We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service”
Review of Fistral Chef

Fistral Chef
Ranked #168 of 240 Restaurants in Newquay
Price range: $5 - $14
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Situate 5 mins from the famous Fistral beach.. the Fistral Chef is a vibrant contemporary cafe that's maintained a great reputation for quality food since 1981. Recently refitted and offering a varied menu based on fresh homemade produce. During peak season serving quality steaks and grills and Thai influenced dishes in a very relaxed ambiance and during the day serving quality breakfast and cafe styled dishes. come in and try a fresh juice with your breakfast whist watching MTV or surf DVDs, before your head down to Fistral for a surf 0)
London
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Friendly service”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

We only stopped for a smoothie, but we had friendly service and a nice refreshing smoothie. The place is small but there is an outside seating area.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Diane10981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    29
    19
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Don't order the Steak Sub!”
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Went with my two sons for lunch. Ordered single burger. Kids cheese burger with fries, £4 and Steak Sub, no drinks. Total bill £17+.
My boys did enjoy their burgers but my sub was a joke. Very little steak and loads of semi cooked onions.

By all means go and have your meal there alongside your chef who smokes on the decking, but just don't order the Onion[steak] Sub!

Helpful?
2 Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadlincote
1 review
“Great experience.”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Fantastic lunch, busy atmosphere. The chef served us at the till as the waiting staff were really busy. Really pleasant service from him and the lady serving outside table. Only downside was having to use pub toilet across the road.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JuniorPecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, reasonable price”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We ate lunch here today and were pleased with the menu choices and the service. The only concern is that a couple next to us chain smoked throughout our meal. Please display a no smoking sign even on the outside seating area which is covered by a canopy

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lydiaelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Yummy eggs benedict”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We wanted a good breakfast that was better than from just a greasy soon and I was delighted that eggs benedict was on the menu and it was delicious. We also had a full english that was spot on and our daughter had eggs and toast which just what she wanted. All served quickly and hot!! Oh and freshly squeazed orange just.......yummy thank you

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fistral Chef also viewed

 
Newquay, Cornwall
 

Been to Fistral Chef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing