We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“reliably good food and service”

Maharajah Indian Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 231 Restaurants in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Scenic view, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Maharajah restaurant which was established in 1980 is open from 5.30 pm until late, seven days a week. The restaurant is the only real Indian restaurant in Newquay (and possibly Cornwall) here you will find traditional Indian food served in a restaurant with the most outstanding sea views.
Baldock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“reliably good food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

We come to Newquay regularly and almost always visit the Maharajah. The food has always been excellent and no matter whether they are busy (usually) or slack, the service is professional and attentive. The owner is a real character and treats almost everyone like an old friend.

The food is well presented and the portion sizes are very generous. Try the special mixed grill if you are feeling really hungry!

Well worth a visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mfbSWEngland, Manager at Maharajah Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Thank you for your review and we are looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,965 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,318
    335
    139
    72
    101
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Scoobysue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

As regular customers here we always experience excellent food and excellent service from very friendly staff. Would definitely recommend this restaurant for any occasion.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mfbSWEngland, Manager at Maharajah Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Thank you for your great review. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surbiton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Had to go back a second time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

Myself and a group of friends where in Newquay for a weekend break and as I have been to the Maharajah before I had to take them there so they could experience it for themselves. WOW! I was not disappointed, food was amazing like last time and the atmosphere was great. Myself and my friends will definitely be coming back in the future.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michaela r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mfbSWEngland, Manager at Maharajah Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
We are pleased that your friends enjoyed their meal as much as you did. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Newquay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
1 review
“A splendid meal topped by magnificent coastal vista”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

I have been eating at this restaurant for some while, and I feel that it is time to express my high opinions of the quality of the food, the service and location.
A much wider menu than the standard korma/madras allows for greater exploration of delicious and authentic Indian dishes, clearly prepared with the best spices and ingredients - the Maharajah offers more variety than any other Indian restaurant in the region.
The service is impeccable - friendly and attentive without being overbearing and the character of the owner Vasant is an entertaining and vital element of the family -oriented ambiance.
Great views up the coast to Padstow add a unique 'Cornishness' to the eating experience - all in all an evening to be valued.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mfbSWEngland, Manager at Maharajah Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Thank you for your great review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“lovely meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

we went here with a relative when they were down, we always get food from here if we ever want an Indian takeaway and it is very good so we thought we'd go here for a meal. we have actually eaten here twice, once upstairs and once downstairs. i preferred downstairs. i love the decoration in this restaurant, it's lovely, the staff are also really nice. we ordered a tikka and 2 mixed grills and none of us were disappointed with the food. i love Papadum with all the chutneys. i could eat these all night. the food was fast and well cooked. we all enjoyed it a lot and it came to around £25 a head, considering how full we were that's pretty good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank palegothicangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mfbSWEngland, Manager at Maharajah Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for your great review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Maharajah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maharajah Indian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Maharajah Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing