We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not impressed..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Minehead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“not impressed..”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2010

i booked this hotel to stay in based on it hotel rating..(not to be trusted again!).
First impressions were good with a grand entrance that looked clean.
i had booked a single room for a wedding here and the room was VERY small and dated with a shower that i couldnt adjust so i could not stand under it, there was drill holes in the walls of the bathroom not covered up the furniture was dated and there seemed to be no air con in the building and it was unbearable at night, especially that the window will open a tiny bit, the wedding itself was lovely but i was most upset that the buffett had cost my friend a lot of money and when the guests had stopped helping themselves to food i came out into the dining hall to see the hotal staff helping themselves to the food that was there for the wedding guests.
i am glad my friend had a lovely wedding but i would not recommend a stay here..

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitlizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    327
    216
    100
    70
See reviews for
177
490
29
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashford Middlesex
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2010

There was something about this hotel I liked - trouble is `i don't know what it was!
Obviously seen much better days. Staff were very pleasant and helpful though....
Decided on an evening meal in their restaurant which was quite good - again very good service. (starter and a main with wine for £57 for 2) Had a single room (1 of 2) which has to be the smallest room I have ever stayed in with a 2' 6" bed i think it was. No mirror in bedroom - it was pretty awful. Shower / WC OK though, this one did have nice tiling on the floor - but again painfully? small. Asked at the end did we enjoy our stay - we said we did and WE did, just crying out for some TLC
I will never trust hotel star ratings again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hopsmanager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newquay hotels

hamburg, germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2010

I spent 4 nights at the Victoria Hotel in Newquay.

The Victoria Hotel is a dated hotel in the center of Newquay, directly located on the main street. The beautiful old building is impressive, just as the lobby/restaurant area. Both restaurant and breakfast room have high ceilings with beautiful chandeliers, the restaurant also large windows with a lovely view onto the sea.

My room was a different matter, though. The bed was big and comfortable with clean sheets but anything else in the room was a bit shabby, especially the disgusting old bathroom floor carpet (they actually had the bathroom floor carpeted, including the toilet area(!)).

There was a sink with 2 water taps (one for warm water (which I could not operate, maybe I was too weak) and one for cold water (I could work this one, though).

I used the bathtub for showering, but it was not a pleasure as the waterstream was pretty weak. Even more annoying was the fact that the water temperature was never "steady", relaxed showering was impossible as I either got burnt by hot water or the water suddenly turned ice-cold.

I was given 3 towels per day (2 small ones and 1 larger bathtowel). Toiletries available were soap, shampoo and shower gel. In very small units and not coming in little plastic bottles but looking like samples of facial creams, shampoos etc. that you would rip off fashion magazine pages.

I did not like the smell in the bedroom but that was no problem as the window could be opened, so I left it open day and night. The TV was a little dated but worked properly. There was a tray with an electric kettle, instant coffee and tea bags were replaced daily. I also found a hairdryer.

I had breakfast and dinner at the hotel (4x), the quality of the meals was ok. Meals were served at the table, the size of the portions served for dinner (even the main course) was surprisingly small.

The hotel staff were friendly and professional, so no complains here.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank griseldis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2010

first impressions were good the reception area etc was quite impressive. Paid extra for a sea view as it was my 40th birthday the room we were given was tiny with a very small window - it felt like a cupboard. My husband complained and we were moved to a much larger family room with a bigger sea view window. The furniture is very dated and the bathroom could do with a bit of work.
We did use the pool and jacuzzi which was a nice extra.
Breakfast - There wasn't a lot of choice at the buffet but you could order an english cooked breakfast which was ok.
We normally stay in the cheaper hotels in Newquay but thought we would treat ourselves for a change - to be honest it wasn't worth the extra money.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saltashgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abertillery, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2010

This establishment is of the older better quality type of large British seaside hotel with definite pretentions to offering a good experience. The bar, reception and restaurant areas are all very good. Some of the decor is very grand. The staff are very capable and pleasant. The bedrooms are a bit faded at best although there are great views from those that are sea facing. That's the good.
The downside is that the hotel seems to us to think that it is just a base for those eating and drinking out. That's what we do but like to get back to base about 1000-1030 and relax in the bar. The only problem is that the bar closes at 1100 - at least it did during our visit. We didn't use the restaurant but I am sure I saw a notice somewhere saying that it only opens between 1900 and 2030! Bar staff are moved to the adjoining nightclub at 2300 - presumably where they can better help contribute to hotel profitability. You can still get a drink but only from the night porter. So first you find him and then wait until he serves you.
Whilst we were there there was a serious accident with the hotel lift. Six guests were in it when it crashed to the basement. At least one person was hospitalised. Did the hotel explain what had happened or offer help with suitcases etc? No. We didn't want or expect an apology and the fact that the hotel was surrounded by emergency services personnel told it's own story. But a nice circular letter or a word from hotel staff would have been reassuring. It just felt that the hotel had a very self-centred approach to service.
Finally by going to Newquay for the bank holiday we were revisiting very old haunts. It's certainly changed and there is no doubt that it now lives up to its reputation as a party town with stag parties everywhere. It was strange though that male groups outnumbered those of the "fairer" sex by what must have been 5 or more to 1. We had heard the stories in the media and did not expect too much from the town. It didn't disappoint in that way. We just got on with our break and got out and about but stayed away from the town. The beaches and views are still great anyway.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trekker512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2010

We booked a last minute short break at this hotel and paid £204 for the two of us. We stayed for four nights in this hotel and after reading some of the write ups we were a little apprehensive. When we arrived it was apparent that the hotel was a Victorian built hotel and had aged accordingly, however when we got inside the hotel was decorated to a high standard. Some of the reports stated that this hotel’s décor was out dated. I disagree. This is a Victorian hotel and the décor reflected this. The hotel displayed photos of the construction and people enjoying what would have been the first British holidays, this would have not fitted in with a boutique hotel look!

When we checked in at reception the receptionist informed us that we had been up graded to a suit with a sea view. I thought that this was a lovely touch and a good move given that the hotel was not full and would probably ensure our return. The room was very large; the bed (king size) was very comfortable. The room was spotlessly clean and kept clean constantly whilst we were there. Some reports stated that the furniture was old fashioned, yet again I say that it was in keeping with the hotels era. I will admit that the sold wood furniture was in need of restoration were the colour had worn but this did not result in me being disappointed.

The breakfast offered choice and was delivered quickly and piping hot. There is a small swimming pool which appears to be well maintained although we did not use it.

This hotel in right in the centre of things and although we visited out of season I can imagine that in summer that it is very bustling. For me Newquey lacked what I was looking for in a seaside town and reminded me a little of Blackpool with the bars and night clubs. We went to St Ives one day and this is the place I will be returning to.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jue5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2010

Great friendly family run hotel, great staff, clean, lovely regency decor, well positioned in Newquay. The occupancy rate was low, so that meant the resturant wasn't very enticing as you would be the only diner, and you may have to search out the waiter, but none the less it was a good area and brakfast was cerals juice etc and then cooked options with kippers as well, whih were well worth it. If you have booked for the gum and pool though, dont. It says a gym, you wont fing any pics on the net as they are not woth taking. It a few old machines concept rower, treadmill, stepper, and bike in a damp basement room. The pool is ok, but the boiler was broken and therefore cold, and the sauna was tepid. The steam room is just a damp hole Im afraid, and the whole area is not staffed so dont leave the kids! Value for money great, go for a run along the coast!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TopseyWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.6 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#9 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
0.7 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay

Property: Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Address: East Street, Newquay TR7 1DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Victoria has one of the best locations in Newquay, central but over looking the town's main beaches. Whether you're on business or pleasure the AA 3 Star Hotel Victoria is one of Newquay's finest hotels. Sitting on the cliffs above the golden sands of Great Western Beach with stunning sea views, but with the town centre's shops, bars, restaurants and attractions all on your door step, this is the ideal setting.The Hotel Victoria's rooms are individually styled all with en-suite and many with sea views. The Victoria has an indoor pool, spa bath, sauna, steam room and small gym. There are two restaurants on site; the hotel’s restaurant La Rochelle, and a Mexican restaurant, Senor Dicks. The hotel has limited parking available at a small extra charge. The hotel offers free Wi-Fi in the public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Newquay Victoria
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing