We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from home”
Review of St Pirans Inn

St Pirans Inn
Ranked #88 of 233 Restaurants in Newquay
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Went here this month with my dad, fiancé and dog ollie and I must say the service we all received was extremely welcoming. Our dog enjoyed the fuss and dog biscuits whilst we tucked into your tasty main meals.
We were all very upset to leave but because of your pub we will deffinatly be back.
Also a special thank you to Sam for the lollipop on my 21st birthday! :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauraxemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    93
    41
    31
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great service & excellent food!”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The service was quick, food was absolutely gorgeous and the staff couldn't have been more polite and helpful. They made conversation, laughed and joked, couldn't do enough to help us an advised us on the best meal - the pork belly is delicious!

Overall it's decorated well and they're very accommodating of children and babies too!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank D_S_Brooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food, excellent service, excellent location !!!!”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We decided to walk down to St Pirans as it was a rainy day and we didn't fancy staying in or driving too far. I'm so glad we did! What a lovely place! The staff (in particular one lady - sadly I didn't get her name) were fabulous with my little boy, who is 4. They were helpful and friendly. Our food arrived promptly and the child fish and chips is amazing ! It's huge!!! The fish was so fresh and my fussy tot ate every bit of it - and loved it so much we went back again on the Saturday night and yet again were really impressed !!! Take note - dont overlook the specials on the board inside - I had the slow cooked pork belly and it was to die for!! - gorgeous!!!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Woojh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Will not being going back”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

So arrived thought the outdoor seating was lovely child friendly, went to order food told the staff member that the table number was either 6 or 9 ( there was no mark to say which one) she just stared at me like I was stupid, so I explained again and she rudely replied 6 is inside so it's not that what is it?? , repeated myself and told her where the bench was and she was like oh yeah that numbers broken, no sorry nothing , burger came out with seafood sauce on!!! Tuna and cheese melt should of been called cheese - the tuna was close to a teaspoon amount if that, and they forgot to out it in so came out five minutes after everything else!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kat111772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris5489, General Manager at St Pirans Inn, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Firstly I would like to apologise if you felt that any member of my staff were rude to you. We are a very family orientated pub and we pride ourselves on having staff members who are friendly and helpful. This is backed up by 90% of our previous reviews that nearly all praise our team for their patience, so your experience is very unusual and I am at a loss to think who you would have spoken to.
Regarding the "seafood sauce" on the burger, that is actually burger sauce, and most establishments that serve burgers use it. I'm sorry if you didn't like it, but that is just down to taste and had you told us when you were table checked we would have happily replaced your burger with a plain one. We sell thousands during our season, as it it undoubtably the best selling dish on our menu, and yours is the first ever negative comment, but we do appreciate that everyone has different cullinary tastes and we are sorry you didn't like the sauce. The tuna melts are hand made to order and we fill the panini with tuna and cheese, but they do flatten in the sandwich press which may have given you the impression that there was less filling. I can assure you this is not the case, but again had you mentioned this when the waitress table checked you, we could have sorted out any problems you may have had.
We always appreciate comments and reviews good or otherwise as it is the only way we can address any problems and make them better. Thank you for visiting us, and I'm sorry it wasn't to your liking this time but if you come again, hopefully we can change your mind and you will be one of the thousands of happy customers who come back to eat with us year after year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Love this little place, off the beaten track, food good, beer good and reasonable, have visited a couple of times, as we actually own a restaurant(not so far away) I see good value and wholesome homemade specials, lovely and cosy for that meal for two.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DebGriffiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St Pirans Inn also viewed

Newquay, Cornwall
Newquay, Cornwall
 
Newquay, Cornwall
Cubert, Truro District
 

Been to St Pirans Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing