We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Madras!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maharajah Indian Restaurant

Maharajah Indian Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 233 Restaurants in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Maharajah restaurant which was established in 1980 is open from 5.30 pm until late, seven days a week. The restaurant is the only real Indian restaurant in Newquay (and possibly Cornwall) here you will find traditional Indian food served in a restaurant with the most outstanding sea views.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Top Madras!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

First The Food was Great, Best Madras (if you go for the hotter Curries) ive had in years an ive had a good few an the rest was quality Special Rice was yum. Menu hada a section explaining wat all the diffrent spices used were never seen dat on any other menu, Anyway good selection of drinks.Service was Good an when i went it was Pitch Black so didnt see the view everyone else is on about, but hey they didnt spoil it its all about the 'Ruby' Folks.... ie curry

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mfbSWEngland, Manager at Maharajah Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for your review and I am pleased you enjoyed your meal. You will have to come back in the summer and enjoy the fantastic view - it really is worth it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,938 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,302
    327
    138
    72
    99
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shaldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice food and good view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Food is nicely presented and very tasty - a few dishes I hadn't seen before and I'm a seasoned curry eater!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank shaldonresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mfbSWEngland, Manager at Maharajah Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for your review and I am pleased you enjoyed our authentic dishes. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Food is excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

We had a takeaway from here delivered to our campsite! Food is excellent one of the best curries we have tasted! Service was quick too. A must try!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Angels103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mfbSWEngland, Manager at Maharajah Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for your review and I am pleased you enjoyed your takeaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A must visit when in Newquay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Excellent freshly cooked food. Attentive happy staff. Good value. Will probably use every time I stay in Newquay.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank robbyd220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mfbSWEngland, Manager at Maharajah Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for your review, I hope we can welcome you back every time you are in Newquay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic sea views with fantastic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

The views were to die for with truly fantastic views of great western beach and beyond. The menu was detailed and had a great selection. Staff were very knowledgable and happily explained the different dishes. The staff were very attentive to our toddler and seemed very child friendly. Quality of food fantastic and coming from Birmingham were are curry experts! Would definitely recommend booking and maybe go early for a seat by the window. We will be returning on our next trip to newquay. Can't recommend highly enough.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lrobinson020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mfbSWEngland, Manager at Maharajah Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for your review and I am pleased you enjoyed our authentic, traditional dishes. We love welcoming the future generation of curry lovers! We look forward to seeing you when you next come to Newquay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maharajah Indian Restaurant also viewed

Newquay, Cornwall
 

Been to Maharajah Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing