We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recomend for a cheap stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boonkeys Surf Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boonkeys Surf Lodge
Ranked #57 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Newquay
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Recomend for a cheap stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Rooms were clean, simple and cosy. Great break for a group of friends and pretty much left to your own devices. Stones throw to the beach and a short walk to town. Tom was very helpful too defo recommend :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adarbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    10
    5
    4
    6
See reviews for
Families
0
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ware hertfordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Don't you just love Newquay. I just booked another week in this surflodge for july.
six of us went there last summer,a great place right next to the sea n beaches,bars n clubs all around,couldn't be better. the place is as clean as a whistle not like some of the dumps in the town. yeah its pretty basic,but you get a good shower n a tv. and we didn't get in trouble for making a noise at 3am :)
What more do you want , geat for a fun time

Room Tip: go for the ground floor,cant manage stairs after 14 pints :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shaun k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in a 6 man dorm here while on a mates stag do in Newquay.

For what you pay (we paid about £20 a night each) it isn't bad, but as previous reviews suggest is very basic.

You'll need to bring a towel etc. as there are none provided, no soap or other toiletries either but this is essentially a hostel.

It was clean enough for me, the beds and bedding were serviceable and the location is pretty good with the main bars etc around 5 to 10 mins walk.

It could be improved if there was a bit more interaction from the person who stays here (and sorts out keys etc) as well as having some facilities for disposing rubbish - we managed to accrue a few empty drinks cartons, food boxes etc with nowhere obvious to put them.

It's also a bit noisy as attracts large groups so don't come here if you're after a relaxing time.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinesteiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

This accommodation was booked for a stag party (15 of us), before I continue I must stress that I did not book the accommodation!
On arrival we were met by a member of staff who appeared to not have any idea about the changes we had made to our booking (we altered our numbers from 18 to 15), whenever we attempted to explain anything he stated he needed to contact the manager and appeared unable to make a decision on his own.
We paid for the rooms on arrival (15 payments of £50 each in cash, this will become relevant soon) and were shown to our 'rooms'. The rooms have bunk beds that are literally touching and if you are in a middle bunk then you have to climb over your friends to get in bed! They left just enough room to get to the fire escape. If one person moved in the beds then every bunk bed moved with it. The mattresses were uncomfortable to say the least, when ever you moved you could feel the springs digging into you, the pillows and duvets were paper thin. It came with an en-suite bathroom per room (we had 2 rooms split into a groups of 10 and 6), you literally did not have enough room to swing a cat in them. Due to the lack of ventilation in the bathroom there was mould forming on the wall and all of the room had a damp smell.
You could come and go as you pleased and had keys to the rooms - these are the positive points!!!
I understand £25 per night is cheap however you could get a twin hotel room nearby for about £65 per night between two of you if booked in advance, with that you would get towels and a decent sized bathroom that you did not have to share with a group. We had paid £30 each prior to arriving which was used as a deposit. On vacating the rooms we were expecting our deposits back, only to find that the lead name on the booking received a cheque for the full amount!!! This was a bank holiday weekend and it appeared they were holding on to their money for as long as possible. Considering we paid in cash on the Friday we expected cash in return, especially seeing as we paid individually and the staff knew this!
Overall I would not recommend this to anyone, you get more facilities in prison!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AwkwardTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newquay hotels

Axminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

I visited Boonkeys for a stag weekend 4/8/12 we arrived at mid night.The owners were told we would be late, after waking up the only members of staff with the assistance of a friendly party of fellow guest (cheerful welsh chappies dressed as cheerleaders) it transpired our room was double booked the occupants were builders working in the town and were not best pleased with having to move but finally they did. We eventually got our rooms at 2.30am. Which wasn't really problem as by this time we lost 3/4 of our party to the local clubs. The rooms are basic bunk beds (v. uncomfortable mattresses) but clean freshly decorated and perfectly acceptable for our type of party that only needed somewhere to sleep and keep the luggage. I personally wouldn't return but this i think is more down to my age than any problems with the standard of accommodation

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keeffer55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Ten of us stayed here and it was clean and comfortable, it was basic but that was all we were expecting for our budget. The manager was very friendly even when we lost our room keys, all in all good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hertfordcrew106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

We booked to stay in Boonkeys lodge not expecting much but when we turned up at the lodge we were shocked at just how appalling the place was. We had a party of 12 and when we checked in we were split into a 4 and an 8. The room of 4 had no toilet/washing facilities. The room of 8 did have toilet facilities but was too small for the 4 bunk beds that had been put in for us, to get into some of the bunks you had to crawl over another bed due to the lack of space. worst of all was the fact that the room had the buildings fire exit in it as we were on the ground floor and this was blocked due to the 2 bunk beds shoved in front of it. Needless to say we decided to not stay there but getting our deposits back was a real pain as the manager refused to refund us the £360 we had paid, until we told him we had taken pictures of the aforementioned blocked fire exit and that we would be informing the relevant authorities. After that we were given our deposit back and went to stay in the godollphin which only cost £2 extra a night with breakfast, an absolute bargain and a excellent place for us to spend our time in Newquay.
Would advise anyone to avoid Boonkeys and for same money search out the godollphin cos you won't go wrong.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coggy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Cliffdene Hotel
Cliffdene Hotel
#26 of 38 in Newquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#23 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Seascape Lodge
Seascape Lodge
#36 of 78 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Westward Bed and Breakfast
Westward Bed and Breakfast
#12 of 112 in Newquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Surfers Hotel
Surfers Hotel
#98 of 112 in Newquay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boonkeys Surf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boonkeys Surf Lodge

Property: Boonkeys Surf Lodge
Address: 6 Edgcumbe Avenue, Newquay TR7 2NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Newquay
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Boonkeys Surf Lodge Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing