We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Ranked #22 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Reviewed February 7, 2012

We stayed at the hotel on a groupon deal and after reading some negative reviews on here we were apprehensive. However, as soon as we entered the hotel we knew we were in for a treat. The lobby was splendid... just like something from an Agatha Christie novel. The staff were very friendly and a real fire was blazing in the lounge.
Our room was truly breathtaking....' 210' has a splendid view over the Towan beach and is much larger than many we have paid a lot more for in the past! The decor was modern, yet sympathetic to the age of the hotel. Some reviews have mentioned the hotel is shabby.... well, all I can say is toddle off to the soulless 'Holiday Inn' or wherever else you fancy. This hotel is like stepping back in time to an era where the pace of life was slower, people were courteous, and the interior of a hotel was individual and fascinating.... from the many photos depicting times past on the walls, to the super polished mahogany panelling everywhere.
The bathroom (by which a stay can be make or break for me!) was modern and stylish with a powerful shower and fluffy white towels. Certainly not the bathroom in a cupboard one reviewer described!
The car park was advertised as free when we looked on the website, but is now £5 for the duration of the stay but this was waivered without a quibble.
The breakfast was served to the table and was done with courtesy and efficiency. meat eaters would be very happy, but I would like to see a little bit more for the vegetarians amongst us. The coffee was freshly ground and the extras plentiful.
The hotel is located centrally for beach and shops. What an absolute treat. We would definitely reccomend without hesitation, but do pay a bit extra and ask for a central sea view and you will not be disappointed.
To those who are concerned by the negative reviews, ignore them. As they say, some people are never happy!!!

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view, and request a central view. Room 210 was superb!
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,005)
There are newer reviews for Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

857 - 863 of 1,007 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2012

My partner and I have just returned home from our third visit to the hotel and although we were staying as part of a special deal we were treated the same as always. We love the victorian grandeur of the hotel and were made to feel welcome by all the staff. Reception was very helpful, the dining room staff friendly warm and efficient. The food, both at breakfast and dinner was excellent and our room was warm and comfortable. For the first time we had spa treatments and again found nothing but warmth and professionalism and had enjoyable experience. Will we visit again? Of course we will as often as possible.

Room Tip: We have always taken the rooms we were given and never been disappointed
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

They staff the staff make a place and after our recent visit to this hotel i can totally agree. They coukdn't do enough for us and the service in the restaurant was attentive and professional. The location and views are breathtaking and our room was well equiped. We only had time for a short break but could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Just returned from a short holiday in Newquay and even though it was winter loved it. The hotel was in a great location and my little daughter loved the pool. She spent hours splashing around while her dad and I enjoyed the spa bath. Room was fine with all required items and the view was fabulous. The staff could not have done enough for us and we all enjoyed the food in the restaurant. Spent a lot of time travelling around Cornwall so didn't spend much time in Newquay but found it to be a good base.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank millie186273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

I have just returned , from a weekend away at the victoria newquay . Its the worse hotel I have ever stayed in, started ok on arriving early sat in pleasent lounge sandwich was nice . Could not believe room (twin) reminds me of some ones spare room where you keep all your old tellys wardrobes, etc room stank of cat pee,went back down to lounge ordered a bottle of wine, to be told to go to bar , this bar was at the far end of the hotel, and was freezing ,no one else was there , except barmaid who was pleasent and exceptionaly helpfull she gave me fan heater to point at my legs <as it was plugged in behind the bar I had to sit at the bar and leave my company <who been younger then myslf braved the cold . After thirty minutes left the bar the lounge area was now empty with a log fire, I arranged this break as I thought it would be nice relaxing weekend both rooms was terrible no paper was brought to room .Lots of nice hotels charging half the price regret picking this one , At breakfast asked for continental breakfast (Iam aveggie) waiter brought sausages, bacon , of the 4 us only 1 person had breakfast and that was pretty awful.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank loal m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We stayed here on a groupon 2 night deal. The lobby area and staircase was nice. Reception staff were very nice and friendly.I had a massage, the therapist was friendly and it was really nice treatment. On booking We were advised to upgrade to a sea view room. The room was clean, cosy but quite small. The view of the sea was great. I agree with other reviewers the room could be updated. The Tv remote would not work. The bed was fairly comfy. The problem arised at night. We were on the 3rd floor (room 317) and there was a constant smell of cigarettes coming into our room from the hallway. We are non smokers. This area was apparantly the smoking room area. We complained to reception on checking out. They were extemely sorry and we had partial refund for the upgraded room. Our complaint was dealt with efficiently and quickly. The breakfast was poor. We waited 20 mins even to get drinks. the toast was burnt. The cooked breakfast was poor with cheap ingredients ie tinned toms and pale tasteless sausages. Probably the worst breakfast I have ever had.The young waitress obviously didnt want to be there and she was not friendly at all and just put the tea down and mumbled. One last negative £4 a pint for lager very expensive especially when you can go into town and get a pint for £3 We wont be returning unless big changes are made.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevonKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Our room was clean (except for the toe nailclippings left between the twin beds!!!!) The hotel was ni on empty so was upset that we got such a basic room. The breakfast was very disappointing in comparison to other on par hotels that I have stayed in recently and if you wanted to eat in the advertised La Rochelle restaurant then that is the same place as where you have breakfast and it was not even made up - looked more like a junk room than a fine dining restaurant. Similarly disappointing was the fact that to get to the swimming pool you had to walk through the main lounge and the treatment room was in another part of the hotel so forever dressing/undressing/dressing and could not walk around in your robes. If you are at the front of the hotel also expect alot of noise. Young staff everywhere but doing as good a job as possible. The hotel photographs are excellently enhanced but give a false image. Was a grand old lady in her time but very tired now. Good job it was a cheap two nights away as would not have paid their asking price. Ok but could do much better.

Room Tip: Back of hotel with sea view but do pay alot more for this !!
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BELLA123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
893 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,380 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,016 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay

Address: East Street, Newquay TR7 1DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: $58 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Victoria has one of the best locations in Newquay, central but over looking the town's main beaches. Whether you're on business or pleasure the AA 3 Star Hotel Victoria is one of Newquay's finest hotels. Sitting on the cliffs above the golden sands of Great Western Beach with stunning sea views, but with the town centre's shops, bars, restaurants and attractions all on your door step, this is the ideal setting.The Hotel Victoria's rooms are individually styled all with en-suite and many with sea views. The Victoria has an indoor pool, spa bath, sauna, steam room and small gym. There are two restaurants on site; the hotel’s restaurant La Rochelle, and a Mexican restaurant, Senor Dicks. The hotel has limited parking available at a small extra charge. The hotel offers free Wi-Fi in the public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Newquay Victoria
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing