We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just beautiful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights and we loved it. The views are amazing, we had an ocean view room.
The breakfast was plentiful and lovely.
The staff were helpful and friendly.
A lovely hotel in a beautiful location.
Mrs and Mrs vickers

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vickeroony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
That is very kind of you to take time to write such lovely comments about The Headland. Every member of our staff really does take pride in their work and it is wonderful to see that recognised and reflected on this website for future guests to see. I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Headland in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,219
    656
    191
    58
    50
See reviews for
893
1,532
73
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (864)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

I am in the process of buying a home in Cornwall and have to stay down there on a fairly regular basis. Having tried several other establishments I thought that I would give the Headland a try and have now stayed there on four or five separate occasions. It is an absolute delight in this age of corporate look alike hotels to find a privately owned hotel that genuinely seems to put customer service at the top of its list of priorities.
To enter the Hotel is to return to a different age when seaside hotels oozed grandeur. But the trick that the Headland has achieved is to combine all the mod cons that todays demanding guest requires with a genuine feeling of old fashioned opulence. The Fistral view rooms provide a breathtaking view and have been recently modernised to the highest of standards.
The exceptional surroundings are matched by the staff at the hotel who are consistently looking to provide any sort of assistance the guests may need to make their stay as pleasant as possible. During my stays the staff's courtesy, politeness and willingness to please has been unwavering and makes you feel as through your custom really is valued.
You can add to this one of the best locations of any hotel in the UK and excellent value and quality food including an exceptional breakfast experience. I am not normally moved to write reviews but this Hotel made me reach for the keyboard. Give it a try - you will not be disappointed especially if you can get one of their regular and generous special offer deals.

Room Tip: The Fistral View rooms are recently modernised and give excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamer44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your most complimentary review of our lovely hotel. We are so very proud of all the staff who work at The Headland. Everyone is a real credit to us and customer satisfaction is indeed top of the priority list. I am delighted that you found everyone so helpful and attentive. Our staff are always on hand to ensure our guests have everything they could possibly need to make their holiday a truly relaxing, enjoyable time be it for an overnight stay or a whole week.
I will certainly pass on your kind words on to all the staff and I shall ensure the owners of the hotel also read your review. They will be so pleased to read your comments regarding the food, décor, design and overall feeling of The Headland. We are a family run business here and have paid extra attention to the finer details which puts us above the chains.
We do indeed have the most wonderful views – much to the envy of our competitors! I hope that when you have found your dream home in Cornwall you will visit us for cream teas, lunches and dinners on the veranda, and make use of our wonderful new Spa and Gym which will open later this year. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

What a lovely hotel with perfect views. The staff were very kind and helpful and we had great service. The room was large and our 6month old baby had lots of room to roll about. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
I’d like to thank you for posting a review on the forum for other potential guests to read. I’m very pleased to read that you were so happy with your stay. I hope that you will return to The Headland, the views seem to get better each day and the little one will need to take their first dip in the Atlantic Ocean soon or our lovely warm pool in the Wellness Area!
With best wishes from The Headland team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

It is always difficult to find quality accommodation if the dog is travelling too but The Headland solves this problem, welcomes dogs and treats them as well as the humans. We were celebrating a significant anniversary and the staff had got wind of this and made us even more welcome with a card and other goodies. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly without being intrusive. The accommodation is superb - we self-catered in Lifeboat 4. Comfortable, clean and very relaxing with a fantastic view of the sea through the living area window. The beds are comfortable and the bathrooms (one for each bedroom) are spacious and nicely fitted out. The weather was not so good on a couple of days with very strong winds but this just added character with views of big waves from the window and it didn't spoil anything at all. We didn't eat in the restaurant owing to a needy elderly dog with a bad attitude once he steps out of his basket but it all looked very nice. The facilities are excellent and are being improved at the moment. There are some great walks through Crantock and further along the coast. The accomodation is worth the price paid taking into account the qualty, facilities and service. We will definitely come again

Room Tip: For self-catering, a sea view really adds to the stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsWhippy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
I certainly hope that we will be able to welcome you back. It seems you all had a lovely holiday - including the dog! We do love dogs here, they are real characters, each and every one of them and we love to hear all their stories. The cottages are such a lovely place to stay, they offer fabulous views and are decorated to a very high standard. They are most popular with dogs too as they feel they have their “own” area to run about in!
I hope that next time you visit you will dine with us, our chefs are top class and the food is fresh, local - and delicious. If required, we will be more than happy to “dog sit” during your meal and have an array of treats to distract them whilst you are enjoying your dinner.
Thank you for your review of The Headland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

We have just returned from a 7 night stay in one of the cottages and had a fantastic family holiday. The staff were extremely friendly with supurb service. One of the staff members, Sarah, was particularly helpful and made sure we were looked after throughout our stay.
The cottage itself more than met expectations with a great view of Fistral beach. Although we were fortunate with the weather, we still decided to use the indoor swimming pool with our young children and this was a great plus point to the stay. The facilities were new and very clean. This was our first visit to the hotel but it will not be our last.

Helpful?
1 Thank TheBuckFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review, I am delighted to read how you all enjoyed your weeks holiday with us. The Wellness Area is one of the newest additions to the hotel and is proving to be extremely popular. It will be expanding this year to incorporate a wonderful new Spa and state of the art Gym – defiantly worth a return visit! We hope that we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

If you need a reason to visit Cornwall, the headland hotel and cottages are it. All finished to a high standard with spectacular views. The hotel itself has the right mix of old fashioned hotel charm and contemporary styling. The cottages are a home away from home. The service in the hotel is always outstanding, the bar and terrace staff always welcoming and helpful. Really can't fault this place and look forward to trying out the spa treatment rooms next year

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SatisfiedTraveller26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words and for taking time to review The Headland. We too are extremely excited to see the Spa and Gym, work is well under way and you can have a sneak peak on the website to see it’s beautiful design taking shape.
Our views are something we will never take for granted and we are lucky enough to see the beautiful Fistral beach every day! Our cottages are designed to be just what you mentioned; home away from home, with added luxury and the all-important sea views too. We will be delighted to welcome you back to The Headland and I will certainly pass your kind words on to our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rossendale
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Had a lovely 4 night stay in the hotel. We stayed in a Fistral Suite which was ideal for us and our 4 year old grandson. Plenty of space and very comfortable. It really is home from home for him now as this was his 9th visit. The location is brilliant for days on the beach followed by a dip in the pool and then off for evening meal. What could be better! As usual staff were fantastic especially Sarah as she helped us find something we had misplaced. (thanks again!). We ate in the Terrace most evenings. Food was excellent, great service by Chris, but I did find the new children's menu to be very limiting. Breakfast cannot be faulted, excellent choices and beautifully served. I recommend this hotel for family breaks and for couples even when the weather is not good. We will be returning in July for our annual three generation holiday in one of the cottages.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BevRossendale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
I think your grandson may hold a record for the number of visits for such a young traveler! We are delighted to hear that you join us year after year and see the Hotel grow and we are so happy to see our guests families grow with us. I will pass your kind words to all the staff especially Sarah and Chris. We have just introduced a new children’s menu following comments from our guests so I hope this will appeal to your grandson on his next visit. We shall look forward to welcoming you and your family back to The Headland in the summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
10.9 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 6 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
0.9 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay

Property: The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Address: Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1EW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newquay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#3 Family Hotel in Newquay
#3 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newquay's original 4* hotel and 5* cottages, surrounded on three sides by the sea. With stunning views of Fistral Beach, the Atlantic Ocean and Newquay Bay, this is your perfect beachside escape. Families, surfers, businessmen, couples - everyone is made to feel at home. Don't forget you can also bring your dog! Our stunning Leisure Area is complimentary for Hotel and Cottage guests to use. Facilities include a heated spa pool with bubble seats and a jet stream, hot tub, aromatherapy showers, Swedish sauna and Cornish salt steam room.The Headland Spa, Cornwall's first five bubble rated Spa, includes a host of exciting features including a robed dining area and relaxation lounge, a nail salon for manicures and pedicures, a Rhassoul mud chamber, St. Tropez tanning room, a hydrotherapy bath and a suite of luxury treatment rooms including a VIP suite for exclusive use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Newquay
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing