We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location - the great weather helped!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carvynick Country Cottages
Ranked #41 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Newquay
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent location - the great weather helped!”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We have just returned from a week at Carvynick, we had a lovely week - very luckywith the weather so that helped. We stayed in Cottage no 8 which was spacious with lovely views from the conservatory onto the golf course. Our two boys played football and cricket on the grass (which you can do when no one is golfing), this was ideal on an evening. Enjoyed the pool and hot tub (no charges for that by the way) We visited a lot of different places - St Ives, Padstow, St Agnes to name a few - what a beautiful part of the country. The on site pub and restaurant being closed was a big disappointment, the only place to have a drink on an evening is a pub 15 mins walk away which doesn't have a play area. We had fish and chips on site on the Thursday evening (a van that comes in with the restaurant been closed.) Overall if the pub/restaurant had been open it would have been perfect. Rated service terrible because we were not notified at the time of booking that the restaurant was closed.

Room Tip: Cottage no 8 with views over the golf course was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna36_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    22
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
19
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We have just returned from a week's timeshare exchange at Carvynick through RCI and I have a mixed view of the place. Whilst excellently located for both north and south coasts of Cornwall and fantastically close to some of the kid-friendly attractions, notably 'Dairyland', which is excellent, the standard of the accommodation itself is somewhat disappointing for a timeshare property. We stayed with our young son in one of the two bedroom cottages on site. I agree with the previous reviews stating that the cottage smells a bit damp and is very dark and gloomy downstairs. It was impossible to dry anything, including towels in the rooms and the curtains are so thin that sleep beyond 5am was impossible without wedging towels into the windows to try and block out some light. Parents of small children, be sure to take your own blackout blind if going to Carvynick in summer!

The pool area is a great bonus and very well maintained.

My biggest gripe with our stay is that the management failed to inform us in advance that the onsite restaurant is currently closed and has been for two months following a fire. Whilst the fire is unavoidable, this restaurant is the ONLY option for eating out if you're staying with young children so we were really disappointed that we hadn't at least been fore warned that it was shut. We were therefore stuck with cooking in the cottage. However the fridge in our cottage was malfunctioning, freezing all our fresh food so it had to be thrown away. Another fridge was swiftly delivered and this time the freezer didn't work. We complained about this and the management agreed to waive the £30 'utilities' charge for the week (which is utterly absurd anyway!!!) but with a VERY flippant attitude: rather than apologising, the person at reception said he would waive the fee because he 'couldn't be bothered to discuss it'. Perhaps this is because this is a common problem?

All in all, it is a nice place, but the accommodation is far from salubrious, and doesn't match up to the stunning grounds and pool facilities.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MelSW19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Carvynick Country Cottages, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Many thanks for your review. We apologise for the freezer compartment although our maintenance man did attempt to rectify the problem on many occasions and when it became apparent that the problem could not be solved, a new fridge/freezer was ordered the following day but unfortunately we could not get a delivery date during your stay.
As a gesture of good will the utlitiy charge was waived to compensate for the minimal loss of food. I hope this did not interfere too much with your holiday.
Once again we apologise for the problems that occured throughout your stay here at Carvynick, but we certainly hope you would choose to stay here again.
Many Thanks

Management Carvynick Country Club.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed here as RCI exchange. Unit was good and comfortable but did smell a bit damp and towels were a bit tired. It was an ideal base from which to explore Cornwall - we went to Lands End, the Lizard, Newquay, Looe, St Ives - there is easy access to all the roads. The club was very quiet. Unfortunately the restaurant Viners was closed although advertising still in place. This was disappointing as it would be good to have a pub or place for visitors to socialise. Wifi is only available at the clubhouse which means you can only use during office hours. Lovely walks around area but need to drive to Summercourt or elsewhere to get supplies. Small golf course. Our varanda was upstairs and if we sat out , could not see over the wall and we had glorious evenings so it was a pity not to be able to enjoy the view.

Room Tip: Ask for cottage on the golf course as these have patio area for sitting out
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dacabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We holiday at Carvynick every year, mainly because we own a timeshare here. We have visited this site over 10 times. The Timeshare is pricey at over £600 per week, i hear that a non timeshare owner can get a cheaper apartment. Double standards!!!

The pros: Excellent swimming pool. Lovely views and ideal location to explore Cornwall as has good connections to major routes. Small golf course, Spacious apartments.

The cons: Dated bathrooms, poor quality mattresses, feel springs in your back. Towels are very worn. Heating is either on or off, no thermostat, but the apartments are warm when the heating is on. Smells of damp.

If you suffer from Asthma like my wife does, then i advise that you go elsewhere as her Asthma is made worse my staying here!

Now under new management, so hope things will improve!!!! Could be an excellent stay if a few things were changed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

As a timeshare holder at carvynick, we thought that there would be benefits. However the benefit seems to be that we have to pay £200 more than a non timeshare holder. Our payment is guaranteed every year plus they take a £2500 payment up front. However we now find that whilst anybody can hire our cottage for a week in august for £480, we as loyal cutomers have to pay £618. Rubbish.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank acoxy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We stayed at Carvynick on an exchage with RCI in November. Some days were very wet, (however not as wet as the week following our stay). We managed to get out and about, down to Lands End on mixed weather day and into Newquay on one fantastic sunny day.
The accomodation was excellent, the postion of this pace could not be better as all roads away from Summercourt lead to another of Cornwalls many attractions.
Also on the Carvynick site are facilities for Motor Home camping too (Itchyfeet).
There is a wonderful restaurant with many awards to its name, We spent a couple of great evenings there.
I would certainly use the Carvynick again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Allan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We booked an out of season stay here and were greeted by beautiful sunshine and friendly and cheerful reception staff. We stayed in a cottage overlooking the golf course which was well laid out, very clean and had all the homely touches!
We are looking forward to coming again next Spring!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rally64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
5.8 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#26 of 38 in Newquay
60 reviews
4.8 mi away
Porth Lodge Hotel
Porth Lodge Hotel
#28 of 38 in Newquay
133 reviews
5.2 mi away
AbreakAway
AbreakAway
#39 of 77 in Newquay
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Newquay View Resort
Newquay View Resort
#5 of 77 in Newquay
308 reviews
5.7 mi away
Newquay International Backpackers
5.4 mi away
Degembris Farmhouse
Degembris Farmhouse
#14 of 77 in Newquay
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carvynick Country Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carvynick Country Cottages

Property: Carvynick Country Cottages
Address: Summercourt, Newquay TR8 5AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the heart of Cornwall in a picturesque setting with far reaching views, Carvynick Holiday Park near Newquay extends a warm welcome to those seeking tranquil family holidays in Cornwall. Located only 15 minutes from the stunning Newquay beaches, dramatic Cornish coastline and only 14 miles from the world famous Eden Project. Our central location provides easy access to all of Cornwall's many attractions. Our holiday park consists of well presented self-catering holiday cottages, perfect for quiet family holidays, short breaks and holidays in Cornwall. We have a fabulous Touring park, with spacious, luxury touring pitches specifically designed for Caravans, Motorhomes and RVs of all sizes, including Winnebago or American Motorhomes. We have excellent on-site leisure facilities, such as a heated indoor swimming pool, sauna & hot tub, or you can have a more lively game of Badminton on our full sized court. Why not relax in The Signature Spa or Kerry Folds Hair Salon during your stay with us. * All touring pitches have private decked areas and are fully serviced. *Picturesque grounds with spectacular views across the Cornish countryside * Indoor Heated Swimming Pool * Badminton and Indoor Sports Hall * Sauna and Hot Tub * On-site restaurant & bar * Easy Access just off A30 * 15 minutes from Newquay beaches and attractions * The world famous Eden Project only 14 miles away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Carvynick Country Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carvynick Country Cottages Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing