We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fistral Spa

Fistral Spa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our five-star luxury spa in Cornwall offers a sublime retreat to indulge in pampering, perfecting treatments and quality spa facilities. Our starlit indoor heated pool, jacuzzi, sauna and mosaic steam room are the ultimate place to unwind in Newquay. Enjoy candlelit couples massages or a relaxing aromatherapy facial in the only spa offering ESPA treatments on the north coast of Cornwall.From pedicures or manicures using Leighton Denny polishes to the Fistral signature range, putting the 'treat' into treatments. Fistral Spa was recently named a finalist in the UK professional beauty awards, representing Cornwall spa hotels as the only finalist from the South West. The spa has also been recommended in the Good Spa Guide.Our holistic spa is all about inner calm and tranquility, escaping everyday life and relaxing in our secluded sanctuary away from the outside world. Offering spa weekend breaks or spa days in Cornwall, we invite you to escape to Fistral Spa, the ultimate spa haven.
Defford, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

Had lovely treatments and treated like a queen. All the staff were friendly and helpful

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    367
    78
    15
    4
    3
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good value spa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

I have been here several times, but last went here for a Birthday Spa day with friends in March 2012. Overall I think it is a lovely venue, the spa facilities are well maintained and relaxing (pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room) and good value at £5 extra all day, there is a lovely room upstairs where you can read or relax before/after treatments and try testers of the spa products for free. My particular favourite is the Aromatherapy Back, Neck And Shoulder Massage With Hot Stones as the heat adds to the massage and is very soothing and good value at £45 for 40 minutes. The food prices are reasonable and you can get a two course spa meal (with big portions) for £10pp and the view from the restaurant/bar is stunning looking out onto Fistral Beach.

The disadvantages are firstly you cannot enjoy the view of Fistral Beach from the pool/spa facilities (as this is at the back of the hotel) and secondly having visited this spa now 5 times, myself and my friends noticed that the treatments often finish a little short of your treatment time (between 5-10minutes), which is a frustrating when you have paid for 40 minutes or an hour but then realise you have not had this time. However because of all the positives listed above and the good value of this spa I keep returning.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank kernowcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fab”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

Had a wonderful massage given to me as a spa voucher for Mother's Day. Just wonderful, thank you. Love your facebook updates too.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank jjgabour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Little Fistral Spa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

Stayed at their sister hotel, The Esplanade. Had a really nice manicure in their smaller salon little fistral spa, very good manicure and the salon is very nicely decorated. Wish I lived closer!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank SophieMcM7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good therapist but look closer and you see the cracks”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

I spent £250 for myself and partner to have a luxury experience..... However, the robes had holes in them and the shower in the pool changing room had a broken shower with plaster coming off the ceiling! This place is marketed as a luxury retreat but they are cutting corners and at those prices they need to sharpen up a little. That said the therapists and treatments were very good. I think it's a case of managment should try harder. Food was underwhelming.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank thefoodgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fistral Spa also viewed

Mawgan Porth, Cornwall
 

Been to Fistral Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing