We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cornish Indian Restaurant”

Maharajah Indian Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 240 Restaurants in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The Maharajah restaurant which was established in 1980 is open from 5.30 pm until late, seven days a week. The restaurant is the only real Indian restaurant in Newquay (and possibly Cornwall) here you will find traditional Indian food served in a restaurant with the most outstanding sea views.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cornish Indian Restaurant”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We have eaten at the Maharajah in Newquay on many occasions over the years and have found the cuisine to be excellent and the service to be friendly and of the highest order, a restaurant I would recommend to any visitors to the county.... and, by the way, the sea views bring added value to the experience not the bill. YORK guests

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank est_roberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mfbSWEngland, Manager at Maharajah Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your review and I am pleased you enjoyed this visit as much as your previous ones. Let's hope the next one is even better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,056 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,372
    351
    153
    76
    104
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice setting but poor food”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This restaurant has the best views of any Indian Restaurant that I have been to, unfortunately the service and food that we experienced was poor.

Our starters were ok (although the sheek kebab had very little flavour), but my main was quite unpleasant and had a really bitter aftertaste, as if the garlic had been burnt.

Service was rushed, and as no one asked us if we enjoyed our meal despite us leaving most of it, we didn't complain, but would never go back or recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CELTorquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 357 helpful votes
“fine dining experience”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

great atmosphere,great views across bay,fine food,great staff.one of the best indian restaurants i have dined in

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ian r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing view, nice food, good service”
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

We had samosas and onion bhajis for starters which were very nice. Had prawn biryani and chicken Pasanda for main both were nice with good size portions. The restaurant is nice and the view is beautiful. The staff were polite and helpful.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarahjanedowling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bring your appetite”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We love Indian food and went there after reading reviews on Trip Advisor and noting that they had wheelchair access (not easy to find in Newquay). We were not disappointed with the quality of the food. We were very impressed with the view and suggest that If you want a guaranteed window seat then you should book ahead - we booked 2 hours before on a Friday evening. We were pretty hungry after a full day sightseeing and left full up. We were offered poppadoms to begin with and these came with a choice of 5 chutneys, although we didn't ask for the chutneys and really only liked two of them so suggest you state you don't want these unless you know you will really like them all. The starters sizes were very good portions which you could easily share I.e. we received 3 sheik kebabs in one dish. The curries were full of flavour along with tasty rice - again big portions - we couldn't finish ours and we had no room for dessert. If we lived locally this Indian restaurant would become a firm favourite and nearly equals our favourite Indian eatery in London, The Lahore on Gateforth Street, NW8.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlanandLena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mfbSWEngland, Manager at Maharajah Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your review and for your comment about the chutneys. I apologise that you were not asked if you wanted them with your papadams. Sorry you were not able to enjoy one of our delicious desserts but hopefully you will come to see us again soon with an even bigger appetite!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maharajah Indian Restaurant also viewed

 
Newquay, Cornwall
Newquay, Cornwall
 

Been to Maharajah Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing