We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel of its class. Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best hotel of its class. Outstanding”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

What a wonderful hotel!! We went last year on our daughters insistence that we go to the hotel where the Witches was filmed. Only stayed 2 nights, but that was enough - we were blown away and came back for a full week this year. The location is fantastic, and the fistral beach facing "pods" are an wonderful plus. The hotel is expanding and improving - I always like to see a business re-investing instead of just taking our money and running! Customer service is first class. Tom on reception was brilliant. It's a good judge of an establishment on how they handle problems- we had specifically asked for the room we had last year, but a mix up on booking meant that we were given another room which didn't quite meet my requirements. Tom was excellent and couldn't help me or apologize enough. He suggested multiple solutions and really bent over backwards to please me. Housekeeping was brilliant - they played hide the extra biscuits in my daughters room every day, which she loved!! Little touches from all of the staff made it a truly memorable holiday. The Headland really is dog friendly, not just tolerant- my dog was given treats at every turn and was welcomed by every member of staff on a daily basis. lovely. Cannot recommend this hotel enough, & will be back next year! Many thanks

Room Tip: If you go in summer, beware the weddings!! Don't have a room over the front door.... (Although i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jakmac28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
I am delighted to read that you had such a lovely stay with us. Our staff are a real credit to us and Tom has recently come from behind the scenes on reservations to be our reception supervisor, he has taken to the position like a duck to water; he will be very pleased to have received a mention on the website! Our housekeeping team too, are the “silent heroes” of the Headland, they do a fantastic job and always ensure the little touches that make a difference are given to all our guests. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back to The Headland in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,324
    687
    202
    65
    54
See reviews for
944
1,606
77
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (902)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We have just returned from the Headland where we holidayed for 1week in the Hotel, room 317, fantastic room for our family with excellent sea views. Reception staff and general staff all around where very friendly and welcoming, we had a few niggles with our room, door handle hanging off, bath taps not working, we mentioned it to reception and within 10minutes things where resolved. Couldn't fault the hotel on this basis our main niggle was with the main restaurant we booked half board package, food always excellent but a bit repetitive when staying for the week, service always exceptional, our main bug bear was the time it took for our meal to get to the table, we have 2 children a 6yr old and a 6 month old, it took 2hrs on average to have our evening meal, fine if it was just me and my husband but when you have small children, hunger and tiredness do not go well together, so evening meal times where a bit stressful. The waiting staff blamed the kitchen, but whether this was true I am not sure, one morning a family waited 40 minutes for pancakes, it was a long wait if u ordered food from the restaurant but exceptional taste when u did receive it, it was like disorganised chaos in there, I am sure this could be improved upon, we would return to this hotel but in future we may be more inclined to book one of the cottages or just stay on a B&B basis.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Headland. I am glad to read that you found the food and the room very satisfactory. I am sorry to hear that the wait for food caused you some problems with having little ones with you. I appreciate that the waiting staff have said it was the kitchen who was at fault; clearly somewhere a miss-communication has occurred. I can only apologise for this and assure you that both the kitchen and the waiting staff will be made aware of your comments and that they are given any further training that may be required. I certainly hope that you will choose to dine with us again to give us the opportunity to show you the excellent service we pride ourselves on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The Pitons, the Great Ocean Road or the view from this hotel; all outstanding views. This hotel is the most dog friendly hotel I have seen. Amazing breakfast with a choice of buffet and/or a la carte.,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
I am so pleased to hear you were so happy with your stay. We are indeed dog friendly, we especially like it when guests ask us to “dog sit” whilst they are at breakfast! It will be our pleasure to welcome you back to The Headland again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemyock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We have been visiting the hotel and a cottage for 6 years both by ourselves and with foster children and decided to book a suite (expensive but well worth it) for a week to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary in late July - we were not disappointed as once again everything was of a high standard. In our room we were welcomed with a card, strawberries, meringue and chocolates and of course a view to be cherished.
There was a slight problem with a meal one evening but this was quickly resolved.

Unfortunately I injured my back slightly whilst there but the staff, particularly in the restaurant, could not have been more helpful - nothing was too much trouble. It was also nice that those staff who had seen us before asked after the children we care for.

We usually visit during the school half term holidays - wild and windy Cornwall offers much - there is always much to do through the Headland and we look forward to a return trip later this year.

We cannot recommend it too highly

Room Tip: A room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
I am glad to hear you will be joining us again. It will certainly be our pleasure to welcome you all back to the Headland. I would like to thank you for taking time to review the hotel for other potential guests to read it really does make a difference and we appreciate you making the effort. I hope the sun is shining on your next visit; it has been a summer of two halves so far this year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stayed for 5 days and really enjoyed it. The highlight for me was the friendly and attentive service of the staff. I had severe back pain and this made it difficult for me to manage my dog Leo. The staff assisted me in every way possible and seemed pleased to do it.
The hotel's location is breathtaking. The food was of a very high standard.
Overall I would rate this hotel a definite 5 star. Indeed I would go so far as to say it was the best hotel I have ever visited in England.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BrigadierGerard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for such a lovely compliment and I must say I am forced to agree with you! I am sorry to hear you suffered with some back pain but very pleased that our staff were able to assist you. They are a true credit to us and I am pleased that you experienced them at their very best. I hope you will return to The Headland in the future, it will be our pleasure to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We booked a little cottage on the Headlands site - supposed to be a romantic getaway for our 25th wedding anniversary but we ended up taking the dog and our youngest as well. Excellent self-catering accommodation with everything we needed. Very dog-friendly and the sea views were wonderful. Cocktails on the veranda at the hotel and two special meals did not disappoint. Would go back again at the drop of a hat.

Room Tip: Whether you get a sea view or not, being out on a peninsula the sea is all around you anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1421Chiara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
That’s wonderful news! I am glad to hear you had such a wonderful stay even if it wasn't the romantic stay you were hoping for! Thank you very much for taking time to review the hotel we will look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forfar
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stayed at the Headland for 4 nights from 21 July 13. Hotel & service was exceptional. Breakfast was one of the nicest Hotel breakfast we have had. Location can not be beaten Fistral Beach & just a short walk into Newquay where we found Family Friendly Pubs with good food at a reasonable price.

My husband, 8 year old son & I all enjoyed our stay. We were surprised how much we enjoyed our time at the Hotel & in Newquay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cymru74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for your review. It was our pleasure to have welcomed you and your family. Newquay town is lovely, especially by night; there are lots of family friendly places and the views all across town are exactly how you explained - unbeatable! We are so lucky to have all this on our doorstep and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#8 of 38 in Newquay
990 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
22.5 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,618 reviews
1.0 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay

Property: The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Address: Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1EW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newquay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#3 Family Hotel in Newquay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#4 Spa Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newquay's original 4* hotel and 5* cottages, surrounded on three sides by the sea. With stunning views of Fistral Beach, the Atlantic Ocean and Newquay Bay, this is your perfect beachside escape. Families, surfers, businessmen, couples - everyone is made to feel at home. Don't forget you can also bring your dog! Our stunning Leisure Area is complimentary for Hotel and Cottage guests to use. Facilities include a heated spa pool with bubble seats and a jet stream, hot tub, aromatherapy showers, Swedish sauna and Cornish salt steam room.The Headland Spa, Cornwall's first five bubble rated Spa, includes a host of exciting features including a robed dining area and relaxation lounge, a nail salon for manicures and pedicures, a Rhassoul mud chamber, St. Tropez tanning room, a hydrotherapy bath and a suite of luxury treatment rooms including a VIP suite for exclusive use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Newquay
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing