We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for two nights last week. It was a present from my Mum for hubby's 60th. We have been coming to Newquay for about 30 years and never thought we would ever get to stay here. We had an ocean view room over looking Little Fistral on the top floor. Lovely comfy bed and nice powerful shower. The dinner on both nights was superb a cooked to perfection. Enjoyed a few drinks in the relaxing lounge on the first night and watched the football in a little side lounge on the second night, still enjoying a couple of drinks. Didn't use the spa, maybe next time. Would love to go back and maybe try the cottages next time. Would definately recommend a stay here nothing is too much trouble, the staff are excellent.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Windsorian50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
What a lovely present to receive in the first instance, and then just fantastic that your special celebratory stay was the success you would have wished for? The views from the third floor ocean rooms are really amazing, quite contemporary as well, but very snug being double glazed.
I will of course ensure the kitchen brigade is made aware of your positive thoughts and enjoyment of the food served during your stay. Please do come back and see us next year, you will be unlikely however to resist the special treatments we are currently planning!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,337
    696
    206
    66
    55
See reviews for
951
1,621
78
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (907)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This hotel really does deserve its 4 stars, but offers value for money too, particularly if you pick a deal to suit your stay. We booked through Hotels.Com and upgraded with the hotel, where the staff could not have been more helpful. Unless you have stayed there we suggect you investigate the difference between ocean and bay view rooms. We think the ocean side views are worth the extra, although the inland or bay views are still fine - the cranes on the building sites being at a sufficient distance. Our 3rd floor room was modern, comfortable and well equipped. We were grateful for the lack of signs about laundry etc and the building work to add a spa and perimeter wall on the ocean side of the hotel were not too obtrusive.
The hotel offers a "modern Victorian" decor, maintained to a superb standard although what the visitors of old would make of today's dress codes beggars belief. The indoor pool complex is outstanding, albeit small relatively to the number of rooms and is shared by those staying in the adjoining complex of "cottages".
The staff are what lifts a very good hotel to "excellent". Nearly all of those we encountered were genuinely friendly and keen to help in any way possible. The log fires in the evening added to our comfort in late October.
We also enjoyed our dining in the restaurant. It was great to find hogs pudding (a Cornish delicacy) still available from the buffet breakfast perhaps 10 years since our last visit. Dinner also provided a good and creative choice (even without the a la carte options). Our only critisism would be that the menu appears to recycle, as we noticed some familiar dishes coming back on our departure day after a 3 night stay.

Room Tip: Go for the Ocean View rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roganroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for rating us excellent in so many respects, I am delighted to read your wonderful review and one that would appear to reflect a great stay.

We are very fortunate to have room categories with wide ranging aspects and therefore pricing. We believe we offer value for money and it is reassuring that our guests genuinely feel similarly.
Whilst our guests are able to choose numerous methods to reserve rooms at The Headland, I should like to mention, that we would never knowingly be more expensive than any of our third party partners, in fact very much on the contrary. Please do not hesitate to reserve your requirements direct with our reservations team in the future if you so wish.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and hope you will do so once again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyland, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed in one of the hotels cottgaes last week. From start to finish the whole experience was excellent! We checked in at the hotel reception and instantly felt welcome. The cottage had stunning views over looking the sea - we couldn't think of a better way to relax for the week. The cottage itself was beautifully decorated throughout and very well equipped. During our stay we ate in the main hotel (The Terrace Restaurant) and the food was fantastic. It's an ideal location and we would highly recommend it to anyone that is thinking of staying here. The staff are always smiling and helpful, infact they all look honoured to be working there which isn't surprising! This is a must stay and we will be back again next year. Thank you to all the staff that made our stay so fantastic! Alison & Katie.

Room Tip: The website allows you to choose which cottage you want and where they are located on the map.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Benny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Katie and Alison, thank you so much for the recent review after staying in one of The Headland Cottages. You clearly had a great time whilst you were with us, and I am delighted that you also had an enjoyable experience whilst dining in The Terrace.

We have a wonderful team working throughout The Headland, some of which are never seen by the guest. We are very proud of the quality service that they deliver on a daily basis, and like you rightly point out, all done with the all important smile!

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed at the Headland Cottages on our honeymoon in 2010 and have to say we couldn't have chosen a better place. The cottage was stunning and with easy access to the hotels facilities we couldn't have wanted more.

We have already recommended the cottages to friends and will continue to do so, I just hope we can get back there soon.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShuH74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you so much for choosing to stay at The Headland for such a special occasion, I hope that you will take with you some wonderful memories of your time in Cornwall, cherishing them for a very long time to come.
You have posted a lovely endorsement for us, thank you very much, and on behalf of the whole team here, please accept my very best wishes for your future happiness together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Good hotel and well situated for accessing Newquay and fistral beach. The spa and lounge areas are excellent and the rooms are to a good standard (some small imperfections for a hotel claiming to be 4 stars). We paid for an ocean room, which was lovely, but due to the time of year the wind and rain was quite loud at night against the window.

The pool, steam room and sauna are finished to a high standard and were very enjoyable.

Breakfast was a full buffet and was very tasty. Drinks from the bar were well priced but perhaps better value for money for dinner could be found elsewhere.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Fimckay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
I very much appreciate your posting and I am pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay with us, finding time to experience our sparkly new Wellness Area is surely a must? I hope that you will choose to return next year and to enjoy the full Headland Spa facility;I ma pleases to say that this is shaping up magnificently and on currently on schedule!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Well what a fantastic time , the room was incredible , the views amazing and this place just takes you away to somewhere special and relaxing, it's quite strange as you drive down the long driveway to the incredible imposing hotel it really is like your getting away to an exclusive place whilst the hotel dominates the Newquay skyline. The staff are friendly yet proffesional and the food was exceptional. We will certainly be going back very very soon.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at The Headland and I imagine that the first impressions of such a building (not to mention the location) that meet your eyes for the first time are truly glorious. We are very proud of the experience and service which unfolds beyond those very splendid revolving doors at the front entrance, and I am delighted that you found this to be the case as the guest. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I hope we shall have the opportunity to welcome you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

My husband & I are currently staying in a Headland cottage for our wedding anniversary. We chose a cottage to give us & our dog a bit more 'freedom' & privacy. What a wonderful place this is proving to be. We come to Newquay/Crantock every year have done since we first met & have always admired The Headland Hotel but felt the cottages where more 'us'. Upon arrival lovely Adam on reception showed us round the hotel & it's facilities then showed us to our one bedroom cottage & showed us what we needed to know in there. He offered to help us with our bags but I felt we could manage ourselves but used one of the little wicker trollies to carry them to our retreat.

The cottage-WOW!! Attention to detail is everything, so beautifully decorated. Despite it being so windy outside once your in the cottage you can't hear a thing it's so quiet. It has every 'mod con' & every piece of kitchen equipment you need. Everywhere is very clean & when we entered the cottage it had a lovely smell, even though these cottages are 'dog friendly'. The bathroom is spacious with a powerful shower & the bedroom with its four poster bed is decorated in 'seaside' fresh colours with white crisp linen & a feather duvet. The bed is extremely comfortable, perfect after a long day with lots of walking. The view from 'Waterside 4' are the best, I'm just watching the sun set as I write this & before I was lucky to capture a full rainbow from the deck area with my camera (bring your camera you will need it!)

It's the little touches like a courtesy call to make sure everything is ok & an anniversary card off the hotel plus a blanket, treats & poo bags for the dog that make it even more special. I would also highly recommend a Trevilley Farm hamper which can be ordered with for your arrival at the cottage. It has all your essentials plus a few treats & is well worth it, you can find a link on the Headland home page. I could write more & more but ill stop now & finish by saying YOU HAVE GOT TO COME!!'

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Flossy42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you very much for such a wonderful review, following your recent stay your recent stay in Waterside 4 when you were also celebrating your wedding anniversary; If I may say what a very popular choice of Cottage you made!
It would seem as though you were able to enjoy some very special quality time whilst you were with us, and your summing up is just the environment we strive to deliver for guests who choose The Headland.
I will ensure that Adam is made aware of his mention and additionally I am sure he will want to pass on your recommendation of the beautifully Cornish hamper, produced by Trevilley Farm, and that was awaiting your impending arrival! Please accept my very best wishes from the Headland team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
1,002 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
849 reviews
22.5 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay

Property: The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Address: Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1EW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newquay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newquay
#3 Family Hotel in Newquay
#4 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newquay's original 4* hotel and 5* cottages, surrounded on three sides by the sea. With stunning views of Fistral Beach, the Atlantic Ocean and Newquay Bay, this is your perfect beachside escape. Families, surfers, businessmen, couples - everyone is made to feel at home. Don't forget you can also bring your dog! Our stunning Leisure Area is complimentary for Hotel and Cottage guests to use. Facilities include a heated spa pool with bubble seats and a jet stream, hot tub, aromatherapy showers, Swedish sauna and Cornish salt steam room.The Headland Spa, Cornwall's first five bubble rated Spa, includes a host of exciting features including a robed dining area and relaxation lounge, a nail salon for manicures and pedicures, a Rhassoul mud chamber, St. Tropez tanning room, a hydrotherapy bath and a suite of luxury treatment rooms including a VIP suite for exclusive use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Newquay
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing