We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently tasty cakes.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pauline's Creamery

Pauline's Creamery
Ranked #1 of 6 Dessert in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Notts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Consistently tasty cakes.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

This place never fails to provide amazing cakes. We popped in one afternoon along the Main Street in Newquay and watched the shoppers below from the comfy warm seats. Fresh baked warm scones with cream and jam are my favourite on the never ending list of sweet treats.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TipsyNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    61
    20
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic service, second to none”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

I visited Pauline's on 4 March, and received fantastic service and lovely sandwiches!!

I wanted to send a message to thank your kind and thoughtful staff for the help they gave us when we came for lunch today. Our daughter was really poorly and the thoughtful actions your staff took (like clingfilm on the waiting sandwich, watching our son, warm coffee and water etc) were fantastic and a level of service above and beyond what we would expect. It is rare to go somewhere where the staff are so observant and considerate of customer needs. Thank you very much

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent service with a smile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Quite often I'll visit Paulines and buy a baguette and cake for my lunch. The food is always delicious and the baguette's are filled to the max with ingredients. The staff are always pleasant and helpful. We order there delicious chocolate cakes for birthdays and they are the best cakes ever! Paulines also helped us cater our wedding in 2013.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wisdom74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Brilliant ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

You cannot beat the cakes here and so convenient in centre of town.
Found this place years ago and visit regularly to top up levels of chocolate fudge cake

Helpful?
Thank cbjh221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
382 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
“Potential!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

A bit of a wet half-term in Newquay saw our day brightened by the tempting treats in the window of Pauline's cake shop. We went upstairs and were surprised to find the place virtually empty. There were more staff than customers. The pot of tea, the fruit cake and the tea cake were great! Even two tea bags in the teapot! The service by the teenage staff was well-intentioned but ....er... hmmmm ..! Our order was taken by a lad dressed in jeans and a thick hoodie with a large, blue apron completing the ensemble. The conversation went something like this :
"Hi guys are you ready to order?"
"Yes, thanks. A pot of tea for two".
"No worries."
"A slice of fruit cake."
"No worries."
"And a toasted tea cake, please."
"No worries. Anything else?"
"No thanks."
"No worries."
Before, during and after, we listened to the teenage staff recalling in loud voices their pranks at school in art, music and maths lessons and name-dropping a few of their teachers along the way. All this accompanied by loud, teenage party music from the kitchen.
At best this was amusing entertainment; at worst, poor staff training. However, to her credit, the teenage waitress was very polite and well-spoken when we paid the bill.
I just felt that the tea room had a lot of potential if the décor was smartened up, the cheap stainless steel tea sets and dishes were ditched in favour of pottery and the well-intentioned staff received some training in professional customer service and given a smart uniform to wear. All that would complement the great food on offer.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pauline's Creamery also viewed

Newquay, Cornwall
 

Been to Pauline's Creamery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing