We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, good staff.”

Maharajah Indian Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 231 Restaurants in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Maharajah restaurant which was established in 1980 is open from 5.30 pm until late, seven days a week. The restaurant is the only real Indian restaurant in Newquay (and possibly Cornwall) here you will find traditional Indian food served in a restaurant with the most outstanding sea views.
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, good staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

The setting of the restaurant has marvellous views of the North Cornwall Coast. The menu is extensive, authentic and very reasonably priced. The owner is extremely solicitous to his customers and the employees all seem to be very happy in their employment. I cannot recommend it too strongly.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mfbSWEngland, Manager at Maharajah Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
What a great review - thank you. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,966 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,318
    336
    139
    72
    101
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant is absolutely brilliant. We come here every time we come to Cornwall for a take away (or two) and we've not had a bad one yet. Great selection, and the vegetarian options are just fantastic.

We'll be back again and again!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ben R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mfbSWEngland, Manager at Maharajah Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Glad you continue to enjoy our food. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food every times”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

We tend to order a take away rather than eat in as it is expensive, but worth every penny

Never had a bad meal and food is piping hot when you get it home.

Lovely in every way and huge portions, no one manages to finish everything!

They even give you a pot of salad!

Recommend every time!

Helpful?
Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mfbSWEngland, Manager at Maharajah Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
thank you for your great review and hope you continue to enjoy our takeaways for years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Food,Great Price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

Friendly staff, great service, lovely views, fantasic food!!
Would recommend this restaurant to anybody that loves a good Indian.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mfbSWEngland, Manager at Maharajah Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you for your review - hope we will be able to welcome you back when you are next in Cornwall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible food not Indian like at all and well inflated prices”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Me and my wife visited last night. The restaurant itself is lovely and we were both looking forward to the meal. I had the maharajah kebab to start which blew my socks off it was that spicy . Never had a spicy starter before . My wife had chicken chat that she enjoyed. We was asked if we wanted a couple of popadoms so we said yes. We got 2 each plus the whole tray of chutneys that we only liked the mint sauce . They charge for individual chutneys so only order what you like.
Main meals where it really went wrong my wife doesn't do spicy so she had butter chicken (fairly safe you'd expect) it was red in colour and cooked in tomatoes and was so spicy she couldn't eat it. Butter chicken is not meant to be like this. I had garlic chicken which looked exactly the same as the butter chicken with a few sprinkles of garlic on top. No taste to it and certainly not how any other Indians we've been to cook it
Onion bahjees are flat and clearly frozen again not good
Both ordered garlic naans. Naans were big but really thin like a tortilla wrap. But we're absolutly swimming in grease and garlic butter. So much so when tearing a piece off your hands were covered in butter. Not how a naan should be
The waitress came to clear our table with most of our food intact and asked if everything was ok. My wife said hers was far too spicy and couldn't eat it too which we didn't get a reply. The bill was brought over in a flash. Nearly £70 for 2 people with 2 pints and a rose wine is getting on with it as well. I don't mind paying if the good is good. This isn't and we will not be returning . My suspicions are that they don't have a Indian chef or if they do they should get rid of him. Could be the best place in newquay but I would say one of the worst.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danhill857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mfbSWEngland, Manager at Maharajah Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
We were very disappointed to receive your review and sorry that we did not meet your expectations. I am also sorry that your comments were not acted upon when you said that your meal was too spicy. I wish you had asked to speak to our duty manager who would have been delighted to take you downstairs to meet our chef, who has been with us for over five years, and is, I can assure you from India! I think the majority of the other reviews reflect a truer picture of our restaurant than yours and I can only apologise again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maharajah Indian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Maharajah Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing