We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel in a wonderful location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2010

My husband and I went to the Headland for the "Escape the Family" short break from 27-30 December 2010. We loved it. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was modern and clean. Our only complaint about the room was that the "courtyard view" was not a view of a courtyard - should have been described as an internal view. The breakfast each morning was wonderful, and what a view in the dining room! The only dinner we had at the hotel was at The Terrace and it was great. Would love to go back one day!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GTAlli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,542)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,146 - 3,152 of 3,542 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2010

Stayed at the Headland Hotel as part of their 'escape the family' deal. This included three nights dinner, bed and breakfast. The hotel is very disappointing and didn't live up to our high expectations for the amount of money we paid. Let's start on day 1, the service during our evening meal was terrible and accumulated in us having our main meal prior to our starters - novel! We managed to escape the restaurant 3 hours after we entered it. Day 2, was a bit better, dinner only took 2.5 hours. Day 3, and it went downhill quite quickly, at breakfast my wife was about to eat a yoghurt when she noticed it was 4 days out of date - shocking. Furthermore, the hotel is very inconsistent, the first night I had to pay a £2 supplement for a cheese platter the next two nights there was no supplement. Unfortunately, the hotel didn't live up to our expectations.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank L_marsh23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2010

Stayed at the Headland Hotel on 18th December for the Moulin Rouge Christmas Party. From the time we stepped into the hotel we were treated exceptionally well. All the staff were helpful and polite. We had an inside room , which was clean and comfortable and just what we needed for our overnight stay. The party was well planned and the food excellent and "hot "when it arrived which was no mean feat when serving 90 people. We will be returning to this hotel next year,

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salsaliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2010

The moment we arrived, staff were on hand to help us and show us around the hotel and its facilities. Nothing was too much trouble for them and were geniuenly interested in making our stay very welcoming.

Although we chose the cheaper courtyard rooms, they were clean and perfectly adequate, and would certainly stay there again without hesitation. A telephone call was received by us from Reception to check, if the room was ok and if we required anything else, this was certainly appreciated.

The Xmas party night - Moulin Rouge was fab, the entertainment, food and again staff service brilliant. Table decoration perfect , the only negative thing i would say, was i thought the dancing was going to be in a different room, you did feel that you were on stage dancing!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulette21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2010

This is the place to relax, chill and be pampered. This hotel has something that every large luxury chain has not got- a heart. It has a personality and ambience that is truly unique.
the staff superb.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank juliecaerlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2010

A splendid hote in a fantastic location, we have had the pleasure of staying at the headland 3 times in the past year, once in the Hotel and twice in the Headland village, both are highly recommeded, the cottages are supurb, modern, clean and decorated to the highest standard, we have had the pleasure of staying in Beach 2 and Mariners 3, both are lovely with great sea veiws, the hotel can be described as traditional and the rooms are comfortable and well appointed. The Hotel Staff service is second to none and all the facilities are excellent. If your going to Cornwall around the Newquay area there is no better place to stay, you won't be disappointed, we plan on many more trips in the future. Pw & SJ Robinson, Lancashire

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pwrobby33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2010

We visited The Headland on a 'Stormwatching' break (3 nights B&B plus one dinner) in early December. Whilst the rest of the country was under snow and ice, Cornwall was enjoing sunshine and blue skies even though it was cold. So, we had no storm to watch but that wasn't really something to complain about!!

The staff at The Headland went out of their way to make our stay special with everyone we met both friendly and professional.

We stayed in a fantastic room, 103 (you pay extra but it's worth it) with the most amazing sea view I've ever experienced, the bay window giving almost a 180 degree view of the ocean almost as if you are on a boat. The wide bed and luxury bathroom (where I could see the sea from the bath) were clean and well presented.

We ate three breakfasts and two dinners in the hotel which were of a high quality, reasonably priced, well presented and served with a smile.

The location is amazing, on a headland between two beaches, and a little way out of town. Newquay in summer is not to everybody's taste (!!) and the little distance from the town may make all the difference at that time of year, in Winter it's all good.

Neither my husband nor I can think of any negatives although it is at the high end of the market as reflected in the price.

Every

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JBBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,024 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
16.8 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,595 reviews
0.9 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay

Address: Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1EW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newquay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#3 Family Hotel in Newquay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#4 Spa Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: $139 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newquay's original 4* hotel and 5* cottages, surrounded on three sides by the sea. With stunning views of Fistral Beach, the Atlantic Ocean and Newquay Bay, this is your perfect beachside escape. Families, surfers, businessmen, couples - everyone is made to feel at home. Don't forget you can also bring your dog! Our stunning Leisure Area is complimentary for Hotel and Cottage guests to use. Facilities include a heated spa pool with bubble seats and a jet stream, hot tub, aromatherapy showers, Swedish sauna and Cornish salt steam room.The Headland Spa, Cornwall's first five bubble rated Spa, includes a host of exciting features including a robed dining area and relaxation lounge, a nail salon for manicures and pedicures, a Rhassoul mud chamber, St. Tropez tanning room, a hydrotherapy bath and a suite of luxury treatment rooms including a VIP suite for exclusive use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Newquay
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing