We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous beach - use the car park with care!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fistral Beach

Fistral Beach
Ranked #1 of 57 things to do in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This splendid beach offers excellent water for surfing and body boarding.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Gorgeous beach - use the car park with care!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Lovely beach, great sunsets, just be aware the private company will change to muchos bucks if you overstay your welcome - you have a 20 minute grace period but they have been known to not stick to that. I parked for 30 mins after 9pm, didn't see any parking signs at all, but I was caught on camera and charged a big whack.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ExasperParent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,606 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,827
    621
    98
    15
    45
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
397 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 489 helpful votes
“Deserves its reputation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

A well known and well regarded Cornish beach that richly deserves its praise. We walked the length of the beach and found it very enjoyable - not busy and the view of the cliffs was awesome. Very well worth a visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cfab777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great beach and views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

A great spot, the beach is large and very scenic. Facilities are excellent within the modern shopping and dining complex which has been built in the style of the American 'board walk'. There are restaurants, clothing shops and water-sport instructional/equipment rental facilities. A great place to get wet or just spend some time chilling out.
The only downside is the cost of car parking !

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Surfing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Great beach to learn to surf. Lovely bar over looking the beach.
Be careful of ruthless parking wardens.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jasonpritchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A busy but lovely beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

To be honest, visiting Newquay I was a little dubious as its a more commercialised part of Cornwall however I was nicely suprised.

The beach is beautiful and the views are superb. Watching the surfers and body borders was great fun. It was really busy but still had a great atmosphere. It is definitely surfer territory!

The parking system is great - pay for what you want and if you over stay then just pay to cover it! Brilliant idea especially for us as I wasn't expecting to stay as long as we did.

All in all a really nice beach, a credit to Cornwall.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mammalewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fistral Beach also viewed

 

Been to Fistral Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing