We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but can get noisy!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Watergate Bay Touring Park
Ranked #22 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Newquay
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good but can get noisy!”
Reviewed April 20, 2012

I've stayed here several times and only just got round to reviewing the place!

Personally I really enjoy staying at Watergate Bay, it's quite a chilled out campsite. Amenities are not that great, pool is small and so is the shop, but the breakfasts at the cafe are excellent! During summer they have a minibus running down to the beach, you could walk it but it's down a country lane (maybe a bit dodgy with kids) and you'd have an uphill walk to contend with on the way back, tricky when you've got loads of beach stuff! The pitches are flat and toilet facilities are really clean and big enough to provide for the whole campsite. The only warning thing I would say is that a couple of times I have stayed here in a large group, among many other large groups - so it can get a bit noisy, sometimes until the early hours. Maybe not so great for families at these times (around the Newquay Boardmasters Festival particularly). It's very good value for money though. There's a play area and tennis court as well, if I remember rightly you can hire tennis equipment.

Newquay is only a short drive away, this campsite offers an escape from the madness over there. I've never tried some of the Newquay campsites but have heard many bad things, so for me Watergate Bay is always the place to go. The beach is lovely too, really big, safe (lifeguards etc) with shop, restaurants (inc. Jamie Oliver's '15') and surf board hire.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HEm88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    48
    18
    8
    5
See reviews for
77
33
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We have stayed at this site several times now over the last few years - each time has been in one of their statics. We always find the site, staff, all amenities and caravans absolutely spotless. The games room is farily small but well equipped which is great for the kids as you know where they are and they only need a small amount of money which is always a bonus. We only used the cafe for breakfast and it was really tasty with good quality food at reasonable prices. We visit the bar a few times during our holiday and we've always been made to feel very welcome. The bar has a good selection at good prices. The swimming pool is much better now it has a "convertible roof". We used it daily last year and its nice to know theres something to do with our unreliable Great British Weather. The shop is well stocked and the tennis court, playground and skate area are all fantasic family fun. Watergate Bay itself is a very short distance away and is stunning.

Room Tip: Both static caravans are spotless and of very good quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentFamily_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Well wear do I begin. The pitches were kept lovley and clean. The clubhouse was lively and fun. The cafe was amazing and the staff were absolutly lovely and helpful. I will be returning.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmag4211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton
Level Contributor
119 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Excellent location with Watergate Bay a short walkaway - one of the best beaches in the southwest. But pitches too small

Room Tip: Don't book on the main site!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marchinglobsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2011

This campsite is the best 1 I've been to. They are thibgs to do for all âges and thé pool is great dont listen to any of thé bad reviews because they talk rubbish

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmag4211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This is an excellent family run camp site and have been staying here since 1995 both camping and in a touring caravan. Have just spent the bank holiday Monday week here and hit the jackpot with the weather. Sunshine and only light wind - down side no surf but you cant always have everything.

Staying here can provide any type of holiday you wish.

If you long for onsite facilities and clubhouse this is in place with heated covered swimming pool, childrens play area, skateboard park and plenty of space for ball games and kite flying supported with the shop, cafe and small games room.
None of this is on a grand scale like some of the big country wide parks but it is excellent and well managed and the organised entertainment including Kids time is good if this is your thing.

If you are looking for a base to explore the area and make the most of the many local attractions, coast path or surfing on the beachesthen this provides an excellent base location wise and by the time you return to your tent/tourer/camper van and light the barbie it can be hard to keep your eyes open past 10:00pm.

The site is clean, well managed and offers good facilities for families, couples, singles, dog owners etc etc.
I noticed someone had put comments about the hoodies hanging around the site. Closer inspection would probally revell that this is campers of all ages, who have spent the day on the beach in the Atlantic Sea body boarding or surfing and a fleecy hoody is the best way to warm up in the evening.
The shower blocks are kept clean and the addition of music is a nice touch.
Our family is looking forward to spending many more years here, we still discover new places to go each visit.
Final best tip, get to the shop as it opens at 8:00am, the freshly baked croissants are to die for.
The Jennings family who run the site put a huge amount of personal commitment to making your holiday enjoyable and hassle free.
Enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Civelek59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

After searching through the masses of camsites to visit in newquay, We finally stumbled across Watergate Bay Touring Park. The staff were fantastic and friendly and gave us two pitches between the four of us. We requested to move as we were first situated with a family with a lot of young children and did not want to wake them with cars,and the staff were so quick and helpful. The pitches are spacious,well looked after and pristine clean with a view of the ocean which was beautiful to hear at night. Water points are central and always close by and the shop sells everything you would need at a reasonable price. The facilities were as expected, Clean and never a wait for a shower. Showers are free and warm although they are eco showers so you need to constantly push a button which is no trouble at all. I would recommend wearing flip flops as with a beach a 3 minute drive, theres bound to be a sandy floor. The swimming pool is clean and the skate park seemed to impressed my (22 year old may i add) Partner. Newquay is a 15 minute drive and taxi prices are very reasonable. Watergate bay itself is an incredible beach with fantastic surf and extreme sports. Best campsite to have a BBQ and a cider. Extremely Relaxing!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmilyRoseCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
3.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.3 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
The Scarlet Hotel
The Scarlet Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Newquay View Resort
Newquay View Resort
#8 of 78 in Newquay
245 reviews
1.6 mi away
Porth Beach Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Beachcombers Apartments
Beachcombers Apartments
#17 of 78 in Newquay
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watergate Bay Touring Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watergate Bay Touring Park

Property: Watergate Bay Touring Park
Address: Tregurrian, Newquay TR8 4AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Newquay
Hotel Class:4 star — Watergate Bay Touring Park 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Also Known As:
Watergate Bay Touring Park Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing