an amazing sea view but none of the facilites we wre told we would be gettinmg at time of booking such as memory foamn mattress on our king size bed! we then went back to reception (itself very dated, like the rest of the hotel) to tell of our findings and that the room we had booked is not the room we had just been in to, the receptionist tdealing with us then dissappeared only to be replaced by one with a "well what do you want me to do about it" kind of attitude. We then proceeded to explain the situation only to be told that the booking they received was for two single beds so we are at fault!! well we're not sure who was at fault wether it was booking.com or them them but it certainly was not us, we are a couple and required a double bed as stated on our booking confirmation printed at time of booking which we had with us when checking in. we were then told "its ok we can upgrade your room to a better room that really is very lovely" we considered this to be a pleasent offer to ammend a bad situation that was not of making and go someway to compensating us for our trouble, however we were then told we would have to pay an extra £35 for the privelage!!! considering we had already paid a £135 for a room with two single beds and £15 for the privilage of not having a travel cot this is just quite simply unacceptable and not how you would expect a nice responsible hotel to behave. so the total we ended up paying was £170! for a room in the end of october!!! we have since wonderd how much the cost to stay at this hotel would be if it was the height of summer £400-£500 a night? you are not a five star hotel and should not be charging anywhere near those prices for a one night stay in newquay in winter!!! so there you have it you may think that is the end of a very bad and unpleasent experience which at no moment was apoligised for or an attempt to compenstae us for the trouble, but oh no wait theres more it gets worse!! the icing on the cake some might say, we then get to the room which we have just paid over the odds for to find we now have a lovely view of newquay town centre which lets face it certainly isn't the most pretty of views to put it mildly, but not just that, we now have a room with two single beds pushed together with a double sheet over the two!!! Unbeleivable truly utterly disgusted at this hotel!!! so to summerise, we paid for a mistake that wasn't ours, to the tune of £170, in newquay, in winter, for two single beds that had been pushed together, with not once receiving an apology or any attempt to compensate us for our trouble and overall very unpleasent experience. The room was also unbelievably hot during the night and we did not get any sleep and had our 7month old baby up all night too. the hotel seems to only care about how much money they can get out of you, god knows what they do with the money either as the place is very dated, nice if your into art deco and that kind of thing. they provide you with a bottle of water in your room, butt, its a small bottle, that you have to share as there is only one, says it all really. There was also no time to enjoy any of the facilites such as the pool, which we were not told about anyway and wouldn't want to use as it was absoloutley disgusting! They was no way we would of been putting our son in there!!

There was, suprisingly, one good point to this hotel. The cleaners do a marvellous job, the rooms were superbly clean and you really could tell alot of care and attention had gone in to it. Well done girls!!

DONT STAY HERE YOU WILL REGRET IT!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank honest b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2012

What a fantastic place!!!!! Can't fault it. Had a wonderful stay in October. The breakfast is lovely, staff there were professional and friendly. The room was luxury and the bathroom beautiful. Probably the best placed hotel in Newquay with stunning sea and town views. Will most definitely return.

Room Tip: The rooms on East wing have both good sea and town views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

stayed for four nights stayed in balcony suite. Room was lovely however was too hot had too sleep with balcony door open all night. staff very pleasant and helpful. breakfast was lovely. swimming pool a bit dated but this is being sorted next year.all in all a good stay. Dont think we would return as seems to be somewhere more for adults or conferances. headland was far more family friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I've stayed at the Atlantic before and it never fails to let me down.
Stayed in a standard room which had the most wonderful sea views.
Excellent value for money off season <£70 bed and breakfast possible, quite expensive during the Summer months but this is to be expected
Possibly one of the best breakfast’s I’ve had while travelling around.
The only thing stopping me giving it five stars is the lack of beers behind the bar, not one real ale, all lager and champagne. You’re in Cornwall a county that has I think some of the best beers in the country but not one in this bar!!
Nip down to the Red Lion 2 minutes down the hill for excellent food and loads of beers to try.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This hotel was fantastic. We stayed for 3 nights and found all the staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent, fresh juices, fresh fruits, cereals, croissants, ham, cheese, toast, jam, full cooked breakfast and tea and coffee. All perfectly cooked and presented. We ate in the Bistro on two nights, beautiful surroundings and wonderful food. The rooms were roomy and very nicely decorated. We had a sea view room with a huge window, the view was breathtaking. We used the pool, jacuzzi and sauna. Very pleasant and relaxing as we were the only people using it! However, the pool isn't very big and it may not have been so nice if other people were using it at the same time. The only downside for me was I found the room and the hotel in general far too hot. We turned the heating off in the room and had windows open but still too hot for comfort.

Room Tip: If you want a good view of the sea ask for a sea view on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 333SueM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.8 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
801 reviews
0.6 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
1.1 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atlantic Hotel

Property: The Atlantic Hotel
Address: Dane Road, Newquay TR7 1EN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#11 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#14 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Atlantic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning location, breathtaking views of the coast and a short walk from the Harbour and Town centre, The Atlantic Hotel provides the perfect base from which to explore Cornwall. Whether it is a family holiday or a romantic getaway you will not be disappointed with your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel Newquay
The Atlantic Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing