We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely B&B, would recommend it to anyone” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lazy Waves

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lazy Waves
Ranked #34 of 112 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely B&B, would recommend it to anyone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

My partner and I stayed at Lazy Waves in August 2011. We stayed for 4 nights and really didn't want to leave. Julie and Trevor were the perfect host and hostess. Breakfast was great and we were very well looked after. We stayed in the room with the balacony which has probably the best views in Newquay and though it is small it is perfectly formed. I used TripAdvisor to make my choice of where to stay in Cornwall and previous visitors made me select Lazy Waves. I am delighted that we did and would recommend it to anyone else looking to visit the region and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidayhighlights_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    9
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
78
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

My partner and I stayed here recently and were really impressed. The room was immaculate with beautiful furniture and decor, and an incredible sea view. Julie and Trevor were fantastic hosts and did everything they could to ensure our stay was perfect. An ideal base for a trip to Cornwall as it seemed to be near everything we wanted to see. Would definitely stay at Lazy Waves again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliver C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Velden, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

Coming from the Netherlands my daughter and I stayed at The Lazy Waves from August 1st till August 4th and we both can highly recommend this B&B. It is situated at the beachside and near to the towncentre. The owners, Trevor and Julie, make you feel like being home. The room was sparkling clean and the breakfast was superb. A big "Thank you" to our hosts for all efforts they made to make our stay as comfortable as it was.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulus12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southend on sea
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

We have just returned after a 5 night stay at this guest house and we cant fault the accommadation Trevor and julie just want to make you welcome and comfortable our original booking was for 4 nights but we stayed another.We booked on the reviews and they were spot on all i can say is if you go to Newquay try and book here you will not be disappointed

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

Our stay at Lazy Waves was Top Class. You couldn't get any better. We had the balcony room with magnificent views overlooking Towan beach and the island and ocean views. So nice and relaxing to watch the sun go down with a glass of wine on the balcony. Just perfect in everyway the room the food the host's & views and the sunny day's what more could you ask for.. Trev & Julie were so friendly and made you feel at home, they couldn't do enough for you. The full english breakfast and the danish pastries were a real treat. Trev recomended a lovely coastal walk with a cream tea at the end of it. All in all the best B&B. we would highly recommend it. We will be back!!!

Matthew & Donna Gulliver.
Rotherham, South Yorkshire.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsGulliver1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2011

I booked this for a birthday weekend away with friends. Six of us stayed here and we all loved it. The owners are so attentative and even bought me a birthday cake! The decor was superb a real gem. No clutter, wonderful clean rooms with quality bedding. The breakfasts were excellent. I would highly recommend this as a superb base to travel around the area. This establishment is the best in Newquay by far and run by a really positive and friendly couple - simply marvellous!!!

Room Tip: The Deluxe Room is superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMP1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2011

The first thing you notice about Lazy Waves is the spectacular view of the ocean. The lasting impression, however, is the genuine friendliness the owners Trevor and Julie. They made us feel like they enjoyed having us in their home.

We were travelling with my husband's elderly mother. She had a room with a balcony overlooking the sea and Trevor thought to bring up an extra chair so that all three of us could enjoy a sunset drink there. Our room was very spacious with a bay window, it was very clean and the beds were comfortable. All the fittings were of high quality, they have obviously spend a lot of money and thought on the fitout.

Each morning at breakfast Trevor would ask what we had planned for the day and bring us maps, brochures and advice on local sights in Cornwall.

This B&B doesn't take hen's nights and that was more important than I imagined as the centre of Newquay seems over-run with them on the weekend (we heard a bit of noise in the early hours but felt safely away from it on the second floor).

The Parking situation is not ideal, upon arrival we dropped our luggage and Trevor went with my husband to a church a few blocks away where we could park using their resident permit. Later in the day we got a spot right outside the front door. This seems to be more of a problem on the weekends and I did feel guilty using the church spot again on the Sunday.

Both of the restaurant recommendations Julie gave us were spot on, and on our third night they brought us plates and allowed us use of the Dining room to enjoy our take-away food.

Overall we had a lovely stay - thank-you so much to our hosts.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oldest_fledgeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#19 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tregella Hotel Newquay
Tregella Hotel Newquay
#27 of 112 in Newquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cliff House
Cliff House
#17 of 112 in Newquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Seashells Guest House
Seashells Guest House
#69 of 112 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.2 mi away
St.Bernards Guesthouse
St.Bernards Guesthouse
#2 of 112 in Newquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.0 mi away
Trevellis Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy Waves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Waves

Property: Lazy Waves
Address: 13 Island Crescent, Newquay TR7 1DZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Lazy Waves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lazy Waves Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing