We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Seaside self-catering cottage” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Herts, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Best Seaside self-catering cottage”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

The Headland has a series of cottages in its grounds, modelled like a Cornish village. Our favourites are the Sea spray ones, overlooking the sea, with just the coastal path between. You can hear the sea very clearly and look out at it from your bedroom. Very comfortable and stylish, but a little pricey now.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
It is very nice to read your thoughts on our beautiful cottages. They really are exquisite and a unique find in Newquay. The views are one of the best in the county and I am yet to meet anyone who isn't pleased to hear the sound of the ocean outside their window! We hope that you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,219
    656
    190
    58
    50
See reviews for
893
1,531
73
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (864)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We have just returned from a second 3 night trip to the Headland. It was as good as the first in every way, a lovely coastal view family suite with plenty of room for my husband, my 2 daughters and I. The food was fantastic and as before, the staff made the trip so relaxing being helpful, polite and treating my daughters so well. A third visit will have to booked soon!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nikkihut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
It is lovely to read your comments on the hotel. I am delighted to hear you had such an enjoyable trip away with your family. It will be a pleasure to welcome you all again for your much anticipated third visit. We are always planning new ventures for the hotel, starting with our spa and gym opening later this year. There will be something there for all the family to enjoy! We look forward to seeing you all again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

We had a great weekend away. The 1st room we had wasn't ok as there was a baby next door but they moved us and understanding that it wasn't what we wanted from our weekend away. The rooms are very large and clean. We had room service which was very good and arrived quickly. We will be going back

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to post a comment on the forum. I was pleased to hear that after your first room which you felt was not suitable our Reception team were able to accommodate you both elsewhere. We are always more than happy to assist in any way that we can in order to make your stay an enjoyable and quiet one. It was good to read you took advantage of the room service, a little luxury we like to offer! It will be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

The Headland Hotel occupies a superb location overlooking the Atlantic Ocean and our Ocean View room took full advantage where we watched huge waves crashing onto the beach and cliffs nearby. Based on room photos we were expecting a slightly larger room but as we had a dog we were probably given the particular room we had (based on the slightly dirty looking carpet); it was adequate for our 2 night stay. The food from the restaurant was very good but disappointing to have to eat our evening meal in the Terrace Restaurant due to low hotel occupancy. Having breakfast in the restaurant was well worth it. Lovely friendly staff and very comfortable public rooms. Maybe not our type of hotel as we think we prefer smaller and more intimate but a lovely big hotel never the less. The £15 per night dog charge seems a high by comparison to a lot of hotels we stay at where there is no charge.

Room Tip: Get a room with a full view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ExmoorRamblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for taking time to post a review. It was very nice to hear you were so pleased with the view from the room. However, I was sorry to read that you felt the room was smaller than expected. We have a selection of rooms that are the same grade. Their shape and size varies according to their location around the Hotel. For instance, a room on the corner may be more spacious than a room with a single aspect.
All our rooms are cleaned every day and I was surprised to read that you felt the carpet was unclean. I appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention. I would also be very interested to know which room you stayed in so that we can check this room. If you would like to write in to me separately it would most appreciated.
The charge we have for dogs is an additional charge which we feel is relative to the price of the stay. I was happy to read your comments on the quality of food in our Restaurant and Terrace. I understand that you were asked to dine in the Terrace for your evening meal as opposed to the Restaurant. In our low season we do encourage guests to eat in the Terrace when we do not have full occupancy.
Thank you again for your comments and I hope that we can welcome you again to the Headland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Just back from a few days at the Headland hotel for the first time and i have to say it is a really unique treat. We have stayed in high quality hotels around the world but never where we could also take our two dogs.

The Headland is a very good hotel on its own merits but add in a completely welcoming approach to our doggy friends and its hard to beat.

Literally on Fistral beach, a true force of nature in winter , beautiful public rooms , two very good restaurants , exceptionally comfortable rooms and overall stylish decor , you have to pinch yourself that you have just come off the beach with a true water dog in a chocolate lab and a very high spirited Greyhound Saluki cross add in a 14 year old boy and still we had three excellent days.

We went for the DBB package in a family suite , rom 110 to be specific and it was perfect , lots of room a very sophisticated bathroom and even rugs and dog chews. The dogs were allowed everywhere except the restaurant , even in the lounge to share our cream tea.

Try it and do take the dogs , they had a brilliant time as did we.

Room Tip: Room 101n ig good but maybe not the best sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ricky123Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing a lovely review with us and for giving such a wonderful insight in to how well we cater for all members of the family, including your furry friend of course! It has been a truly glorious day here in Cornwall, wonderful clear sunny skies, glassy waves and as yet, not a flake of snow this year! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon, best wishes from everyone here at The Headland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shaldon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

we have just stayed at the headland hotel and loved it the staff are without
exception very friendly and helpful the food first class the rooms very
comfortable the whole hotel is everything you could wish for 10/10
headland well done

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Well, this is a truly wonderful review, thank you very much. We believe that our staff are a huge part of our success and this is a very strong endorsement and a true credit to them, additionally I am delighted to read our score of 10/10, we can hardly ask for more! I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back; after all there will be a very beautiful spa to experience next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

The Headland Hotel is simply my familys favourite place in the whole world. My husband and I got married there in 2004 and have been back many many times since. My children now love it and consider it their second home! The staff are friendly, the rooms are amazing and the food is even better. From the crackling fire to the relaxing atmosphere to the brand new and amazing spa. I love it. 6 sleeps till we are back there again. ahhhhh feeling more relaxed already. We have stayed in all the types of room, the suites and the cottages and they are all fantastic. The last time was a sneaky one nighter in October that left us wanting more.....

Room Tip: Its worth paying extra for a view - they are incredible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nat7878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your most welcome review, this kind of reading enables all of us at the Hotel a real sense of pride in what they do, and how they perform. It is also most rewarding that we continue to deliver such memorable holiday experiences, after all time is so valuable and family breaks must be enjoyed to their full! Best wishes from all at The Headland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
10.9 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 6 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
0.9 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay

Property: The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Address: Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1EW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newquay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#3 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#3 Family Hotel in Newquay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newquay's original 4* hotel and 5* cottages, surrounded on three sides by the sea. With stunning views of Fistral Beach, the Atlantic Ocean and Newquay Bay, this is your perfect beachside escape. Families, surfers, businessmen, couples - everyone is made to feel at home. Don't forget you can also bring your dog! Our stunning Leisure Area is complimentary for Hotel and Cottage guests to use. Facilities include a heated spa pool with bubble seats and a jet stream, hot tub, aromatherapy showers, Swedish sauna and Cornish salt steam room.The Headland Spa, Cornwall's first five bubble rated Spa, includes a host of exciting features including a robed dining area and relaxation lounge, a nail salon for manicures and pedicures, a Rhassoul mud chamber, St. Tropez tanning room, a hydrotherapy bath and a suite of luxury treatment rooms including a VIP suite for exclusive use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Newquay
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing