We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2011

We stayed at the Headland for two nights in August , We had their most expensive room, the best suite, 210
The views from the room were beautiful, full sea views, and we had the advantage of a balcony which had a table and chairs which were brilliant for enjoying early morning cuppas and surveying the waves! There were two patio style windows to enjoy the wonderful panaroma from.

The bed was very comfortable and tea making fascilities good. There was a dressing table and mirror.

The room had a separate lounge area with large flat screen TV and DVD, There was a settee and two armchairs which werent matching but that's what I liked, the individuality and taste. There was also a fire place/surround with electric fire.
Fresh fruit and new magazines were in the room, and I also liked the inclusion of a tartan picnic rug!

The bathroom had a window over looking the village and to the sea beyond. The shower was very good. I felt that this was not one of the newly decorated bathrooms but it was sill absolutely fine and very large and spotless. There was a separate lavatory.

The suite was very clean and spacious and done out in an old fashioned charm. That is what should be expected of a hotel of this vintage, the Victorian elegance is so enjoyable and beautifully kept and should be, we think it would be detrimental to turn all of this establishment into a 'boutique style' hotel, so if you like that kind of atmosphere then maybe you should look at staying else where.

The Headland seems to excel at old fashioned charm and service. We found all the staff welcoming, professional and very friendly and everything was done with a smile.

The public rooms offered a similar atmosphere, elegant and inviting. There is an area by the bar which is more modern in decoration which is absolutely fine but I hope is not extended through out the whole hotel, as I dont think it would be in keeping with the grand fascade to include too much modernity!

We hope they keep the wonderful original style!

We loved looking at the room with the vintage photo's and press cuttings from the hotel in days gone by. It made you appreciate the history of the place.

We ate only in the main restuarant although we did order a full cream tea to our room which was delicious and served with great warmth from the staff members. Indeed we found all the staff were very oblidging, and nothing seemed too much trouble for them.
The meals in the main restaurant were beautifully presented and cooked to perfection. My only slight negative comment was that the inclusion of more meat dishes on the menu would make the experience even more enjoyable. There was a large amount of sea food, which could prove a problem if you dont enjoy fish! There was also only one vegaterian meal offered.
But overall I would reccomend eating in the main dining room which also offers amazing views.

The breakfast was good with lots of choice with a buffet style serve yourself option . There was also a cooked order option which offered a varied selection. The Eggs Benedict comes highly reccomended!

The hotel is in a enviable position being so close to the sea. Bracing cliff walks and the beach are on your doorstep.
The out door pool looked very inviting. I would love to see what the new indoor swimming pool complex will be like when it is completed.
We can only go by our experience but I can highly recommend staying at the Headland. It seems well run and offers great charm and elegance and I hope that it retains these qualities.

So well done to all the managers, and staff for making our stay very enjoyable.

We will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a full sea view!
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank milothemonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,461)
There are newer reviews for The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,940 - 2,946 of 3,462 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2011

After an excellant stay in September 2011 we went back this year, staying in the same "Best Room" 330. The room/bathroom which had been newly refurbished last year was still in good condition. One of the best hotel bathrooms ever - sit in the bath and watch the surfers! However could not turn the underfloor heating down in the bathroom.

Unfortunately the restaurant was not as good as before. There were no staff that we recognised.from the previous year.
The breakfast had a touch of Fawlty Towers about it. We ordered from the a la carte menu 4 days and on 3 of those did not get what we ordered. Staff very reluctant to remove dirty plates.
Dinner was eratic. Some nights we were rushed through 3 courses in not much more than an hour other nights took almost 2 hours. Quality was OK but not memorable except for indigestion on more than one night.. Staff struggled when they had a function and a coachtrip staying for dinner.
They have started building work on a development on the coast side of the hotel which I hope does not detract from the Headlands prime location.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PJJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

The Headland scores highly on many fronts (fantastic staff, brilliant location and the wonderful air of calm). However, two fundamentals were simply not right and bring my score down from five to three stars:

THE BED. The double bed we had in our expensive Ocean View room (no 206) was absolutely awful, so hard and ungiving and extremely uncomfortable. After two nights I was crippled, aching all over and with a dreadfully stiff back - so I asked for a mattress topper. This was made of fabric, not foam and gave only marginal help. I suffered for three more nights and frankly couldn't wait to move on to our next destination.
Our next hotel was a simple £29-a-night Premier Inn at Thatcham, near Reading - and the bed was a hundred times better than the one in our circa £200 a night room at the Headland. I awoke relaxed and refreshed at the Premier Inn and my Headland aches and pains were almost gone. I expect a much better night's sleep in an expensive four-star hotel.

THE FOOD: Breakfast was first class - five-star for quality and choice, with the Eggs Benedict outstanding. Cheery waiting staff and the sensational ocean views all added to the start of each day.
There's also a good wine list and the hotel boasts some creative, imaginitive chefs. However, we found that the £32 three-course dinner with coffee in the main restaurant was very hit and miss. We had some delightful meals and some indifferent ones.
Starters and puddings were generally good and some had the wow factor. However, main courses on the evening menu comprised mainly fish main courses, with one meat and one vegetarian option each night. There was a fillet steak option - but this commanded a £6.50 supplement; local lobster was a whopping £20 extra! We do enjoy fish, but we felt the lack of meat options very limiting.
My wife and I don't have huge appetites, but we found main course fish portion sizes extremely disappointing - if you were lucky you were served two tiny pieces, if you were unlucky, you received one. It was THAT hit and miss. Nice presentation, some tasty sauces and accompaniments - but fish portions unnecessarily mean.

A good supper and a good night's sleep are fundamentals to an enjoyable stay. The Headland was lacking on both fronts for our long-cherished wedding anniversary visit. Such a shame.

Room Tip: Go for the newly renovted Fistral View rooms. Dearer than Ocean View (which we had) with a fabulous...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeniaKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHeadlandHotel, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. I have passed on your comments about the ‘fantastic staff’ to the whole team, who were delighted. I am delighted that we managed to upgrade your room from a Coastal View to an Ocean View for your anniversary.

I am so terribly sorry that you did not like the bed in room 206. It was a new mattress, put into the room earlier this year; plus we are rather confused at the description you gave of the ‘fabric mattress topper’ that was apparently provided at your request. We have large feather down mattress toppers and memory foam mattress toppers available, and we will gladly make a bed to an individual guest’s personal configuration if the mattress is too firm. (Indeed some find our mattresses too soft, and we provide bed boards to firm them up). If the mattress/bed is still not to your satisfaction, we will offer to replace the bed entirely, or give you another room – we really do want every guest to have a perfectly comfortable night’s sleep. We believe it is an essential to a good holiday!

I am sorry that you did not enjoy the menu in the Restaurant. Previously we have offered more meat dishes and less fish dishes on the menus, but we received overwhelming feedback from our guests that people visiting a sea-side hotel are expecting to be able to eat seafood. We offer a daily changing menu, that includes a choice of five starters (one/two fish based, two meat based, one/two vegetarian), followed by six main courses (two fish based, two meat based, one vegetarian, and lobster). However, Chef and his team are very happy to make up a simple alternative dish if requested. We would love to offer lobster at a lower price, however, the fresh lobster from Newquay Harbour is more expensive than frozen bought in lobsters that many places serve, which is reflected in the price given. We believe the local delicacy is what our guests expect! I will ensure that our Purchasing Manager checks that we are offering the best value we can though.

I will certainly ask Chef to review the fish portion sizes, as I can imagine your disappointment if you were served a meager portion of delicious locally-caught fish.

If you choose to visit The Headland again, please do contact us directly rather than booking via Expedia, as we would be delighted to ensure you have a room, a bed and a menu that is perfect for your requirements – indeed we suggest to all guests that contacting us directly means we can help arrange the perfect stay for all individual requirements.

Best wishes

Veryan Armstrong, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Having had a wonderful holiday last year at the Headland Hotel Newquay we decided to go again and were welcomed backas members of the family! Service , food etc. were even better -if that's possible. We did not move the car for the whole week as all facilities needed are to be found at the hotel and the amazing Fistral beach - the surfing centre of the world!
To explore further afield you can hire the Tuxi- a moterised rickshaw and be part of the vibrant Newquay tourist scene.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank InvictusKingsLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Great location - 10/10 for that

The Fistral facing rooms are good (more nicely done up than Ocean ones in same category from what we saw) - esp on first floor with high ceilings. Bathrooms nice, though fittings/tiles seem low quality.

Nice cakes from cafe. Lovely (though slow) service there.

However, this hotel nearly got a 3 star rating from me.

Why?
- Staff are willing - though service is a bit sluggish and chatoric at times.
- food could be better (breakfast, in restuarant in evening)
- public spaces are largely a bit shaby (other than part of bar)
- the set up with cottages/wire fences is a bit weird
- bed and pillows not comfortable (two parts of bed not same height and not joined with nice topper)
- only one local beer, and no local wines
- not top notch fittings and service (maybe yet)

Should improve with renovation going on.

Room Tip: Fistral room - try 124
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HadP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHeadlandHotel, General Manager at The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2011

Thank you for writing a review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to learn that you think our Fistral View rooms are ‘good’ – we did a very extensive renovation project on all the Fistral View rooms last year, and we are very proud of the result. I was surprised to read that you thought the bathrooms fittings seem low quality, as our bathroom supplier informed us we have the same fittings that the newly renovated 5* Savoy Hotel in London has!

We would love to wave a magic wand and have the entire hotel in a perfect state of condition and repair, however, the occasional battles we have with our beautiful but high maintenance building (and trying not to disturb our guests too much!) means that all renovation work is on-going each year. This winter when we are closed in January/early February we are embarking on an extensive redecoration in the public areas and Restaurant, including new squishy sofas and chairs etc. I hope that if you choose to visit again next year, they might meet with your approval.

We are attempting to grow some lovely prickly (and nice to look at) gorse between the cottages and the South West Coastal Footpath that runs below them, however, without a little help from some fencing, it does tend to get trampled on. As soon as we have a nice thick natural fence we will remove the artificial fencing – we need some good wet Autumns and not too many winter storms.

We have tried repeatedly to have some of the delicious local wines available on our wine list (Camel Valley, Polgoon etc), however, many guests are evidently not an enlightened as you to the wonderful array and flavours available, and we unfortunately subsequently serve very little and throw much away. We are a very proud Cornish hotel, and would be delighted to have an extensive list of local beverages, but it simply is not business sense to do so.
I do hope you will chose to visit again in the future, and that you will see we are continuously trying to improve to make our wonderful hotel as perfect as possible.

Kind regards

Veryan Armstrong, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We had an ocean view room on the 3rd floor for 3 nights and enjoyed our stay very much.
Staff were obliging and friendly. Dinner and breakfast were excellent. I am not a fan of cooked buffet style breakfasts, but this one was fine.
Bar person was under pressure at times and glasses and tea cups were not tidied away that swiftly, however this was a small inconvenience and our overall stay was most enjoyable and good value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ironmanOxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

The Headland Hotel was an ideal setting for a family vacation for two boys, one teen and one pre-teen, and their grandparents. We chose it because it met our key requirements, near a beach, in a town, with an indoor pool, and included a full English breakfast. Warning - it is pricey but well worth it!

Its setting on a headland next to a premier UK surfing beach meant that there was always something to see or to do, while the indoor pool was a huge hit with our boys. The sauna (we didn't let the younger one use that) and the not-too-hot whirlpool added to the fun of having a pool so easily accessible. We could have enjoyed an outdoor heated pool too, but the relatively cool temperatures meant that was less of a draw. We also could explore Fistral Beach and the coastal pathway, though the latter appealed less to our grandsons.

We had booked a Coastal Family Suite, which meant a bathroom and two bedrooms. Ours had a lovely bed, wardrobe, flat screen TV, desk and desk chair, easy chair, and all the coffee/hot chocolate service. Theirs had nice wooden bunk beds, a sofa, and their own flat screen TV (the other big attraction).

We ate lavish breakfasts each morning, with an expansive buffet and could also order from the menu. I enjoyed the Eggs Benedict several times but everything was good. Twice, just to make life easy, we ate in the casual restaurant, where we had excellent meals. We didn't try the dining room for dinner the other night, but ate in a great pub in Newquary.

The hotel is a short walk from shops, restaurants, and attractions in Newquay, and many folks were walking between town and beach every time we went, including lots of surfers. We've heard Newquay can be a bit of a wild town at night, but didn't have any sign of that on our sorties into town.

The hotel staff were superb, helpful and responsive, whether we wanted an icepack for a banged head or anything else we threw at them. The hotel even offered activities on two days we were there - laser guns (looked quite violents but the preteen enjoy it tremendously - I won't tell his pacifist monther) and archery (which both boys enthusiastically practiced). Great leaders of those activities too.

I heartily recommend the Headland Hotel for famly holidays!

Room Tip: We liked the coastal view - you could see the sea but didn't pay quite as much as a seaview.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,016 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
16.8 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,576 reviews
0.9 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay

Address: Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1EW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newquay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#3 Family Hotel in Newquay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#4 Spa Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: $164 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newquay's original 4* hotel and 5* cottages, surrounded on three sides by the sea. With stunning views of Fistral Beach, the Atlantic Ocean and Newquay Bay, this is your perfect beachside escape. Families, surfers, businessmen, couples - everyone is made to feel at home. Don't forget you can also bring your dog! Our stunning Leisure Area is complimentary for Hotel and Cottage guests to use. Facilities include a heated spa pool with bubble seats and a jet stream, hot tub, aromatherapy showers, Swedish sauna and Cornish salt steam room.The Headland Spa, Cornwall's first five bubble rated Spa, includes a host of exciting features including a robed dining area and relaxation lounge, a nail salon for manicures and pedicures, a Rhassoul mud chamber, St. Tropez tanning room, a hydrotherapy bath and a suite of luxury treatment rooms including a VIP suite for exclusive use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Newquay
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing