We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Been there, done it.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Ranked #22 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Been there, done it.....”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We booked a superior sea view room for 2 nights. The hotel was clean, probably a magnificent place in 1900, but that was a long time ago. We had a very nice cream tea on arrival and later a very nice diner in the restaurant, Tim did a good job, multi tasking as waiter, maitradee, table clearer and PR man. He was the fittest waiter I have ever seen and he didn`t spill a drop ! Our room, 221, was quite small with a nice sea view. The double ? bed was the smallest I have ever seen, and the matteress was the economy type where you can feel the bed frame. Halfway through the first night we were considering moving onto the floor or going home but we`re British ! The TV was old and had one channel, and I don`t watch Poo Bear !! The bathroom was newer than everything else, probably referbed in the thirties. We went down for breakfast and the staff were good, coffee and toast arrived very quickly, we both ordered a full English, canned beans,tinned tomatoes, tinned mushrooms, tasteless bacon, economy sausage and I think it was an egg....all learning to swim in tomatoe juice, We were due too stay another night but were afraid we might dream about waking up for breakfast or worse still, falling off the cliff.... sorry bed edge !! So we checked out !! Before leaving we hit the spa and had a lovely pedicure, the girls were lovely !! and we walked away happy !!!

Room Tip: If a couple ask for twin beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    331
    222
    104
    71
See reviews for
180
497
31
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oswestry
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

I have travelled a lot. This was one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. True the decor is not 21st century - it is traditional but beautifully maintained, with every frieze picked out in careful detail, every chandelier sparkling, each piece of woodwork polished.... an extremely comfortable spot, with lots of areas to sit in.

The hotel was in a superb location looking directly over the cliffs to the sea, more or less in the centre of town rather than being on an outlying beach like so many others. the sea views and sunsets were superb.

We left our car in the hotel carpark ( did not appreciate paying extra for this but this is the oNLY gripe) - walked round the cliffs and beaches following a heritage trail and sampling the cafes/bars one day - and out towards watergate bay along the coastal path the next.

There is an excellent bus service - and all the buses stop outside the post office which is next door to the hotel.

The staff were extremely attentive without being at all intrusive. the breakfast lady was particularly pleasant and had an excellent memory for detail.

the room was huge yet warm. the bed was very comfortable. there were two showers over the bath and all toiletries provided ( including proper soap).

There are a lot of places to eat near by so we did not struggle to find a meal in the evenings.

Our two teenagers spent a lot of time in the pool/hot tub, went shopping then found a cool bar to hang out in.


I could not recommend this hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: Room 109 was huge, warm,quiet and had a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helenOswestry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

had a lovely pre valentine's couple of days at this lovely hotel, booked using a groupon voucher which included two nights b&b for two with a spa treatment each, and my boyfriend and i managed to have our massages at the same time in the same room as they had two staff on at the same time, this was lovely and more settling for him seen as it was his first massage. lovely pool area, rooms lovely, staff friendly, spotlessly clean and for a £20 per room per night surcharge we had a sea view room which was definately worth it. we will definately go back at some point. make sure you visit Senior Dicks (mexican restaurant) next door for ice cream cocktails..highly recommend the 'after eight' one...tastes just like it!! and you definately have to visit the Maharajah Indian Restaurant on Cliff Road - the food is AMAZING!!

Room Tip: definately pay the upgrade for a sea view room, it's well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TEAR1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

We stayed here on a groupon deal and I didn't know what sort of service we might get because of this, but I needn't have worried - we were treated excellently at all times and had a great stay. It is fair to say that the hotel is rather dated in its decor, but it is really charming and comfortable. Our room was average size and our bathroom felt brand new, everything was immaculately clean. In fact the housekeeping standards throughout the hotel were excellent.

As part of our package we each had a spa treatment; this was as good as any I have had, in a lovely treatment room. The therapist, Lisa, was extremely professional and courteous.

Breakfast was good - while not the best we've ever had in a hotel, we certainly had no complaints and, again, the staff were attentive and very polite.

All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, we received excellent service at all times and felt that nothing was too much trouble for the staff and we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We didn't upgrade to a sea view room, but I could imagine that the views would be worth it. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LindaWeston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Great hotel, very clean and well maintained and a good location in the town centre, right on the clifftop. The hotel staff are very pleasant and helpful and I would not hesitate to recommend this as a place to stay while in Newquay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raj M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel countless times and each time I love it. A beautiful hotel with lots of charms, friendly helpful staff and delicious food. I first stayed when we got married in St Austell and the meal that the hotel organised for us and our guests was out of this world, since then we have stayed lots of times with our ever expanding family and never been disappointed.

Room Tip: The sea views are beautiful because of the location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShellyBobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

We stayed at the hotel on a groupon deal and after reading some negative reviews on here we were apprehensive. However, as soon as we entered the hotel we knew we were in for a treat. The lobby was splendid... just like something from an Agatha Christie novel. The staff were very friendly and a real fire was blazing in the lounge.
Our room was truly breathtaking....' 210' has a splendid view over the Towan beach and is much larger than many we have paid a lot more for in the past! The decor was modern, yet sympathetic to the age of the hotel. Some reviews have mentioned the hotel is shabby.... well, all I can say is toddle off to the soulless 'Holiday Inn' or wherever else you fancy. This hotel is like stepping back in time to an era where the pace of life was slower, people were courteous, and the interior of a hotel was individual and fascinating.... from the many photos depicting times past on the walls, to the super polished mahogany panelling everywhere.
The bathroom (by which a stay can be make or break for me!) was modern and stylish with a powerful shower and fluffy white towels. Certainly not the bathroom in a cupboard one reviewer described!
The car park was advertised as free when we looked on the website, but is now £5 for the duration of the stay but this was waivered without a quibble.
The breakfast was served to the table and was done with courtesy and efficiency. meat eaters would be very happy, but I would like to see a little bit more for the vegetarians amongst us. The coffee was freshly ground and the extras plentiful.
The hotel is located centrally for beach and shops. What an absolute treat. We would definitely reccomend without hesitation, but do pay a bit extra and ask for a central sea view and you will not be disappointed.
To those who are concerned by the negative reviews, ignore them. As they say, some people are never happy!!!

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view, and request a central view. Room 210 was superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.6 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#8 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
0.7 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#14 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay

Property: Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Address: East Street, Newquay TR7 1DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Victoria has one of the best locations in Newquay, central but over looking the town's main beaches. Whether you're on business or pleasure the AA 3 Star Hotel Victoria is one of Newquay's finest hotels. Sitting on the cliffs above the golden sands of Great Western Beach with stunning sea views, but with the town centre's shops, bars, restaurants and attractions all on your door step, this is the ideal setting.The Hotel Victoria's rooms are individually styled all with en-suite and many with sea views. The Victoria has an indoor pool, spa bath, sauna, steam room and small gym. There are two restaurants on site; the hotel’s restaurant La Rochelle, and a Mexican restaurant, Senor Dicks. The hotel has limited parking available at a small extra charge. The hotel offers free Wi-Fi in the public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Newquay Victoria
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing