We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home!”
Review of Porth View B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Porth View B&B
Ranked #35 of 106 Newquay B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 5, 2012

A lovely warm welcome with friendly service. Sandra went above and beyond the call of hostess! Breakfast was amazing and very individual which was great if you have special dietary needs. We could come and go as we pleased and Sandra was always on hand to give advice about places to go. excellent value and it was lovely that the dog was made so welcome too! Would definitely go back, thanks for a lovely holiday!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katyt2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newquaysandra, Owner at Porth View B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us ,it was lovely to meet you both and Ted ,thanks for the review ,hope to see you all again soon Sandra & Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 89 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2012

Porth view is a lovely b and b with fab views ..Sandra is an excellent host very warm and friendly..and very helpful..
Beds are really comfortable.
Breakfast very filling and tasty.
We loved it here..there is a balcony decking area with tables and chairs to sit out and enjoy the views over porth..
Close to bus routes and the beaches 5 min walk.
I highly recommend this b and b ..
10 ++++

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hepsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newquaysandra, Owner at Porth View B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Thanks for your lovely review ,it was nice to meet you both ,and hope to see you again .sandra & jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

A super B and B, far better than some top price hotels in the area, comfortable spotless bedroom, a first class breakfast, just a beautiful home from home tasteful decor and much thought has gone in to every need of their guests, from the pen to the tea making facilities and the biscuits unbelievable even a pair of scissors to help open those little pots of milk and the nice fat information pack to peruse all that is on offer in the area. The Proprietors are the most genuine I have ever met. On a practical note the Guest house is ideally situated with a bus stop to the airport and also the town outside the door, if only Newquay wasn't so far away and so awkward for me to get to I would chill out here at least once a year. If you are lucky enough to have googled and found this Guest House book quickly as you have certainly struck lucky. Good luck to you Sandra and Jim and congratulations on owning such a wonderful home. Thank you for all your help.

Room Tip: Just Book it is an absolute delight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beejay123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newquaysandra, Owner at Porth View B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review ,it was nice to have met you and enjoyed are chats ,hope to see you again one day .Sandra & Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We booked the Porth View based on the reviews on trip advisor and its location (we already know the area), we stayed for a week with our 5 month old son (his first trip away).

There is not much we can add to what other people have already said. We were made very welcome on arrival, the Breakfast was superb with slightly different variations each day, the rooms clean and tidy.

Sandra was a mine of useful information on the local area, and places to eat and visit etc, coupled with this there was plenty of visitor information in the room and in the open areas which proved very usefull.

We will be looking to return here again next year.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RutDav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Thank You for your review ,it was lovely to meet you all ,,and so glad Jonathan had his first Cornish holiday with us and hope to see you all again ,look forward to see him walking xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We were very lucky and fortunate to have found this fantastic B&B in Newquay. As every other guest realised and have written here, this B&B is truly a hidden gem in Newquay. We went for the Jubilee bank holiday and stayed for 3 nights. We decided on Porth View purely based on the reviews here by other guests and because of close proximity to a beach. Also, as a family we wanted to be slightly away from the town centre, which can get noisy at nights.

We were absolutely delighted to note that the Porth beach was literally 3 minutes walk and was visible from the front deck. Sandra welcomed us at the door. She is a very warm and friendly person and right from the start she made us feel at home and ensured we had were comfortable throughout our stay. Just after we arrived she gave us all the insider tips on where to eat, which beaches are family friendly, the shortcut walk to the town centre and on places to visit in Cornwall. All this while having some nice tea and biscuits.

Breakfast was included and it was very sumptuous indeed. Veg options were available and all dishes were freshly prepared and served hot every morning. It was full English breakfast including juice, cereals and coffee/tea. The breakfast really used to fill us up so much that on couple of days we skipped lunch and managed with some snacks while exploring different places.

The house in general and the room in particular was very well kept with all modern amenities including Wi-fi, TV and DVD player with ensuite.

Newquay was such a good base for us. From here, we were able to cover all parts of Cornwall by car during the day and return back to Newquay. We have made friends with Sandra and Jim and we hope to return on another holiday soon! We even had a group photo taken :)

Thank you for having us Sandra.

P.S. we were 3 adults and 1 toddler (3 yrs old).

Room Tip: Sandra is quite flexible and tries to fit in guests' requests as much as possible. Feel free to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vishnu R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 24, 2012

Thank you for the lovely review ,it was nice to meet your lovely family and that you all enjoyed your time with us ,and loved your first time in cornwall ,hope its not to long till we see you all again Sandra & Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Stayed for a couple of days, room was comfortable with views of Porth. Sandra was warm and friendly and helpful. We had a huge full english breakfast each morning. Excellent value for money. Only a short walk down to Porth which has a wonderful white sandy beach.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newquaysandra, Owner at Porth View B&B, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review ,so glad you enjoyed your stay with us ,hope to see you both in the future sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We only stayed one night as we were travelling round Devon and Cornwall but can't believe how lucky we were to find this accomodation. Sandra is very welcoming and serves an excellent breakfast. The room was very modern, spotlessly clean and very well equipped.

Wish we could have stayed longer but will definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newquaysandra, Owner at Porth View B&B, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us ,thank you for the nice review,and as you say hope to see you both again soon ,sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.4 mi away
St. Christopher's Inn Newquay
1.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.3 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#21 of 79 in Newquay
65 reviews
4.1 mi away
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in White Cross
770 reviews
0.9 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porth View B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porth View B&B

Address: 16 Porth Way, Newquay TR7 3LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range: $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porth view is a small friendly bed and breakfast within walking distance of two lovely beaches porth and lusty glaze,both bedrooms have modern furnishing and new en suites and wi-fi and tv with freeview and dvd, aiso tea and coffee facilities , hairdryer, breakfast is severed in the privately of your bedroom or on the decking outside which as sea views ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Porth View B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porth View B&B Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing