We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice relaxing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Ranked #22 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Reviewed April 14, 2009

We stayed for 4 nights in April. Was very easy to find in a great location, very close to everything. The decor in the room was a little out of date, but went well with the hotel look. The room was nice and clean had a good sized window that opened, as the sun was in our room most of the afternoon. We had a good sized room and bathroom, and a great size bed. The pool and the spa were lovely, especially after a day of sightseeing. The breakfast was good, a shame about the breakfast staff though. Most of the young staff seemed like grumpy teenagers who had just gotten out of bed. Would definately stay here again though.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelchick07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,024)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

944 - 950 of 1,024 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2009

We stayed for 1 night (a thursday), and had a lovely stay, we were upgraded to a superior sea view room and the view was lovely over the beach.
We walked into town which takes 30 seconds,then came back and used the hotels pool, jacuzzi, steam room etc. which were all very nice and in good condition, clean changing areas etc.with a view out to sea from the pool. Went into town in the evening quite quiet but found a few pubs to drink in, had a good nights sleep.
Breakfast was very nice, waitress service for cooked breakfast and self service cereals etc. first. I would reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cazb0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2009

Before the Credit Crunch starts to hit we decided to do what the advert said and 'remember the Victoria as it used to be', and we weren't disappointed! On a bitterly cold day we were welcomed by friendly staff, a warmning drink and two open fires. Room was comfortable and we had a fantastic view. Good evenings entertainment and we didnt feel old ! ( we are both in our 60's). Music was just right for us anyway. Well done to the Victoria and everyone involved.We shall be back for next New Year.

Stayed: December 2008
1  Thank jmadd3339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2008

Its the big victorian hotel in the center of the town, well it would be wouldn't it. It is old school and that is no bad thing. Lovely entrance massive staircase and dinning room is amazing. The room was old , old fashioned but thats what the place is . Not tatty or anything but classical , if you want all that modern jazz then you may be in the wrong place. Hey it has free internet, thats modern and something the big chains could do with providing ! Food is great, location great, and its traditional, thats the word i have been looking for. A proper english traditional hotel, away from the stag & hen crowd. But close to the town to join in if you want !! (try the central pub). The hotel is a very civilized experience, and that is to its credit.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank JamesBond0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2008

My family and I have just stayed at the Hotel Victoria for 2 nights and had a lovely time. We were there for a family wedding and all the arrangements etc went really well. The hotel itself was nice - the public lounge was tidy with lots of comfy settees - the reception area was small but welcoming and the restaurant and bar were both "old fashioned" but clean and comfortable. Some people have commented on cleanliness but we had no complaints at all - the 2 rooms we had booked were both clean and the decor, again far from modern (mainly dark furniture) were fine for our stay. All the staff we met were very friendly and helpful and were a credit to the hotel. Only a couple of minor issues - one of the rooms has a "swimming pool" smell about it the day we arrived but it did at least clear - the second issue was around temperature - we were lucky enough to have great weather for our stay but the rooms were so warm at times, they could really do with aircon!

We have stayed in several hotels in Newquay and the Victoria was as good as any if not better. We would stay here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelman64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2008

I booked the Hotel Victoria as we wanted to stay in a 3* plus hotel in the centre of Newquay for our wedding anniversary. The room cost £145 for ones nights stay and for that amount of money I was at least expecting a clean and comfortable room. What we got was a tired room with stains on the carpet, mould on the wallpaper, tatty furniture and worst of all a balcony with pigeon poo, fag ends and a half empty kebab box! We felt completely disheartened and so I put a complaint in saying the room was a dump. In fairness the staff moved us to another room and gave us a bottle of wine. The second room was ok but still had tired fixtures and fittings. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone unless it has a complete refurbishment and the cleaners learn how to clean properly. Furthermore don’t stay there if you want to go to sleep before 3am as the nightclub next door is extremely noisy. The breakfast staff were lovely though and at least the front of house staff moved us to what they would probably class as one of their better rooms!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank teddyWestYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2008

We have just come back form a hen weekend in newquay and included in our hen weekend package was a day at the spa. The spa was at the victoria hotel in newquay. I can honestly say that I have never met more accommodating and friendlier people in all my life. They bent over backwards to make sure that our day there was as enjoyable for us all as possible. When we arrived there in the morning we had not had any breakfast due to the appauling accomodation we had been staying in WHICH IS NOT THE VICTORIA HOTEL IT IS THE SUTHERLAND HOTEL but that is another review. Well anyway they had finished serving breakfast but becuase none of us had eaten they went and arranged loads of toast and jam for us free of charge of course. The treatments we recieved were first class and they really took their time. All the facilities there were brilliant and i could not fault anything. It is a very glamourous hotel with chandaliers and antique furniture.
Ontop of all this they arranged for us to have a FREE limosine to pick us up from the hotel we were staying in that night and take us to their nightclub they had next door and also free champagne when we got there. So all in all I thought that they were a top notch hotel

Thank you ever so much Katie

Helen's Hen's 08

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank danni19842003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
903 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,402 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,024 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay

Address: East Street, Newquay TR7 1DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: $52 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Victoria has one of the best locations in Newquay, central but over looking the town's main beaches. Whether you're on business or pleasure the AA 3 Star Hotel Victoria is one of Newquay's finest hotels. Sitting on the cliffs above the golden sands of Great Western Beach with stunning sea views, but with the town centre's shops, bars, restaurants and attractions all on your door step, this is the ideal setting.The Hotel Victoria's rooms are individually styled all with en-suite and many with sea views. The Victoria has an indoor pool, spa bath, sauna, steam room and small gym. There are two restaurants on site; the hotel’s restaurant La Rochelle, and a Mexican restaurant, Senor Dicks. The hotel has limited parking available at a small extra charge. The hotel offers free Wi-Fi in the public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and Hotwire so you can book your Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Newquay Victoria
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing