We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mothers Day 2012”
Review of The Atlantic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Atlantic Hotel
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Bodmin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Mothers Day 2012”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Fantastic experience.Food gorgeous.unbelievable service from all staff.will not wait long before returning to dine.Well done to all at the Atlantic.
paul and family

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    225
    75
    47
    75
See reviews for
166
555
27
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

A superb hotel!! This was our second visit and once again we were more than happy with all aspects.

The room, a suite with sea view, couldn't have been cleaner and was equipped with everything you would need. The bathroom was an impressive size with lovely large sky light, bath & shower, huge mirror and his and her glass sinks.

We enjoyed champagne & oysters and also had an outstanding steak in the restaurant. I'm not surprised it was busy all through the evening.

The staff were all more than helpful and even extended our departure time. I very much look forward to visiting again in the near future and thoroughly recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sassymiss3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield England
Level Contributor
101 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Reception finished refurb 2 weeks ago, a tremendous blend of old and new. Rooms are first rate and again recently refurbished, very trendy and new. Views are out of this world. Location is great being a few hundred yards from Fustral beach, whilst being 15 minute walk to the town centre. Price was good £113 for a double inc of breakfast and vat. Breakfast was excellent, freshly squeezed orange juice, buffet and cooked, and cooked ingredients were first rate, quality produce.
1 single criticism is there is no gym. There is a pool which is ok but not fantastic.
We didn't eat in the resturant as we were in town but it looked really good.
So all in all a really good place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyreman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2012

It was our 4th stay at the Atlantic Hotel Newquay in the past 10 months and we had another fantastic time. We stayed overnight in a sea view suite on the 3rd floor with views to die for. The room was clean,spacious with every creature comfort you could wish for, with the most beautifully appointed bathroom. We ate in the evening at the Atlantic restaurant, the food and service was superb. The breakfast in the morning was excellent, a great selection of various options and the best cooked breakfast we have had in any hotel ! The walks around the headland are stunning and Newquay town centre is a stretch of the legs away. We are now looking forward to our 5th stay at this hotel in March 2012 but this time we are very excited to be staying for the weekend with other family members to celebrate my 40th Birthday !!

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic with impressive views but we prefer the rooms on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen180372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We have just returned from the Atlantic + we had a great time. We had a room on the 3rd floor looking out from the back of the hotel with amazing views. The room was modern + spacious + very clean. The staff are very friendly + helpful. The silk bistro was amazing with food to die for. We would recommend this hotel + will be returning in the summer.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 16, 2012

We fancied a short break in Feb and ended up staying here.

Had a third floor room with fantastic views of the sea and North Cornish coast.
Room was lovely with all comforts you could wish for.

The food in Silks restaurant was excellent and not too pricey. The breakfast was excellent as well with a wide choice of food. Staff at both restaurants provided a high standard of service. I have to say the breakfast chef was great, treating everyone like his best friend........He's an asset to the Hotel for sure!

The hotels location is great for walking along coastal paths and beaches, and your about a 10 minute walk from the town centre, with all its bars, shops etc.

Remember you are on the coast so if you are going walking wrap up warm!

All staff were really friendly at this hotel and seemed to genuinely want you to have a nice time.

We would return to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Sea view definately! Perhaps pay for a larger bed?
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanage
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

I Booked by phone and received confirmation letter in post. On arrival at hotel I was charged a much higher price for the balance. It turned out that the lady I booked with made a mistake, the confirmation letter was also a mistake. It was a great shock to pay a third again. Will never return to this hotel. We had a very nasty shock and spoilt our Christmas break . From the time of booking the hotel they had over 2 months to write and tell us they had made a mistake and given us a chance to cancel. We did take an extra child with us, and new we would have to pay an extra £45 per night for them. So paid the bill on arrival and expected it to go up by this amount, but it went up by £500.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Cas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.8 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atlantic Hotel

Property: The Atlantic Hotel
Address: Dane Road, Newquay TR7 1EN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newquay
#5 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#11 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#14 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Atlantic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning location, breathtaking views of the coast and a short walk from the Harbour and Town centre, The Atlantic Hotel provides the perfect base from which to explore Cornwall. Whether it is a family holiday or a romantic getaway you will not be disappointed with your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel Newquay
The Atlantic Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing