We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the best hotels ever”
Review of The Atlantic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Atlantic Hotel
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2012

stayed at the atlantic in september for five nights one of the best hotels stayed at. one small downfall was the mini bar prices in our room. the staff could not be more helpful especially the morning chef at breakfast always had a cheerie smile on his face. It is in a excellant location for visiting the southern corner of england.

Room Tip: A sea view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bob s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,031)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

682 - 688 of 1,031 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

We reserved a Double Sea View Superior with Balcony for two nights. Before we arrived we telephoned to ensure that we did have a sea view and were assured that the room had a very good seaview over fistral beach. When we arrived this was clearly not the case. We attach a photo of the view from room 210 which management insisted was a sea view even though much of the view is obscured by an ashalt roof part of the hotel. We insisted on a room change which was complicated by the hotel hosting a wedding the following day. We suspect that wedding guests had been prioritised over us, despite our having booked 6 months earlier. A slow process ensued and we could only be offered one alternative room for both nights which was Room 214, with a proper unrestricted sea view but which was a twin which had to be made up as a double. This meant that light switches/telephone/etc were behind the headboard.
We had asked to see the Manager but he/she remained unavailable throughout our stay. A letter from him/her did offer us a free bottle of wine with our dinner but since we were not dining at the hotel it was a meaningless gesture. Management still insist room 210 has a sea view - beware!!
Breakfast lacked variety of fruits and quality baking and seemed very short on items at times.
Because of the wedding the hotel car park was full when we returned one evening and had to park in an adjacent public car park. Having bought an overnight ticket for £5.40 the hotel reception then told us that they would contact the car park operatror about overspill parking by their residents. No refund was offered.
Our lasting impression therefore is of upset with the hotel because they did not tell the truth about the standard of our room and we had to insist on being given what we had paid for.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view make sure you do not get room 210
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We got married at the atlantic on friday and feel 100% happy with our choice of venue - it was an amazing place to hold such a special occasion and the comments we got from all our guests were really good. the food, the rooms, the staff, and the views made our day the best we could of imagined it to be. we cant wait to go back again!!!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms I saw were amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbies452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed at the Atlantic for two nights as friends were getting married there.

To say I was apprehensive would be an understatement due to some recent reports, so I'm pleased to confirm the following:

On arrival reception staff most pleasant and helpful (they very kindly found a telephone charger (in their lost/left property box) for me to borrow as I'd left mine at home). I found the room quite warm and within minutes of asking, a floor standing fan was delivered. The room safe battery needed replacing, again very quickly this was dealt with. Nothing was too much trouble.

Room was nicely furnished/refurbished, with a good and very clean ensuite with claw bath and separate shower, the shower has very little pressure so not the 'power shower' you may be used to at home, but did the job all the same! Room had a lovely view (I believe all the bedrooms do). TBH some of the paint work (skirting boards and windowsill) is in need of attention, within the room we stayed in but I'd rather have slightly dodgy paint work and good cleanliness rather than the other way round!

Breakfasts were lovely, buffet style with full English available, the breakfast chef was just lovely and accommodating along with being so cheerful first thing in the morning, he's a credit to the hotel.

Our friends wedding ran so smoothly, all credit to the staff. The reception food was just fabulous, very tasty, well cooked, beautifully presented and served, and most generous portion sizes had us all stunned.

The only negative was that I did think the drinks quite expensive, just over £8.00 for a pint and glass of wine.........................

If we were in the area again we would not hesitate to book again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights for my sisters wedding which was held at the hotel. Rooms, staff, service, views, and food were all excellent. Beautiful interior, lovely comfortable rooms. Great place to have a wedding, organised perfectly.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 29Jetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My wife and I have stayed here several times over the years and found every aspect of the hotel to be perfect. I especially liked the high ceilings and the wood panelled, chandelliered quiet areas. We always included evening meal in the dining room which we found to be particually good. Then on the opening of the built-on restaurant Silks, evening meals in the hotel`s restaurant ceased and we either had to use Silks or to go into town to eat. Evening meal in Silks whilst of a very high standard ruined the holiday for us because it was aproximately twice the price of what we had been paying in the hotel`s dining room. This extra expense made further holidays at The Atlantic prohibitive to the point of it being the last time we have stayed there. If however cost is not important to you, then I would truly recommend this hotel
The last time we stayed here was in 2006, please ignore where it states Oct 2011.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and go for a Superior room as they are slightly larger and all have sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OldClimber19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

My husband and i recently got married at the atlantic hotel and what can i say it was absoulutely amazing. The Hotel is just perfect for a wedding the staff are extremely friendly and ready to help out with anything you need. The grounds are lovely for wedding photos overlooking the sea. The rooms are stunning clean and very modern and would definately recommend a room with a balcony the views are breathtaking. We had a lot of guests also stay here and they were blown away by everything. A big thankyou to lorraine and all her staff for making our wedding perfect.

Angie and Dave

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angiesanders1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.8 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,425 reviews
0.6 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.7 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atlantic Hotel

Address: Dane Road, Newquay TR7 1EN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newquay
#5 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#11 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#14 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: $127 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Atlantic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning location, set in 10 acres of private headland, breathtaking views of the coast and a short walk from the Harbour and Town centre, The 4 star, award-winning Atlantic Hotel provides the perfect base from which to explore Cornwall. With 57 sea view bedrooms (from our Classic Double to sumptuous Suites) and newly renovated indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, Ocean view Spa and an AA Rosette Resturant open daily, the Atlantic Hotel offers the ultimate luxury break. Whether it is a family holiday, wedding, conference or a romantic getaway you will not be disappointed with your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your The Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel Newquay
The Atlantic Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing