We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Restaurant”

Maharajah Indian Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 235 Restaurants in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Maharajah restaurant which was established in 1980 is open from 5.30 pm until late, seven days a week. The restaurant is the only real Indian restaurant in Newquay (and possibly Cornwall) here you will find traditional Indian food served in a restaurant with the most outstanding sea views.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

Great food, great service and great location. We are always happy to recommend this restaurant to our friends and family.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MickyB57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mfbSWEngland, Manager at Maharajah Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for your review and for your recommendations. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,963 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,317
    335
    139
    72
    100
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby
Level Contributor
142 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprise..... A good Indian in Cornwall!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

An Indian run by a vegetarian Gujarati owner, but with chefs from other, non-veggie states... Excellent! We felt right at home as soon as we saw Patra and macai on the menu...... And so busy.... Quality and quantity of food excellent, real home style cooking. If you seek a chilli fix, and are fed up with the ubiquitous Bangladeshi owned outlets serving up Punjabi style (ie "Gora"-food), THIS is the place to come! Enjoy.....

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Iain Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mfbSWEngland, Manager at Maharajah Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased your enjoyed our traditionally cooked authentic Indian food. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best in town. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Great food, great service and great location. We are always happy to recommend this restaurant to our guests visiting our guest house as we know they will have a great meal.

Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mfbSWEngland, Manager at Maharajah Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are always pleased to receive recommendations from our business associates in Newquay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Best indian in Cornwall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Really friendly service with wonderful views over the sea. Food is tasty and plentiful and all at a good price. Somewhere I always visit at least once when I'm down in Newquay. A must visit for indian lovers

Helpful?
Thank li8m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mfbSWEngland, Manager at Maharajah Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for your review and I am pleased you enjoyed your meal. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountsorrel, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Suprise find in Newquay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

We have pretty high standards when it comes to Indian food so we did hunt around a bit before deciding to try the Maharajah in Newquay, a little trip out from our usual in Perranporth. We weren't disappointed at all. In a great location which would have lovely views in summer we visited in March so had to miss this aspect. Nice feel to the restaurant, lively but not noisy, friendly staff and interesting décor. Plenty of choice on the menu and staff that are informed and helpful. My son had his usual Chicken Korma which was excellent, I asked the waiter to recommend and ended up with King Prawn Authentic, never tried this before but it was good. Decent wine list and reasonable prices. We had a great family night, I'll definitely go back and try a few more dishes. Owner is from Leicester and believe me, they know their curries.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Monique L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mfbSWEngland, Manager at Maharajah Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for your great review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maharajah Indian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Maharajah Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing