We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic & Enjoyable stay - Will return!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Shepperton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic & Enjoyable stay - Will return!!”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I work within the hospitality industry myself and visited The Headland this New Years for 5 nights with my family. I must say I was extremely impressed with the standard of the hotel, the friendliness of the staff and the overall experience we had there. We stayed in one of the cottages which was FANTASTIC. On New Years Eve, the owners of the hotel were walking around chatting to the guests which is a rare and a very nice touch. We had two dogs with us, and the hotel were so dog friendly, it was just a perfect fit for our family.

The staff were lovely, with the exception of a couple of gentlemen who always worked on the bar and they came across rather arrogant and at times rude. They were the only ones who were like this so luckily did not let the hotel down too much.

I rarely write such reviews however felt I really wanted to write this for the Headland as we all had such an amazing stay and will most definitely be returning!!

Room Tip: Self catering cottages were absolutely fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
I’m so pleased you had a fantastic time; it’s great to have a review from someone within the industry. Our cottages are truly stunning providing guests with a ‘home from home’ feel whilst also having the facilities of the hotel available for use on your doorstep. I am glad that you brought your dogs with you to make your visit extra special. I wish you best wishes for the coming year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,295
    675
    198
    62
    52
See reviews for
926
1,584
75
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (890)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Just got back from a short break at The Headland Hotel.
The attraction for us is the comfort and location of this hotel .
Friendly staff good choice of breakfast although evening meals can be a little fussy.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 634jen90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
It is lovely to receive your feedback. I am delighted that you thought our staff were friendly at The Headland, it is certainly our focus to achieve a friendly and welcoming atmosphere for all our guests. I look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We walked to the hotel for lunch today and were made very welcome by the team. Between our group we opted for wraps, soup, sandwiches and puddings, all were delicious. The prices are reasonable and the setting is beautiful. Staff were very friendly but not intrusive.

We will definitely be back!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank hollydollysparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post this excellent review. I look forward to seeing you at The Headland again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

The history and location of the Headland hotel is great with interesting bits and bobs clearly labelled all over the hotel. The spa area is brand new and has been beautifully set up to include a nice pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room, the gym is also well equipped and part of the new spa facilities. The room had a breathtaking view of the headland, ocean and beach but was a little tired in places, especially in the bathroom. Dinner in the main restaurant was very enjoyable and the service was outstanding, however some of the vegetables seemed overly salty. A lovely hotel that is well worth a visit for it's unique historic tales and stunning location.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a_melks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you so much for your great comments, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit and got to use all of our facilities. We are very proud of our new Spa here at The Headland; it has just gained ‘five bubbles’ from the Good Spa Guide! Your comments are most complimentary, thank you and best wishes for the year ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Just got back from 3 day treat at The Headland Hotel.
Found once again that the real attraction of this hotel is the staff. The hotel was very busy but they still found time to make you feel welcome and special, even though we were only staying in a budget room, Adam and Jude in particular.
We had a complimentary afternoon tea with our friends on day one, which was lovely and I would recommend.
Wanted to stay an extra night for my birthday which Nicky in reservations sorted out for us, although this meant moving to another room, which was an upgrade to a costal view. The budget room was nice, the costal view was fabulous and seems to have benefited from a recent facelift. Would therefore recommend this option if your budget can run to it.
New facilities very good.
Location wonderful!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StuartDudfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
I am delighted that you had a lovely time here at The Headland. It’s always nice to hear that you felt welcomed and thank you for such great feedback about our staff. I am glad you had a chance to experience a room with a good coastal view and managed to benefit from the recent refurbishment. I look forward to seeing you at The Headland very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

This is a mixed review. I had booked the hotel after my wife’s mother passed away after a four year fight with Cancer. Having read so many good reviews, we wanted to go away after Christmas to reflect and take some much needed time together as a family.

The hotel is amazing. The location, scenery and building are second to none and I cannot fault this. We were blessed with good weather for the time of year and went for a couple of coastal walks. Take time to really look at the coast line – it is truly amazing!

We arrived early and our family room was already ready. We were greeted by a friendly staff team and this standard was consistent throughout. The staff was so attentive during our stay and was the highlight of our three day break. Having been to some of the best hotels in the UK, I would say we were treated by far the best.

We booked a breakfast and dinner package. The breakfast was excellent throughout. A really high standard of food in the morning that gave the option of a buffet or off the menu. I tried both and they could not be faulted.

The first two evening meals were faultless as well. We booked tables and had an excellent three course meal with a new menu each day.

The last evening was a completely different story. There was a casino evening, so the restaurant was full. It was clear that the staff were much busier and certainly less attentive than the previous two evenings. I ordered a 2009 Rioja from the wine menu at the same time as our meal. We were half way through our starter when I had to ask for the wine to be brought to the table. When it did arrive, it was a 2011 Rioja. I pointed this out to the waiter, who having gone for some time came back and agreed he had the correct wine but the menu was wrong.

Having had our starter plates cleared, another waitress came to the table with dessert menus! The staff were certainly less aware than previous evenings and a busy restaurant obviously put them under pressure.

Our main meal arrived with my wife’s chicken dish cold. We returned this and a second meal came out with rock hard potatoes. We don’t mind al dente, but this was ridiculous! We did complain again, but by this time my wife was so hungry, she ate the chicken and left the potatoes. In fairness, the restaurant manager did come to our table and offer us a complimentary glass of champagne and a drink for our son, but it did mar our last evening somewhat!

On leaving the restaurant, I requested a 9am table for breakfast by the window. Arriving in good time the following day, I was told that no one should book seats for breakfast and was spoken to rather abruptly by the morning staff. I felt that this was unnecessary!

The suite itself was lovely. We had our son with us who had his own room. Overall the room was very well appointed with two TV’s (one in each room) complimentary tea, coffee, hot chocolate and water. That said, the bed was really uncomfortable. We had two sleepless nights and in the morning I went to reception to make comment. They were helpful enough and maintenance came to the room. It made little difference as the bed was no better. My wife ended up sleeping in my son’s room just to get some sleep.

To top off our three day stay, the last morning there was no hot water. This meant three cold showers before our long journey home!

Both my wife and myself had a spa treatment. The new spa is really well appointed. The treatments themselves were great and the general feel is very relaxing. The pool, although on the small side, is new along with Jacuzzi, steam and sauna. The facilities for changing, showering and general cleanliness cannot be faulted.

Overall, we had a good stay apart from the issues noted. I would not expect this from a hotel of this standard and on reflection was disappointed given why we booked our stay in the first place. We wanted some much needed family time and a break and yet had complaints about food, service on the last night, no hot water on the last morning and sleepless nights (I returned with a bad back)

Would I stay again? Well may be yes for the location, staff and amazing building, but would certainly look at other hotels in the area before considering.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We came for a four night break with our two dogs in November and couldnt be faulted. Room excellent (we chose an internal room with no view but not in it much and facilities were excellent), food fantastic and service marvellous. Only comment is that drinks very expensive but to be expected in a hotel of this standard I suppose and driveway could be lit up at night as very very dark when walking into town

Room Tip: Internal room more than adequate and much better value
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janeWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for reviewing The Headland, I know it's not easy to find dog friendly accommodation in such a wonderful location. If you stay with us again I would recommend speaking to our Reservations Team to find the best room for you. I hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#8 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
4.5 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
16.8 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay

Property: The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Address: Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1EW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newquay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#3 Family Hotel in Newquay
#4 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newquay's original 4* hotel and 5* cottages, surrounded on three sides by the sea. With stunning views of Fistral Beach, the Atlantic Ocean and Newquay Bay, this is your perfect beachside escape. Families, surfers, businessmen, couples - everyone is made to feel at home. Don't forget you can also bring your dog! Our stunning Leisure Area is complimentary for Hotel and Cottage guests to use. Facilities include a heated spa pool with bubble seats and a jet stream, hot tub, aromatherapy showers, Swedish sauna and Cornish salt steam room.The Headland Spa, Cornwall's first five bubble rated Spa, includes a host of exciting features including a robed dining area and relaxation lounge, a nail salon for manicures and pedicures, a Rhassoul mud chamber, St. Tropez tanning room, a hydrotherapy bath and a suite of luxury treatment rooms including a VIP suite for exclusive use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Newquay
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing