We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“happy days”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tregarthen Guesthouse
Ranked #14 of 107 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
somerset
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“happy days”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

this was to be our first venture into a B&B instead of the usual caravan hol with the kids so we were slightly apprehensive of what to expect, need not have worried as we were made welcome and felt at ease straight away. Julie the landlady was very helpful and knew a lot about the area. the room was very clean and fresh, so quiet at night I could heard my watch tick!
I would recommend this B&B to any one, ticks all the boxes .....clean and warm,easy parking, nice size fridge (which we converted to mini bar for our stay)
especially handy if you intend to visit Lusty Glaze as we did, its only a 5 min walk.

Room Tip: we had the room at the corner of the building with its own outside door......excellent for anyone pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparkybloke99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    13
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
126
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Three of us stayed for one night while walking the South West Coast Path. Our room was extremely hot and the windows would not open very much, but they did provide us with 2 fans which did help. The room was spacious and the bathroom modern and everything was very clean. Julie provided us with a reasonable cold breakfast as we wanted to leave early to resume our walk and she was extremely helpful and friendly. Good value for money and close to the SW Coast Path and only 10 minutes from the centre of Newquay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnitaJSawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon and all we can say is that it was excellent. Julie was brilliant, breakfast was stunning, our whole stay was just perfect. We would definately recommend to anyone who wants to stay In Newquay then stay here... Fantastic value for money, only 10 min walk from the main town. We will definitely be staying again. Lyns&Phil

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lppkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights during August. The room was very modern and tasteful and absolutely spotless! The hostess was very friendly and knowledgable and made it a very comfortable stay. Breakfast was great, amazing choice for such a small guesthouse and freshly and promptly cooked. The walk into town is 10 mins which wasn't a chore but did mean it was lovely and quiet. The only thing I could even think to criticise is that the shower went hot and cold on occasion, but i would assume this is inevitable when many people are using the water at the same time. It was a really lovely stay and I wouldn't hesitate to go back as soon as possible!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Keziah3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Would recommend staying here to everyone who is considering visiting Newquay and Cornwall. The service was excellent. Thank you for a wonderful surprise when we arrived for our short break. Will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mazzy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Situated about 10 mins from town, this was a lovely quiet area. The guesthouse was very clean, tidy & very well run. The landlady was lovely. Talked about places to go, best places to eat & lent us beach towels as we forgot to pack ours. Definatley a place to go back to 10/10.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamjgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Just spent 2 nights, made very welcome by Julie. Room spotless, very comfortable and modern, advantage of fridge. Table and chairs in the room and also outside which was very nice relaxing with a glass of chilled wine after a day sightseeing. Breakfast choice of fresh fruits, cereals, cooked breakfast of your choice and plentiful. Ideally situated for short walk into Newquay centre and beaches. Most enjoyable stay with perfect host. Would strongly recommend a stay here, made such a change from the tired B & B image.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garyjane1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.6 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
871 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.8 mi away
St.Bernards Guesthouse
St.Bernards Guesthouse
#2 of 107 in Newquay
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Cove Guesthouse
The Cove Guesthouse
#3 of 107 in Newquay
229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kallacliff Hotel
Kallacliff Hotel
#11 of 107 in Newquay
302 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pine Lodge
Pine Lodge
#22 of 107 in Newquay
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tregarthen Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregarthen Guesthouse

Property: Tregarthen Guesthouse
Address: 1 Arundel Way, Newquay TR7 3BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Julie & Jim welcome you to Tregarthen, a Bed and Breakfast offering you a very high standard of accommodation, taking bookings of couples and families only. Tregarthen Guest House is situated in the prime location for Lusty Glaze & Tolcarne beaches and the bustling town centre of Newquay. Fresh, modern, affordable accommodation in the Tregarthen Guest House, Newquay, Cornwall. We offer short breaks and special offer holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Tregarthen Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tregarthen Guesthouse Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing