We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worthy of five stars”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of St Pirans Inn

St Pirans Inn
Ranked #89 of 233 Restaurants in Newquay
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Scenic view, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Well worthy of five stars”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Just visited the St Piran's inn. Beer good, food excellent, service brilliant. I ordered a pasta dish that clearly states it comes with cheese and when it was served to me and they could tell I didn't like the cheese they took it straight back and changed it, even though it was my fault! Couldn't have done anymore for us. Will definitely be going back during our stay here. Portions were ample. Lovely setting. Reasonably priced.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Becky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    91
    40
    31
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
“St Pirans Inn”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had a fantastic time at this restaurant which was only marred by the obnoxious attitude of the people at the next table who were giving the waitress a hard time about the food. I can only assume that they had experienced a little too much sun and alcohol!! Our food was excellent (fish & chips, chargrilled gammon and a St Pirans burger) the best we've had in a long time and wonderful value, the service was great and the staff extremely friendly. We would not hesitate to return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stelzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The hostess of the year”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Absolutely fantastic, what a welcome Jilli and her staff were amazing so friendly when we walked in the door......... The menu has a good selection food was so good and plentiful....... Jilli is a lovely lady, chatty and makes you feel very welcome. Unfortunately our holiday is over but we will be visiting St Pirans Inn later in the year. Big thank you for a very warm welcome

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“evening meal”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

we popped in on the 2nd night of our holiday, there was 5 of us, we had 2 teenage sons with us and a 3year old. we sat outside as it was extremely hot evening, we ordered fish and chips, chicken burger, meatballs and scampi and a childs sausage and chips meal, found it over priced for what it was, and childs sausages weren't cooked properly, and when i informed the waitress she argued that i was WRONG.... small portions for the price, and not very well kept in the outside eating area. didn't visit again even though it was right on our doorstep... rude staff and awful greasy food

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank heidibarker75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris5489, manageress at St Pirans Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Hello Heidi, and thank you for taking the time to review St Pirans Inn. I am very sorry that you didn't enjoy your meal with us, it is always disappointing when we dont reach our customers expectations.
I am glad that i am able to reply to this as I am the waitress that served you and your family that evening, and i am not at all surprised to hear from you.
Firstly you were very rude and aggressive when you complained about the sausages,and i tried to explain to you that they were fully cooked, but you were insistent that they weren't. we sell in the region of 40 kids sausage and chips meals each week and to this date we have not had a single complaint or problem. I offered to take them back and cook them for longer if it would make you happy, but you told me in NO uncertain terms to forget it, and that you were not going to have your child wait for its dinner. I can only make things better for you if you give me the chance, but you seemed to be on a mission, perhaps a little too much sun, or alcohol, who knows?
The remainder of your order was Fish and Chips...probably our best seller, and over 300 sold since the beginning of the season, again not one complaint, in fact it gets reviewed on Trip advisor regularly if you would like to read back. Classic whole tailed scampi, again a classic favourite and never a problem, other than you. The chicken burger is a large butterflied chargrilled breast, served in a "Baker Toms" locally home made brioche bun, again a major seller and again no previous problems. Finally the home made meatballs..This is a new addition to our menu, we added it this year hoping it may make our lives a little easier as we thought it would be a less ordered dish in the hot weather. Instead we are up at 6AM making fresh meatballs daily as it FLIES off the menu night after night!!
Addressing the matter of prices, we pride ourselves on or market research, and we are fully aware of our competitors prices in the surrounding area. WE are cheaper than any pub/restaurant from here to Newquay, and possibly beyond, in fact we are often told we should increase some prices as our profit margins are too low in some cases.
Fish & Chips (large)..£10.95
Chicken Burger w/ caramelised onions, chips lettuce, red onion, tomato on brioche bun..£9.85
Classic whole tailed scampi, garden peas, chips & homemade tatars sauce..£9.85
Homemade meatballs on bed of fresh pasta, tomato+basil sauce, fresh parmesan and two large pieces of garlic bread..£9.85
Kids sausages, chips and baked beans..£4.95
This brings your evening meal for four of you to a grand total of £45.45p!!
I'm not sure where you could go, bearing in mind you are sitting on the edge of a beach in a stunning location, to spend less than that on a family meal. I guess there are 2 for 1 options i other places, but we are not that kind of establishment. Alcohol can push your evening spend up, but we have no control over your drinking consumption.!! Also to call or portions small is mind boggling, but having said that we are not a "sell it cheap and pile it high" kind of place, which it seems you are used to. We serve over 200 meals on hot evening, and the garden/patio area is packed with families, children with buckets and spades, towels, surf boards and all the paraphernalia that one takes to the beach for the day, so I'm sorry if you felt it wasn't pristinely clean, but we are on a beach, most people expect that it will be a little sandy, and we have to wait until closing each day to clean. Again never has this been mentioned before, yet again a first by you!
To say our food is awful, is an insult, and I'm sure anyone who reads this review will only have to
look back at all the others on our site to see that this could not be further from the truth.
I am confident that anyone reading your review will compare it to all of the ones that have gone before and make their own judgement about the staff, food and ambience at St Pirans.
And we all hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The end to a lovely day”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We can across the St Pirans by mistake, and boy what a find. The atmosphere, service and value for money are second to none. In fact it was so good we went there again later in the week whilst in the area. Its a hotel as well, I can only imagine it would be a wonderful place to stay. Well done Gillie and the team don't change anything.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St Pirans Inn also viewed

Newquay, Cornwall
Newquay, Cornwall
 
Newquay, Cornwall
 

Been to St Pirans Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing