We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay - great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Fabulous hotel to stay in due to location and age of hotel. Spacious rooms (we had a courtyard view) but rate included breakfast, complimentary robes during our stay and a wonderful backdrop - it is hard to get closer to the Atlantic Sea! Staff very friendly, good stay, would return.

Breakfast was ok, service was good but please stop guests bringing their mobiles and having loud conversations! My husband and I are in our 20s but even we appreciate some time off from mobile phones when admiring the sea views from the restaurant - please ban them at breakfast - it spoiled the wonderufl piano playing and relaxation at breakfast!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you for posting your comments and I’m pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I do agree that mobiles can be a disruption, however, most guests recognise the ambience within the restaurant and respect their fellow diners. We don’t normally have problems in this regard and I think when listening to live music, most people naturally put their phones on silent.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,676)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,696 - 2,702 of 3,676 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

I had previously stayed at this hotel some 25 years ago with my parents and was looking forward to returning. I'd booked a courtyard room as I was using the hotel as a base for visiting local attractions, therefore I was not overly concerned about not having a room with a view. The room was very comfortable and i could not fault the cleanliness of the room, or in fact the hotel. The price was extremely reasonable and included breakfast. The breakfast was buffet style although you could also order items from the menu, the breakfast selection was very good and I could not fault the service.

I was also very impressed with the welcome at reception on arrival and was checked in without any delay, also a very nice touch was the receptionist offering to show you around the ground floor of the hotel prior to showing you to your room.

The pool was open until late in the evening which you could access with your room card, the only downside to the pool area was that no lockers where available. Also after reading an earlier review i was not happy to leave items unattended in the changing room therefore i would leave my bag insight on one of the poolside chairs.

The hotel location is defiantly its major selling point, the views from the headland and walks along the cliff top are not to be missed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you so much for posting your review; I’m so pleased that after waiting such a long time to return, we lived up to your expectations! The Spa lockers are available for all guests using the leisure area and you may also use the hotel safe and your own room strong boxes if additional security is required.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Went to visit the new spa at the hotel this Sunday with a friend and I have to say it was stunning. It has been done beautifully and the staff are very helpful and freiendly. I had the Atlantic Seaweed treatment which was amazing. Highly recommmended and I will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauradennis16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

This is a fantastic treatment and the Spa team are delighted that you enjoyed it. Hopefully you will be able to come back soon to try their seasonal Winter Warmer treatment which is exclusive to the Headland Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed in one of the cottages at this property and it was lovely. Spotless, beautifully and simply decorated with a well kitted kitchen. The views and location can not be beat! Very, very well thought out. Responsive but unobtrusive staff. Can't wait to get back there.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mars2dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Your heavenly review is a pleasure to read! We too can’t wait to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We has stayed at the Headland a few years previously, and were not disappointed on our return. We had a very pleasant ocean view room, and I would say that there can't be many hotels in the World with a more beautiful location. Service was impeccable and food was excellent. The only small criticism I would make is that there were too few disabled parking spaces.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterGD1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post this review and I so pleased you had an enjoyable stay. Thank you for your comment suggesting we increase the number of disabled parking spaces; this is something we can put forward for discussion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed here on the night of our wedding and couldn't fault the views, service and quality.
Really clean and the furnishings give a really nice feel of luxury while being comfortable and not austere.
Didn't get chance to visit the spa but the breakfast was outstanding-the only downside was the queueing system to be seated which didn't fit well with the luxury feel of the experience.
The bar is beautiful and is the perfect place to chill out with a drink in the evening.
Can recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gamecatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Congratulations again on your wedding and we’re so pleased you chose the Headland for your celebrations. Many thanks for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back on your anniversary, if not sooner!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

My husband & I, with our 2 dogs, spent the first weekend of October at The Headland & had a lovely time. It was our 2nd stay here and we weren't disappointed. The hotel staff are friendly & helpful and the rooms are clean - we had a superb view over Fistral Beach.
As it is such a dog-friendly hotel we were able to take our dogs into the bar & lounge and were kindly given our breakfast in the lounge so they could sit with us.
We've already booked our next stay in December!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

We look forward to welcoming you and your dog back again for a return visit in December. Thank you for your lovely comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,032 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,425 reviews
16.8 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,623 reviews
22.3 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay

Address: Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1EW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newquay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newquay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#3 Family Hotel in Newquay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#4 Spa Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: $139 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newquay's original 4* hotel and 5* cottages, surrounded on three sides by the sea. With stunning views of Fistral Beach, the Atlantic Ocean and Newquay Bay, this is your perfect beachside escape. Families, surfers, businessmen, couples - everyone is made to feel at home. Don't forget you can also bring your dog! Our stunning Leisure Area is complimentary for Hotel and Cottage guests to use. Facilities include a heated spa pool with bubble seats and a jet stream, hot tub, aromatherapy showers, Swedish sauna and Cornish salt steam room.The Headland Spa, Cornwall's first five bubble rated Spa, includes a host of exciting features including a robed dining area and relaxation lounge, a nail salon for manicures and pedicures, a Rhassoul mud chamber, St. Tropez tanning room, a hydrotherapy bath and a suite of luxury treatment rooms including a VIP suite for exclusive use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Newquay
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing