We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay with stunning views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Ranked #21 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We enjoyed our 2 night stay at the Victoria.As you first enter the lobby through the old wooden and glass revolving doors,you could be forgiven for expecting to see Agatha Christie,or some other 20's or 30's icon passing the other way.The hotel has kept all of it's old-world charm,whilst making a decent stab at updating the facilities.We booked a room with a sea view and cannot stress strongly enough what an important choice this is.The Victoria is situated right on the edge of the cliffs on the small headland separating Towan and Great Western beaches and the view is a spectacular vista of the beaches.The room was on the small size but comfortable.With a new bathroom which was clean and adequate,if a little bijoux.(toilet jammed in between bath and wall a bit of a tight fit).There was no fridge or safe but all other facilities you would expect were there.I have to say the standard size double bed was a little on the small size if you are used to a King or Queen size,but this is nit-picking.The swimming pool is a modern one with sauna and Jacuzzi available for no extra charge from early till late.The Spa was excellent and competitively priced in my humble opinion for the treatments on offer.Lady Walton was made to feel a new woman by her pampering.We only dined in the restaurant for our package included breakfast which was all-encompassing and should fill up the most hungry guest.The Victoria is centrally Located in the town centre close to all the resorts facilities and is only a 2 minute walk from the train station if arriving by rail.Friendly,helpful staff will also ensure you have a happy stay.

Room Tip: Definitely fork out the extra for a sea view.It will be the best few pounds you spend on your trip
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lordwalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,044)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

651 - 657 of 1,044 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Thanks to the staff of Hotel Victoria and Ooh La La Spa for another fantastic spa day, followed by a relaxing hot stone massage and delicious cream tea.
Staff are welcoming and accommodating, decor is a bit tired but doesn't detract from the day as long as you don't look too hard.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Jeannette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

This was built in the sumptuous style of the Victorian era, and one can just imagine what it was like in those days. Unfortunately, while it had been brought into the 20th century, it has not yet been brought into the 21st century. Many of the furnishings in both public areas and the rooms, while originally of high quality, were worn out. My bed creaked so badly that I was woken up every time I moved in bed. Many of the carpets were threadbare.

With only one very slow lift with a maximum capacity of 4 persons (3 with luggage), if you arrive just as a coach party has just checked in, it can take an extremely long time to get into the lift.

Likewise, if you want breakfast at the same time as two coach parties, you can have a long wait for your food.

There is WiFi, but it only works on the ground floor in the public areas, which makes it extremely difficult to carry on one's business when there are dozens of noisy coach travellers milling around, and it does not always work well, either.

It has a swimming pool, but it is rather disconcerting from the safety aspect that there is nobody on duty there. The pool area badly needs cleaning up.

With some hard work replacing the worn out furnishings and generally tidying it up, as well as a new lift (or lifts), it could revert to its original grandeur.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary.
The hotel is in a wonderful location in the centre of Newquay on top of a cliff with an ample choice of bars and restaurants on both sides. The hotel has old-world charm together with old-world quality of service and personnel. A further plus point for us was that not only were we able to bring our 2 small dogs with us but they were also allowed in the public areas of the hotel. Obviously the dogs need to be well-behaved and on a leash. Be sure to advise the hotel on booking that you intend bringing a dog with you. The hotel is also ideally situated in regards to the dog-friendly beaches and the large expanse of open space at Narrow Cliff where the cliff tops are edged by fences. On arrival the friendly reception staff noted our car registration plate and told us that we were welcome to use the hotel facilities until our room was ready at 3pm.
Whilst the room itself, 104, was extremely clean and tidy, it was in need of refurbishment. The carpet needed refitting where it had stretched, the bed was "springy" and the furniture marked. The bed-linen was, however, of a good quality and the en-suite was very nice with a clean look and feel with a glass shower screen and ample hot water.
The pool area and jacuzzi were clean and very warm. The public area between the reception and dining room has a fairly modern feel but manages to still appear cosy and comfortable with the sofas arranged in groups. The restaurant overlooks the sea only partly marred by the roof of the pool area.
I have multiple life-threatening allergies. I related this to the reception staff and asked if they could enquire which of the dinner dishes contained any of "my" allergens as that would decide if we were going to eat at the hotel. They came back with a menu marked with the dishes I could eat. On arrival in the restaurant that evening Fred took great care of us as did Matt. The food was excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Fred looked after us again the following morning at breakfast which was also very good with a "Full English" presented in buffet style together with a choice of toast and pastries, juice, cereals and fruit. We also heard Fred telling someone that they had bought soya milk for her so once again showing attention to detail and trying to accommodate client needs. After breakfast I asked Fred if they could once again provide me with that evening's dinner menu, marked with the dishes I could eat. I observed Fred writing down the request with a list of the allergens. Unfortunately things didn't run so smoothly this time. When we returned from a day out, instead of the annotated menu, we only received a normal copy of the menu. When I asked the reception staff to find out they rang back promptly but unlike the evening before this time the information was very obviously inaccurate and incomplete so unfortunately we did not feel confident in eating in the restaurant that evening. Someone, somewhere hadn't given the same care and attention as on the previous evening which is a shame as not only had we been impressed with the attention to detail but also with the dinner which we had eaten that first evening and had been looking forward to eating there again.
Overall our impression was extremely good. The hotel was spotless and all of the staff we met were both friendly and helpful and we were welcome to leave the car in the car park, as long as we wanted, on the day of departure. That in itself allowed us to make the most of the final day.The bar prices are approximately the same as those in the surrounding bars which encourages you to enjoy a drink at the hotel. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: You may have to pay extra but it is worth paying for one of the rooms on the first floor overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aguest1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I booked a single room at this lovely old Hotel via Bookings.com. When I checked in I was upgraded to a double room by the very friendly and welcoming reception staff. It was exactly what you would expect from a hotel of this age but spotlessly clean. The breakfast that was included in my price was second to none. i will definitely use this hoitel again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barfran2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

If you're looking for a central location this is definitley your place. If your also looking for a hotel with some character, again, this is your place.
We arrived on Friday lunchtime and parked up in the hotel car park and popped in to the hotel to say we'd arrived and where the car was. the chap on reception was very helpful and made a note of our car reg and took a telephone number and would let us know if the room was ready before 3pm (normal check in time).
No call but that didn't matter we were out and about anyway.
When we checked in, we were given room number 101!! We went up to our room and whilst it was clean it was pretty small. It was OK though as we knew we wouldn't be in the room much. We booked through booking.com and got a really good rate. Had we paid more I'd have been at reception complaining.
Our room was at the front of the hotel. All i will say is that if you get a rom on the front, go and get yourself some ear plugs. it can be very loud at night (thankfully we were prepared!)
I'd like to say the room was modern but it wasn't. TV was a big bulky thing and took 10 mins to get a decent temperature for the shower (shower connected to bath taps)
We only used the restaurant for breakfast. Very tasty I have to say. Good start to the morning!!
All of the staff we met were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenners99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

We loved this hotel so much the last time ,we are here again. The hotel is a traditional grand building situated on the cliff overlooking the beautiful sea. Prob the best views one could wish for. We are staying in the ocean suite with it's own balcony complete with rattan table & chairs. Bathroom is very large lovely and clean. Breakfast is very nice with everyone's needs catered for. Staff are amazing they will go above and beyond to make your stay a pleasurable one. I really love it here. The staff work so hard to help well done guys an thanks for everything you do

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ghd76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
925 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,031 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay

Address: East Street, Newquay TR7 1DB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: $43 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Victoria has one of the best locations in Newquay, central but over looking the town's main beaches. Whether you're on business or pleasure the AA 3 Star Hotel Victoria is one of Newquay's finest hotels. Sitting on the cliffs above the golden sands of Great Western Beach with stunning sea views, but with the town centre's shops, bars, restaurants and attractions all on your door step, this is the ideal setting.The Hotel Victoria's rooms are individually styled all with en-suite and many with sea views. The Victoria has an indoor pool, spa bath, sauna, steam room and small gym. There are two restaurants on site; the hotel’s restaurant La Rochelle, and a Mexican restaurant, Senor Dicks. The hotel has limited parking available at a small extra charge. The hotel offers free Wi-Fi in the public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Newquay Victoria
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing