We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely beach setting”

Lusty Glaze Beach Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 240 Restaurants in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $29
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Bar, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Lusty Glaze Tripadvisor Beautiful brunches, leisurely lunches, cosy coffees and seaside suppers... Lusty Glaze Beach Restaurant is nestled just a short walk from the centre of Newquay, on the North Cornish coast. Come rain or shine Lusty Glaze serves up freshly cooked and locally-sourced culinary delights in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. With a beautiful menu specially created for each season, as well as some rather tasty specials and the ever popular Hot Rocks, this beachfront dinning experience is not to be missed. On a warm evening, it's easy to forget you're still in Cornwall! As well as hosting weddings and our legendary Headliner Sessions, we also hold a free live music evenings featuring some of our favourite local artists. Spanning a range of different genres, these nights are always special, as everyone relaxes and unwinds, glass of wine in hand, soaking up the atmosphere. And even with a focus on top-notch food, it is still very likely that your chairs won't match, your spoon and fork may be different patterns and your waiter will be wearing flip flops... after all, we are still the laid back family-friendly restaurant that we always have been!
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely beach setting”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Visited here for the first time for a wedding this summer. What an amazing setting. The beach was set up with a few games for the kids. Drinks weren't too expensive at all. Bbq buffet they provided was lovely. Staff couldn't have been more helpful. Blue bunting decoration looked amazing.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MarkBeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    548
    163
    59
    31
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly, perfect food, perfect location”
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

Came here in September on our minimoon after our wedding in bude. Have been here for drinks and gigs, but never to eat so it was the perfect excuse o head down.

We had the Sunday lunch, the food was fantastic, they staff were super friendly, relaxed, and just all round lovely!

Atmosphere is great, views are to die for.... My only regret is that we didn't get married here! (But I don't think my nan could have handled those steps!)

Can't wait to come back

You've got it so right here guys, just make sure the staff stay as welcoming as they were the day we visited...

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jamminfunkymunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful hidden gem”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Went to lusty for my friends birthday. Had wonderful service and the food was amazing. Love the hot rocks and enjoyed the surf and turf for 2. The chocolate board was really cool. It's a beautiful setting, gorgeously decorated and has a lovely atmosphere. If you want a warm welcome and good food this is your place. If you expect a 5* restaurant with silver service and a luxury hotel feel this isn't for you. It is essentially a wonderfully decorated beach hut with a relaxing warm welcoming vibe and fab food. How they get all their equipment, food and supplies down all them steps I have no idea. Hats off to a lovely unique place. I look forward to returning again soon.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bluebutterfly1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fab food, fab service and very cosy”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Went to Lusty on November 24th for my son's 18th. We had wonderful service, very friendly and attentive.
The prices are very reasonable and food great.
Very cosy atmosphere with lovely big settees and fire.
Will definitely return

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstone
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fab Surf and Turf special at Lusty Glaze”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We only discovered Lusty Glaze Beach Bar and Restaurant this summer and we have been coming to Newquay/porth for many years.What a find!!! It,s become our new favourite.
During our 7 or 8 visits since July we,ve experienced great live music evenings,a buzzing beach rugby weekend with yet more beach stage band action ,beach BBQs and peeped from the side lines at a wonderful Lusty Glaze Wedding.
This Saturday we went for a dinner special,the Lusty Glaze hot rock surf and turf which was not only delicious but also great fun to eat.Top quality steak ,swordfish,scallops and prawns were bought to us to cook to our own liking on sizzling hot rocks ,with the chef,s secret recipe dipping sauces on the side.The surf and turf for two was accompanied by an excellent Chilean Merlot and the restaurant was typically beautifully furnished with coastal chic ,fairy lights criss crossing the white boarded ceilings and a lovely Christmas tree decked with star fish,sand filled baubles and other raffia tied decks.
Our waitress Wendy made the evening even better with such attentive service from start to finish,taking time to talk us through the "hot rock dining experience" and making us feel so welcome.
We will keep coming to Lusty Glaze bar and restaurant every time we are down in Cornwall and we,re already excited to find out who the key live music performers are going to be in 2014.
Tracey,Wendy and all at Lusty Glaze keep up your great work.
Rachael and Andy Duff.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lusty Glaze Beach Restaurant also viewed

 
Newquay, Cornwall
 

Been to Lusty Glaze Beach Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing