We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two Day Surf holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Smarties Surf Lodge
Ranked #12 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Newquay
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I stayed here for three nights in the middle of the week in March. Was totally awesome! Jackie was so friendly and the breakfasts were simple but delicious - just what I needed before a big day of surfing. Hostel was really quiet (mostly I'm guessing because of the time of year). The only tiny thing that was an issue for one night was the blanket was a bit too small for me (I'm about 6'1"), and my feet got really cold, but that was settled by the next night. Other than that it was great! Would totally recommend it for anyone wanting a nice relaxing stay for a few days...

Room Tip: If you're taller than 6ft ask for a second blanket for your feet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 113 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2012

Fabtastic place, ideally placed between beach and town, jackie who owns/runs it is great and very easy going,and made us feel very at home instantly,nice clean room and en suite, all i will say is dont just read about it , book it and love it, we will def stay there again and again, thanks jackie :-)

Room Tip: We had the double room ,which was good size and a nice en suite, so as a couple was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaunHutchings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed on the wettest weekend ever!!however managed to surf some lush clean waves. Had a chillaxed time.Jackie is great:-) really chilled and helpfull..Really fab location tastie brekkie..Its all you need for a great price.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cazzzba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

The location of Smarties surf lodge is perfect; only a short walk into the main town and a few minutes from the beach. Jackie, the owner, made us feel very welcome, and (as we didn't know the area too well) helped us out loads by giving us directions and advising us on places and restaurants to visit. The room was clean, tidy, and spacious, with pretty pictures, a TV, and a comfortable bed. We even tried out breakfast one day, and due to me being a picky vegetarian I was a little anxious.. but Jackie was very well prepared with the veggie sausages and it was all simply delicious! Would definitely recommend Smarties surf lodge to anyone wanting to stay in Newquay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gussie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

well what can i say. me and a few of my qirlfriends went for a girlie weekend to newquay and what a blast. from the moment we arrived to a very welcoming and warm reception from Jax as she likes to be known {the owner of the lodge) nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were spacious, very clean and fresh, beds well comfortable with lovely bathrooms and the breakfasts were just yummy. Jax is very laid back and so kind and friendly, such a laugh ... we even asked her to come out to party with us but due to her busy full house she declined! What you need to know about newquay, where to go and where not to go jax has the full information package and knowledge which is so helpful if you dont know newquay. The location of smarties surf lodge is perfect for a short walk into town or a short walk to the amazing fistral beach full of hunky surfers. What you see is what you get and its an experience i cant wait to have again. We shall defo be back jax and thanks for making us feel so at home in wonderful surroundings and at such a good price . Cheers Di Clover and clan

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ploppy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

1) the room has bare floorboards - no carpet/covering/flooring...nothing - just manky floorboards.....

2) The owner insists on £30 Bond money, which she fails to mention during the booking stage. She then charges for everything - Breakfast, £5 (we thought we'd booked B&B!?!) - Go Karting £5 , which turned out just to be her cut - she didn't even book it. The abuse we took when she came into the room to find clothes scattered as people had changed in a hurry to go out was also completely un-necessary.

3) The beds. I've slept on more comfortable cliff faces. Matresses consist of 3 springs covered by a couple of bits of fabric - one thin pillow per bed - duvet thin and a bit grotty.

4) Parking. Parking outside is restricted to one hour - you have to park on the street down the road - not great for security - especially if you have a desirable car.

5) Breakfast is from 8:30 to 11:00am. Unless the owner goes out and gets smashed the night before and rocks up at 9:45 when you've ordered breakfast for 8am...... bad end, to a bad stay.

I wouldn't recommend this place, or suggest anyone bothers booking, unless they know what they are getting into - The 6 bunk room we had, cost us £450 for a 2 night stay....that's daylight robbery, no matter how you look at it - and with the number of things wrong with the place, it's even less acceptable.

The whole area of Newquay is focused on extracting money from people - everyone has a deal with some kind of kick back - Go-Karting, Restaurants, Clubs, Bars - they all attract commission for the referrer - to hell with the customer. The beaches are nice, but that's the only thing this area has going for it

Room Tip: Book somewhere else?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SeasonedTraveller281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Owner at Smarties Surf Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

At enquiry and booking stage you are informed about the Bond, this is also backed up in writing once booked. Breakfast is and always has been offered as an extra. Even if breakfast is booked the night before, without fail this is served between the agreed times, (this can vary if required by a guest).
At no time will the following be tolerated, bad language, abusive threatening behaviour to myself or any other guest, throwing up in the bedrooms, & drunken behaviour disturbing other guests. I take the care and happiness of ALL my guests into consideration and I strive to make every guest have an enjoyable experience and this does include dealing with guests that act and behave inappropriately, as unfortunately these particular guest's had.
Please look at all my reviews & judge me & my business on the many positive & truthful reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Recently stayed at smarties with bf wanted to have a 5 day get away.
It's a great location 4 min walk then your in the centre of town 10 min on to the sea front.
Room was clean an spacious great tv mounted on the wall, bathroom very modern, beautiful pictures..
The rooms have been sound proofed so always quiet you can't hear nothing.
Jackie was lively answering any questions or needs that u wanted.
I would defiantly go bk,
Also she can sort out surf lesson coasteering ect
With escape surf school which are also amzing

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred198724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.3 mi away
St. Christopher's Inn Newquay
0.6 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.6 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in White Cross
777 reviews
0.6 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.8 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#14 of 37 in Newquay
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smarties Surf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smarties Surf Lodge

Address: 84 Crantock Street, Newquay TR7 1JW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Newquay
Price Range: $60 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Smarties Surf Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated to a high standard, the accommodation at Smarties Surf Lodge is modern, clean and comfortable. There are bunk, twin and double rooms, all which have LCD TV and DVD player, wireless internet access and most have en suite facilities. Ideally located, a few minutes walk from Fistral beach and Newquay's nightlife. Great surfing packages and full English breakfast available at this easy-going surf lodge with a warm welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Smarties Surf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smarties Surf Lodge Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing