We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with lovely views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed one night, the hotel setting is lovely and spectacular views of the sea, it is worth paying extra for sea view rooms, the rooms themselves were ok, I have seen better at other luxury hotels and the bathroom was basic, the communal areas were really nice and staff very friendly. We were there for a meeting and Claire was very helpful. The breakfast was very good.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank 27steve118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

. Thank you for giving your positive feedback following your recent overnight stay with us. It would be hard not to agree with you regarding making the choice to occupy a sea view room due to the uninterrupted, jaw dropping views of the Atlantic from so many of our bedrooms. Thank fully with so many categories of room on offer enables us to be able to accommodate the majority of those who would also like to enjoy The Headland experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,546)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,836 - 2,842 of 3,546 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

A first time visit for myself and a wonderful 3 night stay in what can only be described as living in the lap of luxury.

the rooms were to a high standard and the staff couldn't be anymore helpful or friendly. they were all so nice . Excellent service from all involved. Hats off to all the staff not only on the reception, but John in the main dining room. The food is of the highest quality and he ensured that everyone's needs were met.
The Headland Hotel a stay that I will never forget.

We will be back in February 2013 ...... see you then!

Room Tip: all rooms are quiet but if you want a view book a Fistral suite or Best room they both have the ulti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samantha r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Thank you very much for complimenting us on what was clearly a very enjoyable stay for you. I will ensure that John ,our assistant restaurant manager is aware of his mention by you, and look forward to welcoming you back in 2013 ;a very exciting year as we prepare to launch the Headland Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

If you've never been to Newquay before, see it at its best, through one of the many (grade two listed windows) at the majestic Headland Hotel.

A family run hotel which is big enough to have all the amenities and small enough to know who you are at reception.

Very friendly, competent, polite staff. Good quality food, very clean and a historic romantic setting on what must be one of the most beautiful seashores in Britain.

Room Tip: Ask reception for 'the best available' in your chosen price range as the staff want you to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shirley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

I was delighted to read your wonderful summing up of our beautiful Hotel, and here at The Headland, we would all like to agree with you! Thank you for visiting and hope you will decide to return again in the not too distant future.Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Visited the Headland Hotel for afternoon tea in August while visiting my family who live on Pentire.
Excellent service and the food is amazing especially the cream tea.
The Boardmasters Comp was on at the time and the views across the headland and beyond are I think one of the best in the world.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cleo00-39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Thank you very much for your kind feedback following your visit for afternoon tea at The Headland. I hope that you will come back to see us nearer to Christmas, when we will have all of our beautifully illuminated and decorated trees and decorations around.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My wife and I and our Black Labrador Jack visited the Headland Hotel on several occasions during our two week stay in Newquay and were so impressed I felt I should share our experience. We did not stay at the Hotel and just fancied visiting for a drink but were not sure if they catered for non-residents and dogs. However, we should not have worrie, we were made very welcome and spent many happy hours on the Terrace overlooking Fistral Beach. The staff were superb and made us feel very welcome, inparticular our dog Jack who enjoyed his visits as he got fresh water and treats on each occasion. They even allow dogs inside the hotel in the lounge and bars which was very welcome when the weather was not so good. During our second week we had some relations staying with one having specific dietary requirements (Coeliac which requires a Gluten Free diet) and we were very impressed how the hotel was able to cater for Coeliacs. We ate in the Terrace Restaurant and the staff were all aware of and able to cater for a Gluten Free diet. The Hotel even did Gluten Free scones so Cream Tea's are also available...we were very impressed. Absolutely wonderful, we will certainly be visiting again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyDE11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your experience of The Terrace Restaurant at The Headland. I am very delighted that you found the Hotel to be both welcoming and accommodating both towards yourselves as well as your Labrador, Jack! We do strive to be as inclusive and as flexible as possible; after all, our Hotel is far reaching to a wide range of guests and their individual needs.
Thank you for visiting and do hope that you may consider staying with us if you back to Newquay. Just to inform you that The Terrace is open all day, every day, from morning coffee through to late suppers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Have recently returned from a stay at the Headland for my lovely Nephew's wedding. What a wonderful experience! Had never been to a civil wedding ceremony before, but have to say that I was well impressed. The hotel staff were very friendly and attentive, and absolutely nothing was too much trouble - they even had to move a piano from the dining room to the function room for us, no worries! Food, restaurant, views all marvellous. We had a courtyard room, really nice, acres of space! Yes, it would have been nice to have a sea view, but we were not in our room very much, we were too busy enjoying ourselves in the main part of the hotel and also the excellent Spa to miss the view. Thankyou Headland!

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms good value and very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review, it is very much appreciated. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the occasion of your nephew's civil wedding ceremony and the celebrating that followed thereafter. The Headland has a truly wonderful position and one that holds some very fond memories for those who have in the past chosen to 'tie the knot' or a number of other special life marking occasions. I quite agree with you regarding the quietness of our Courtyard rooms (especially during a storm!) they are perfect when you are only likely to spend a limited period of time away from the party and represent fantastic value for money. As you would have experienced, all the public rooms on the ground floor all have great views anyway, look forward to welcoming you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

My husband booked a surprise 5 night stay at the Headland and I was so excited as we had our wedding ceremony there back in 2000, but couldnt afford to stay at that time

I had been chatting through their Twitter feed to someone unknown and informed them that we were coming for my 50th birthday. They told me they would make it special from the moment I arrived, but werent actually specific about how, but this was a lovely thing to look forward to. Now I know the Headland is a huge expanse of an estate , but i would have though they would take more notice of their promises.

On arrival the receptionists were quite informal in their immaculate tartan styled attire. No smiles, and we dutifully handed over our money. We were shown to our room and left alone, apart from an internal call 10 minutes later to ask if there was anything we required. Apart from this call, we were never contacted again over the next 5 days.

For the (approx) £700 my husband paid we were allocated a (sea-view) room which measured aproximately 12' x 12' with an en-suite bathroom attached. To be honest you couldnt swing a cat and the minimal view of the sea was through a window, smaller than my own lounge. Least to say we didnt spend much time in there and luckily the weather for that week was wonderful. A room with a view over Fistral Beach was much more expensive.

The only saving grace for this hotel was the breakfast, which had an outstanding choice and set in the beautiful ballroon overlooking the ocean. Yet again this was marred by the building site directly outside the panoramic window and the digger and JCB passing regularly through our view.

From looking at the plans for the improvements for the hotel, the place seems to be steering towards businesses and conferences and further away from the family orientation it used to be (the childrens play area has disappeared too). I truly believe a family couldnt possibly afford to stay there for any length of time.

As for the special treatment, what ever they might have had in mind, never materialised. No one spoke to us except the polite chap who showed us to our table in the morning. We were just a number as far as they were concerned

We (as a family) have been coming to Newquay for the past 15 years, and will continue to stay in our regular hotel, Cotehele Lodge on Tower Road. Clean, friendly, large suite and nothing too much trouble

If I were minted I wouldnt stay at the Headland again

Room Tip: Be specific as to the room you want. Just a 'sea-view' could put you anywhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Seaslave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

I am very sorry to read this review following your stay with us in May of this year, even more so due to the fact that it was on your 50th birthday, and having trusted The Headland to look after you both on your special day 10 years ago. As a Hotel our entire team constantly strive to deliver above expectations in all respects, this can be seen in all but a very few reviews and so this posting is particularly disappointing. I would like to make contact with you personally in the next few days so that we can discuss your stay in more detail.
In the interests of this particular forum however, I feel it is appropriate to comment on a number of factors in relation to your stay. It would appear that you chose to make your reservation through a third party booking site, and it would seem that we weren’t made aware of your special occasion and certainly there is not any mention on this on our booking profile. Our own reservationists are expected to ask whether couples or families are celebrating a particular occasion during their stay with us whilst on the telephone. Where this is information is known, it is our intention to recognise this accordingly, and as a minimum an appropriate greeting or welcome card would be handwritten and placed in the bedroom prior to the guest’s arrival.
With regards to the room you reserved at The Headland, this is classed as a Coastal View room, and placed above our internal Courtyard rooms but below our Ocean view rooms; they are defined as having a number of possible outlooks including ‘towards the countryside and Newquay Bay Coastline’.
During your stay we were completing phase one of our future development plan, in essence this included a beautiful new indoor pool with water fall features and jets, as well as a Wellness area for our guests to enjoy over the coming years. Additionally this encompassed a brand new surf school facility ‘Surfing is Therapy’ which is owned and run by Ben Riding, many of our regular families will know him from their surf lessons or coasteering sessions. We are now delighted to be constructing an extensive spa and ‘state of the art’ gym. We feel extremely confident that our leisure guests, of who will always be our core market, will particularly enjoy this area, and that it will very much be a defining moment of their time with us. With regards to the Children’s play area, this was re-opened for the summer holidays but is currently re locating once again, now that we are outside of the school holidays.
In the meantime, my apologies that your stay was not as enjoyable as you would have intended, but I do hope to have the opportunity to discuss with you in more detail.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,024 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
16.8 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,595 reviews
0.9 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay

Address: Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1EW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newquay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newquay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#3 Family Hotel in Newquay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#4 Spa Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: $137 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newquay's original 4* hotel and 5* cottages, surrounded on three sides by the sea. With stunning views of Fistral Beach, the Atlantic Ocean and Newquay Bay, this is your perfect beachside escape. Families, surfers, businessmen, couples - everyone is made to feel at home. Don't forget you can also bring your dog! Our stunning Leisure Area is complimentary for Hotel and Cottage guests to use. Facilities include a heated spa pool with bubble seats and a jet stream, hot tub, aromatherapy showers, Swedish sauna and Cornish salt steam room.The Headland Spa, Cornwall's first five bubble rated Spa, includes a host of exciting features including a robed dining area and relaxation lounge, a nail salon for manicures and pedicures, a Rhassoul mud chamber, St. Tropez tanning room, a hydrotherapy bath and a suite of luxury treatment rooms including a VIP suite for exclusive use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Newquay
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing