We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Visit this restaurant!”

Maharajah Indian Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 233 Restaurants in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Maharajah restaurant which was established in 1980 is open from 5.30 pm until late, seven days a week. The restaurant is the only real Indian restaurant in Newquay (and possibly Cornwall) here you will find traditional Indian food served in a restaurant with the most outstanding sea views.
Derby
1 review
“Visit this restaurant!”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I have eaten in Indian restaurants up and down the country, including a fair few in curry capitals of the UK (Birmingham, Leicester...) but I have to say that when it comes to Indian food, the Maharajah Restaurant is the Maharajah OF Restaurants - an enormous choice of both meat and veggie specials, all manner of different dishes which I hadn't even imagined before, and all absolutely delicious. My only regret about visiting this place was that we didn't go earlier in the holiday so as to eat there more times! Can't recommend it enough.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mfbSWEngland, Manager at Maharajah Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review which I will pass on to our staff. We aim to offer a wide range of varied dishes which are all freshly cooked and served with a smile! We hope you will come and see us again next time you are in Newquay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,961 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,316
    335
    138
    72
    100
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rushed”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Pro's - 1: If you get a window seat at the back of the restaurant you will enjoy great views. 2:The food is really tasty and they have a massive menu!! 3: The staff are friendly

Cons - 1: I feel its a bit on the expensive side. 2: You can sometimes feel a bit crammed in when the restaurant is busy. 3: My main reason for rating this a poor is due to the fact they rush you away from the table. This has happened 5 out of the 6 occasions I have visited but the instance that sticks in my mind is the time a group of ten of us booked a table for a friends 40th birthday and we were sat upstairs with a couple of other groups. We had just finished our mains and were enjoying our drinks having a good natter around the table and the owner told us that if we wanted to carry on then to sit ourselves in the bar. We asked if we could stay at our table as they were not busy and there were plenty of tables available but he kept asking us to move.
Most of us had full glasses and when we moved it changed the whole dynamic of the group - The bar is a couple of sofa's in the entrance of the restaurant which also doubles as the take out area. When I go out for a meal its a treat. You spend a lot of money and I really didn't like this sort of customer services. Poor effort!!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank thedevilsbutterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mfbSWEngland, Manager at Maharajah Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed both your meal and our fabulous views. I am sorry however that you felt you were rushed, it certainly is never our intention to hurry people out of the restaurant and again I can only apologise if this is how you saw the situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic night out”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We went here on last night of holiday. Great service, huge choice on menu and reasonably priced. Would love to go back to try some of the different dishes they had. Lovely location looking out over the sea. Highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chaz316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mfbSWEngland, Manager at Maharajah Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for your review. I hope you will be able to come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Our favourite place to eat!”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Excellent service, staff are helpful and attentive. Very tasty food, value for money and a sea view! Would definitely recommend!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jenners27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mfbSWEngland, Manager at Maharajah Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Excellent service, staff are helpful and attentive. Very tasty food, value for money and a sea view! Would definitely recommend!

Thank you for your review. It is great when customers appreciate what we aim for with our experienced staff and traditional recipes. The sea view - aren't we lucky?. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

we visited this resturant while on our recent holiday and the service and staff were outstanding. The food was cooked well and delicious. They were only to happy to accomadate our large group and sat us with lovely views looking out to sea. Would highly recommend this resturant if you are looking excellent food and service

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alwaysawayEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mfbSWEngland, Manager at Maharajah Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for your review. We aim to give excellent service to match our traditional and authentic food. I am glad you enjoyed your meal. The views are fantastic, we know how lucky we are! I hope we can welcome you back to the Maharajah soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maharajah Indian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Maharajah Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing