We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Weekend”
Review of The Atlantic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Atlantic Hotel
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful Weekend”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed with you for two nights on 28th & 29th September for Neil and Laura's wedding.
We really enjoyed our stay, you swiftly organised 2 rooms for us and our family after we found the poolside rooms rather cold and no hot water ! Our Balcony sea view rooms were just wonderful, thank you . Breakfast was the highlight ! to be greeted in such a cheery way by your breakfast chef, I forgot to ask his name, but he is to be commended, nothing was too much trouble, he remembered us the following morning, he really was delightful. The Wedding Dinner was delicious also, Beef that just melted in your mouth ! All in all we had a great weekend stay , and we will definetely return if we get the chance to return to Newquay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 301Sandie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    236
    79
    49
    76
See reviews for
172
574
28
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed at the Atlantic in early September for four nights in a balcony suite. The room was excellent, the food was very good, and all the staff were so friendly. The girls in Silks were so good to us, and we had many laughs because we needed to eat earlier than most. We enjoiyed the whole experience so much that we have booked the same suite for the Christmas break. We are sure we are going to get one of our best Christmas breaks ever.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony are quiet, and are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank howardsenduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moffat, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

stayed at the atlantic in september for five nights one of the best hotels stayed at. one small downfall was the mini bar prices in our room. the staff could not be more helpful especially the morning chef at breakfast always had a cheerie smile on his face. It is in a excellant location for visiting the southern corner of england.

Room Tip: A sea view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bob s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We reserved a Double Sea View Superior with Balcony for two nights. Before we arrived we telephoned to ensure that we did have a sea view and were assured that the room had a very good seaview over fistral beach. When we arrived this was clearly not the case. We attach a photo of the view from room 210 which management insisted was a sea view even though much of the view is obscured by an ashalt roof part of the hotel. We insisted on a room change which was complicated by the hotel hosting a wedding the following day. We suspect that wedding guests had been prioritised over us, despite our having booked 6 months earlier. A slow process ensued and we could only be offered one alternative room for both nights which was Room 214, with a proper unrestricted sea view but which was a twin which had to be made up as a double. This meant that light switches/telephone/etc were behind the headboard.
We had asked to see the Manager but he/she remained unavailable throughout our stay. A letter from him/her did offer us a free bottle of wine with our dinner but since we were not dining at the hotel it was a meaningless gesture. Management still insist room 210 has a sea view - beware!!
Breakfast lacked variety of fruits and quality baking and seemed very short on items at times.
Because of the wedding the hotel car park was full when we returned one evening and had to park in an adjacent public car park. Having bought an overnight ticket for £5.40 the hotel reception then told us that they would contact the car park operatror about overspill parking by their residents. No refund was offered.
Our lasting impression therefore is of upset with the hotel because they did not tell the truth about the standard of our room and we had to insist on being given what we had paid for.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view make sure you do not get room 210
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We got married at the atlantic on friday and feel 100% happy with our choice of venue - it was an amazing place to hold such a special occasion and the comments we got from all our guests were really good. the food, the rooms, the staff, and the views made our day the best we could of imagined it to be. we cant wait to go back again!!!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms I saw were amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbies452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chinnor, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed at the Atlantic for two nights as friends were getting married there.

To say I was apprehensive would be an understatement due to some recent reports, so I'm pleased to confirm the following:

On arrival reception staff most pleasant and helpful (they very kindly found a telephone charger (in their lost/left property box) for me to borrow as I'd left mine at home). I found the room quite warm and within minutes of asking, a floor standing fan was delivered. The room safe battery needed replacing, again very quickly this was dealt with. Nothing was too much trouble.

Room was nicely furnished/refurbished, with a good and very clean ensuite with claw bath and separate shower, the shower has very little pressure so not the 'power shower' you may be used to at home, but did the job all the same! Room had a lovely view (I believe all the bedrooms do). TBH some of the paint work (skirting boards and windowsill) is in need of attention, within the room we stayed in but I'd rather have slightly dodgy paint work and good cleanliness rather than the other way round!

Breakfasts were lovely, buffet style with full English available, the breakfast chef was just lovely and accommodating along with being so cheerful first thing in the morning, he's a credit to the hotel.

Our friends wedding ran so smoothly, all credit to the staff. The reception food was just fabulous, very tasty, well cooked, beautifully presented and served, and most generous portion sizes had us all stunned.

The only negative was that I did think the drinks quite expensive, just over £8.00 for a pint and glass of wine.........................

If we were in the area again we would not hesitate to book again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights for my sisters wedding which was held at the hotel. Rooms, staff, service, views, and food were all excellent. Beautiful interior, lovely comfortable rooms. Great place to have a wedding, organised perfectly.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 29Jetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.8 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.7 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atlantic Hotel

Property: The Atlantic Hotel
Address: Dane Road, Newquay TR7 1EN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#11 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#14 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Atlantic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning location, breathtaking views of the coast and a short walk from the Harbour and Town centre, The Atlantic Hotel provides the perfect base from which to explore Cornwall. Whether it is a family holiday or a romantic getaway you will not be disappointed with your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel Newquay
The Atlantic Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing