We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a lovely Guest House” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Porth Cove

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Porth Cove
Ranked #30 of 112 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“What a lovely Guest House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Jim and Yvonne run this very comfortable and spotlessly clean Porth Cove. The rooms are really well presented, spacious, and we were given the sea view that we asked for which was fantastic.
Our breakfasts were very well cooked and they have a good choice of cereals, fruit juice and combination breakfasts. There is also vegetarian options. Reasonable rates, friendly welcome, what more could you want.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, so worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StarlightLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
porth, Owner at Porth Cove, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thankyou for your kind review.great to hear you enjoyed your stay at Porth cove.Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    18
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
45
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

I can highly recommend a stay at Porth Cove. The rates for this comfortable and welcoming accommodation are great value and the excellent breakfast that is included will set you off with a great start to the day. I was made very welcome by the hosts Jim and Yvonne, as were the other guests I spoke to during my stay. If you enjoy watching sunsets over the sea, I can recommend getting a drink from the bar and relaxing either in here or on the terrace, (weather permitting!) to view this. I would have no reservations about recommending a stay here and will no doubt be staying here again on my next trip to Cornwall.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steversa1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
porth, Owner at Porth Cove, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thankyou for your kind review.great to hear you enjoyed your stay at Porth cove.Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Friendly, family run guest house. Rooms are clean and well presented. Breakfast was excellent. Beautiful views of the beach and cove from the bar and terrace. I will definitely stay here again and can highly recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jojo5557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Porth cove hotel is excellent. Jim and Yvonne are excellent hosts and couldnt tend to the guests needs any more than they did. Clean, light and airy rooms. Mouthwatering breakfasts and a well stocked bar too.

Really enjoyable and value for money

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

This was my first time staying in a b&b in Cornwall after coming and camping for years before. I have to say I found it to be extremely homely, was made to feel so welcome and comfortable. The owners are some of the nicest people I have ever met and are willing to help you in anyway. the hotel itself is so clean and fresh and the rooms are presented perfectly (cleaned everyday also) breakfast was perfect and cooked so well while presenting a variety of options. The placement of porth cove between watergate and newquay is excellent, close enough for a walk around newquay, far enough away to avoid noise, traffic etc. the view from the hotel is perfect, a beach literally 1 minute down the hill, and a lovely walk just over the road. would honestly reccomend to anyone and would definitley stay here again! Brilliant!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jdizzle855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a wonderful stay. We were a party of 6, one being my two and a half year old little girl who loved it, especially the bucket & spade that was left on her bed for her arrival. A lovely touch. The hotel is spotlessly clean, the views are amazing, the owners make you feel really welcome and the breakfast was first class. We would really recommend this hotel and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traceylear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed here as part of a large walking group.

We felt very welcome. We checked in early and left a little late. Were very accommodating to our 6month baby.

Breakfast was filling and well organised. Free wifi was fast and easy.

We would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank camgrant84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Whipsiderry Hotel
Whipsiderry Hotel
#16 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kenton Hotel
Kenton Hotel
#29 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Cove Guesthouse
The Cove Guesthouse
#4 of 112 in Newquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Windward Hotel
The Windward Hotel
#41 of 112 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rolling Waves Hotel
Rolling Waves Hotel
#38 of 112 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porth Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porth Cove

Property: Porth Cove
Address: Watergate Road | Porthcove, Newquay TR7 3LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
we are a family run guest house with a range of rooms to suite all needs,because of this it has a more personal feel.we run an honesty bar and have ample free off road parking.we also offer free WiFi in all public areas,and are situated directly above the stunning Whipsyderry beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Porth Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porth Cove Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing