We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break”
Review of Alderberry Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alderberry Lodge
Ranked #40 of 107 Newquay B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Upon arriving we were met by the owner, lovely lady. Really friendly.
We were told room 2, I was so disappointed! 2 small single beds a wardrobe and a sink was all we had, we knew on booking that we did have a communal bathroom.. Not a problem!
The room it's self had one small damp towel each and not even a chair to sit on, the room needed lots of love and updating.
Lucky for us we were out surfing & exploring most of the time.
Breakfast... Lovely! Although Would have been nice to given a choice what we wanted.
Great location 5 min walk from shops.
Like I said the only downfall was room 2, we come to newquay a lot and have had better rooms in a hostel & for better value.
I would stay again but in a better room :-)

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maj83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaLangslow, Owner at Alderberry Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

I am sorry you were disappointed in this room it is one of our budget rooms hence the £78.00 you paid in total for two people accommodation for two nights including a full breakfast and free parking in a town centre location. Parking a lone for two days in newquay would cost at least twenty pounds a day. I wish you would have mentioned is to me on arrival and I could have offered you a more expensive room but you did have that option on booking. We offer varied rooms for different budgets and always want our guests to receive good value for money in today's climate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 62 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

We came to Newquay for friend's wedding and stayed here for one night - shame it wasn't more!!
I had the best night's sleep in a very long time. The room was clean, warm and very comfortable with lovely Egyptian cotton bedding and the bed was just so comfy I didn't want to get out. Amanda was lovely, very warm and welcoming and her breakfast was just perfect. I would recommend Alderberry Lodge to anyone wishing to stay in Newquay, I think anyone would be hard pressed to find better value so close to town, or indeed in Newquay.
A very big Thank You to Amanda, your house and hospitality was just lovely.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mandy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Having stayed in a hotel in newquay before i thought things couldnt get better but i was wrong, from the minute we arrived amanda was very helpful and kind she couldnt do enough for us. Our room was cleaned and.tidyed brilliantly daily and breakfast was outstanding. a big thanks to amanda for helping make our holiday one to remember

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adzie25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

from the moment we arrived, we were made to feel like we were on a break ..Amanda made us feel really welcome, the room was lovely and clean, nothing was too much trouble, bed, was lovely and comfortable, great location, for beaches Parks, and even the Zoo!Amanda recommended the lakeside cafe, which indeed lived up to its reputation,!! will definately be back, and would recommend it to anyone, felt like Amanda is now part of the family, xxx

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights 2nd June to 6th, Upon arrival Amanda was really helpful letting us know where all the attractions were and how to get around. Throughout our stay she helped us every day with directions, sightseeing advice and was generally so friendly we felt we had known her for years. If you want a nice clean well located B&B then this is for you.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank B0rnt0h0liday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Got back today from Newquay. I stayed at Alderberry Lodge for the 5th time. Amanda who owns the B+B always makes you feel welcome and looks after you. Nothing is ever to much trouble. Looking forward to going back in July. See you soon.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank andydb9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Thank you Amanda for making our short break such a great one. A very friendly welcome, lovely clean room, gorgeous breakfast, central location. Will definately be returning x

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.4 mi away
St. Christopher's Inn Newquay
1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.2 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
4.9 mi away
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in White Cross
785 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ravensbury Hotel
Ravensbury Hotel
#24 of 37 in Newquay
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alderberry Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alderberry Lodge

Address: 6 Trenance Road, Newquay TR7 2LT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range: $62 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alderberry Lodge is situated in the middle of Newquay offering something for everyone and all within walking distance. Town centre a few minutes walk, Beaches, leisure centre , Zoo, Stables. We have free car parking and secure storage for surf boards and motor bikes.M All our prices include a full English breakfast with choice of cereals and yogurts. We cater for couples only ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alderberry Lodge Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing