We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic,best thing about newquay”

Maharajah Indian Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 231 Restaurants in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Maharajah restaurant which was established in 1980 is open from 5.30 pm until late, seven days a week. The restaurant is the only real Indian restaurant in Newquay (and possibly Cornwall) here you will find traditional Indian food served in a restaurant with the most outstanding sea views.
Padstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“fantastic,best thing about newquay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

living near padstow we frequent this indian and all i can say is its fantastic.The food is always excellent,service too,and staff always welcoming.never ever had a problem eating here and as for the owner,what a lovely man ,always joking with you and making you feel at home....not sure his wife will agree lol........all these negative comments are rubbish,from ignorant people ,you cant beat thev food or service,see you soon maharajah as im coming real soon

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank julie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mfbSWEngland, Guest Relations Manager at Maharajah Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. I am glad you are pleased with the service, and enjoyed your meal and will hopefully see you again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,966 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,318
    336
    139
    72
    101
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Family friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

Family of 5, table with amazing sea view, very friendly staff and delicious food! A very good Indian restaurant. Recommended.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JillBlakeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mfbSWEngland, Guest Relations Manager at Maharajah Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are pleased you enjoyed your meal and will hopefully see you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

Came to Newquay for a week and came here twice. All the food was lovely and the staff were very friendly and service was very good. Great Indian restaurant.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank stan6599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mfbSWEngland, Guest Relations Manager at Maharajah Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are pleased you enjoyed your meal and will hopefully see you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
339 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Organized chaos?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

I stopped here because I wanted Indian food, why else? It was a really large place in the back despite the view from the front which was nice because I thought I was going to walk into a cramped space. I was seated and served very quickly, and all the staff were friendly but the whole place felt a bit crazy. My food was brought fast as well, but I had 4 servers stop by to ask me if it was okay, which it was. It was beyond okay, it was amazing! But I kept getting distracted by the serving staff who seemed to be running around. I wasn't sitting next to the great view they offer, but I could still see the bay from my seat which was nice. I was also happy I got a warm towlette at the end of the meal. You won't be disappointed if you go here, but just know the staff are a little crazy but funny, polite and helpful too. It's just part of their vibe I guess, and I dug it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kmerke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mfbSWEngland, Guest Relations Manager at Maharajah Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are pleased you enjoyed your meal and will hopefully see you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Indian I've ever had!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

The only disappointing thing about this restaurant is that there aren't more tables with sea views. The food is amazing and beautifully presented and the service was fast and friendly.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank featybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mfbSWEngland, Guest Relations Manager at Maharajah Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are pleased you enjoyed your meal. We would also love every customer to be able to have a sea view if possible and we will hopefully see you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maharajah Indian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Maharajah Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing