We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Hotel Bristol
Nearby Hotels
$157
$153
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Porth Beach Hotel(Newquay)
$128
$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
$145
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Minerva Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pentire Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Esplanade Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$167
$162
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Glendeveor(Newquay)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$211
$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$100
$63
Priceline
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (533)
Filter reviews
534 results
Traveler rating
241
185
69
26
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
241
185
69
26
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssilver serviceturret roomtolcarne beachsea viewtraditional hotelfamily run hotelbit datedthe clifffamily roomthird floorgreat positiondefinitely stay here againwaiting staffswimming poolcooked breakfastfriendly hotelsingle room
Filter
Updating list...
458 - 463 of 534 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2012

We've just returned from a few days in Newquay. My wife and her family used to visit the hotel Bristol at least 30 years ago for summer family holidays. She wanted to relive her childhood memories so we re visited. The Bristol is a grand old building in a great Newquay location , opposite the lovely tolcarne beach and lose walking distance to the centre. We had a family room with an adjoining bedroom for the kids. The room was massive and of good quality. Yes I agree with others some modernising and updating is required especially on the bathroom. Bus on a positive note the staff were all fantastic , from the moment we arrived, the porter was great, PHil the bar manager was very nice and kept the bar snacks and local info flowing. Most of the staff raved about the family owners and have all subsequently worked at the hotel for years. The 3 course dinners were superb quality , and the breakfast selection and quality was also great. We have stayed at many modern top notch and trendy hotels and eaten at many classy modern restaurants. I would say the Bristol isnt trying to be psh or fancy but the food would give most plush and expensive restarants a good run for the money . Yes the hotel requires some updating which hopefully they will endeavour to crack on with and keep a nice welcome ,friendly unique and pleasant hotels running for many a more few years.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jollbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWHB, Managing Director at Best Western Hotel Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I note your comments regarding upgrading the bathrooms and we will upgrade them as quickly as we can. Do come back and see us again and check our progress.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Stayed for a long weekend's Scottish Dancing: comfortable & spacious rooms, most with wonderful views, excellent food and top class service from attentive and helpful staff. Delightful...as it always is every year! A class act...

Room Tip: The sea views from the front are spectacular!
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWHB, Managing Director at Best Western Hotel Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2012

Thanks for your review. We look forward to welcoming you all again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We arrived as a party of 70 for three nights.IWe were pleasantly surprised that, though part of a chain, the hotel had character and had deiberately retained the art deco period style whilst providing all the modern requirements such as free wi-fi access in all rooms. The bedrooms were clean and well serviced by polite staff. Our particular room had a beautiful sea view.The management and staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. The service in the restaurant was fast and efficient despite the numbers in our party. Overall I would rate this as excellent value for money and a very comfortable place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the sea view, the rooms face the main road but the double glazing seems to keep the sound out.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCAWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWHB, Managing Director at Best Western Hotel Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are members of the Best Western group but the hotel is still owned by my family - BW assists us with our marketing and benchmarking minimum standards. We hope you enjoyed your singing tour in Cornwall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

70 of us stayed at the hotel last w/e. Excellent service from happy and efficient staff. The cooperation we received from the hotel in organising this trip was exemplary. Many have remarked positively on the high standard of food quality and presentation. We were all equally impressed by the pleasant atmoshere throughout our stay; nothing was too much for them. Well done Hotel Bristol.

Room Tip: sea view is great!
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mossymoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWHB, Managing Director at Best Western Hotel Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2012

Thanks for your review. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We had such a wonderful experience at the Hotel Bristol. A little old fashioned perhaps but such a class act with great service and wonderful food with the menu changing daily. The location could not have been better, so convenient for the town and sitting above Tolcarne Beach, the safest family beach in Newquay apparently. We only stayed for the weekend so we were unable to use all the hotel's facilities but we did manage to use the swimming pool and health spa. If you love Days Inn, Premier etc then this hotel is not for you but if you do appreciate well trained staff and a varied English cuisine then we recommend a stay at the Hotel Bristol.

Room Tip: 241 Was a very spacious room
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWHB, Managing Director at Best Western Hotel Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We are glad you had a great time with us and look forward to welcoming again soon. If you subscribe to our mailing list via our website then we can email you details of any special offers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews