We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel - Highly Reconmended!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Ranked #22 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
cardiff-wales
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel - Highly Reconmended!”
Reviewed May 27, 2009

We arrived to the Hotel Victoria for our 3rd anniversary, having stayed previously for our Honeymoon and subsequently each year.
The hotel never fails to fault, we were upgraded to a seaview room, which happened to be the same room we had on our honeymoon, so this was great.
Fantastic to see the changes in now providing modern white linen, although i still do dispair at the carpeted bathrooms, although cleanliness and hygiene are spot on!
Breakfast is great, poached eggs cooked perfect, although a shame that you cannot now sit in the section with the sea view, though I expect that this is down to the fact that the hotel was fully booked.
I look forward to return again hopefully in Autumn, if not definately for my 4th Anniversary next year.
I do hope the staff read this as it is a pleasure and I say this when I work within the industry and see many hotels for work reasons!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bacardi81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    335
    228
    105
    71
See reviews for
182
504
32
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
249 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2009

As part of a group of 20 men of a certain age on a golfing weekend we descended on Newquay with few pre-conceptions. The weather was great and we found some fantastic courses but we were rather underwhelmed with the town. Once we got used to the swish of nylon we soon realised that maybe we are getting a bit too old to be so judgemental. We are definitely getting fussier as we get older and our hearts sank as we saw some of the hotels that had been considered.
There were no such worries with the Hotel Victoria. Slightly (but not much) more expensive than the others it deserves all the plaudits it receives. The staff were super friendly and efficient. A large group like us can be quite daunting but once it was established that we were not hooligans nothing was too much trouble. Well, that is not strictly true, as one of our group is 6'5" and would have appreciated a larger bed but was informed the hotel was full. That aside we received excellent service throughout the food was hot and nutritious and served pretty much how and when we wanted it.

The kitchen was more flexible than normal probably because good manners and appreciation from guests goes a lot further than most people in this country seem to realise. Jim and his team happily changed the menu to suit our needs although I got the distinct impression that this was most unusual and I would like to think a reflection on the rapport we struck up with the staff. Every night we worked our way through the wine-list only to find it replenished the next day.

The rooms were clean and the one I had was spacious with a fabulous sea-view. Only one lift but the grand staircase was not at all onerous.

Given our size and other functions in the hotel, we were shepherded into a back bar during the evening but again the service ensured that this worked out extremely well. The view of the night club below also gave hours of entertainment! Free entry was a bonus but a short-lived one for most of us.

Would I recommend Hotel Victoria? Absolutely.
Would I go back to Newquay? Hmmm

A big debt of thanks to Poppy, Jim, Sarah, Alice and all the staff who really bent over backwards to make us feel welcome.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vonireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOTTINGHAM, ENGLAND
Level Contributor
64 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2009

Excellent location for local amenities, shops, bars and restaurants. Staff friendly and cleanliness of communal areas, guest rooms and bathrooms superb. Exceptional value for money. Would definately recommend to family and friends and stay here again. Hotel very grand and opulent and the pool area is beautiful.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TANYA66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2009

We stayed for 4 nights in April. Was very easy to find in a great location, very close to everything. The decor in the room was a little out of date, but went well with the hotel look. The room was nice and clean had a good sized window that opened, as the sun was in our room most of the afternoon. We had a good sized room and bathroom, and a great size bed. The pool and the spa were lovely, especially after a day of sightseeing. The breakfast was good, a shame about the breakfast staff though. Most of the young staff seemed like grumpy teenagers who had just gotten out of bed. Would definately stay here again though.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelchick07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2009

We stayed for 1 night (a thursday), and had a lovely stay, we were upgraded to a superior sea view room and the view was lovely over the beach.
We walked into town which takes 30 seconds,then came back and used the hotels pool, jacuzzi, steam room etc. which were all very nice and in good condition, clean changing areas etc.with a view out to sea from the pool. Went into town in the evening quite quiet but found a few pubs to drink in, had a good nights sleep.
Breakfast was very nice, waitress service for cooked breakfast and self service cereals etc. first. I would reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cazb0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2009

Before the Credit Crunch starts to hit we decided to do what the advert said and 'remember the Victoria as it used to be', and we weren't disappointed! On a bitterly cold day we were welcomed by friendly staff, a warmning drink and two open fires. Room was comfortable and we had a fantastic view. Good evenings entertainment and we didnt feel old ! ( we are both in our 60's). Music was just right for us anyway. Well done to the Victoria and everyone involved.We shall be back for next New Year.

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank jmadd3339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2008

Its the big victorian hotel in the center of the town, well it would be wouldn't it. It is old school and that is no bad thing. Lovely entrance massive staircase and dinning room is amazing. The room was old , old fashioned but thats what the place is . Not tatty or anything but classical , if you want all that modern jazz then you may be in the wrong place. Hey it has free internet, thats modern and something the big chains could do with providing ! Food is great, location great, and its traditional, thats the word i have been looking for. A proper english traditional hotel, away from the stag & hen crowd. But close to the town to join in if you want !! (try the central pub). The hotel is a very civilized experience, and that is to its credit.

  • Liked — traditional
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JamesBond0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
832 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#9 of 38 in Newquay
992 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
908 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay

Property: Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Address: East Street, Newquay TR7 1DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Victoria has one of the best locations in Newquay, central but over looking the town's main beaches. Whether you're on business or pleasure the AA 3 Star Hotel Victoria is one of Newquay's finest hotels. Sitting on the cliffs above the golden sands of Great Western Beach with stunning sea views, but with the town centre's shops, bars, restaurants and attractions all on your door step, this is the ideal setting.The Hotel Victoria's rooms are individually styled all with en-suite and many with sea views. The Victoria has an indoor pool, spa bath, sauna, steam room and small gym. There are two restaurants on site; the hotel’s restaurant La Rochelle, and a Mexican restaurant, Senor Dicks. The hotel has limited parking available at a small extra charge. The hotel offers free Wi-Fi in the public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Newquay Victoria
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing