We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An absolute must!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mawgan Porth Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mawgan Porth Cafe
Ranked #7 of 11 Coffee & Tea in Newquay
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Over looks Mawgan Porth beach
West Sussex
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An absolute must!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

What a lovely find. Fantastic home cooked food, great atmosphere and friendly staff. You don't have to be a park resident to dine here and we're so glad we paid a visit for an evening meal. Just to give an example of the foods... we shared lovely breads and olives to start, I ate sticky chicken with homemade coleslaw and wedges, the hubby had a lamb burger and fries. Followed by rhubarb crumble... Yum!! Definitely worth a visit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank LJ2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    9
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

A hidden gem. Just brilliant fresh food from Scottie babs and the team. Bread and desserts made each day and the tastiest food cooked to order. I have eaten in some good restaurants in the uk and Europe and this place is in my top 3. I could eat here everyday. Ask for the rosemary and garlic bread lovely with olives.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hally367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Mawgan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Ssssssssh! Don't tell everyone.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

How lucky are The Park to have The Cafe on their amazing campsite and how lucky are we, that we are only a 20 minute walk away!
Very easy going atmosphere and nothing is too much trouble. Freshly made assorted breads, try leaving without buying any!
Menu board is well thought out and homemade options for children instead of the normal no thought easy options!
I would definitely advise booking as not too many tables which is what makes this place special.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rustic, wholesome and fresh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Do'nt miss out on this Cornish GEM!!!! My husband and I have just had Sunday lunch here and it is truly a hidden treasure.Not well advertised in Mawgan Porth itself which is a pity really.It advertises as a cafe but is really a restaurant.Tables are set out in a country farmhouse style with colourful tablecloths covering solid wood tables.Colourful cushions adorn the solid wood chairs.I had butternut squash today stuffed with blue cheese and creme fraise.It was accompanied by a fresh green salad.All to die for!!!He had smoked chicken with little baked spuds and salsa verde-just yummy.They do fresh breads home made desserts,cookies and the like to eat in or takeaway.Cooking happens within view of the customers.Lovely outside area to relax with coffees.They sell wines,spirits and beer as well as the usual soft drinks.Child friendly also.Open til 8pm in the evenings.Honestly folks-this place will not let you down!!!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank margaret b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Great food,great staff,great couple Scottie and Babs.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Phillip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mawgan Porth Cafe also viewed

Mawgan Porth, Cornwall
Mawgan Porth, Cornwall
 
Newquay, Cornwall
Mawgan Porth, Cornwall
 

Been to Mawgan Porth Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing